Customer Reviews


5 Reviews
5 star:
 (3)
4 star:
 (1)
3 star:    (0)
2 star:
 (1)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


34 of 35 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars A thorough, academic overview of business context
This book is a mandatory text for the University of Liverpool MBA course. It provides a thorough and up to date reference across the business environment within and external to an enterprise.
At first sight this book is not particularly inviting. The first few pages make you conclude that this is a book by academics for academics. Right from the start you are met...
Published on 9 Feb 2002 by Glen Vaal

versus
0 of 1 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars broing topic area
i didnt like the topic area which is my personal preference but it covers the topic to a satisfactory level and is a good book to be used in business management.
Published 20 months ago by MitchelLowe


Most Helpful First | Newest First

34 of 35 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars A thorough, academic overview of business context, 9 Feb 2002
By 
Glen Vaal "Passionate about Music" (Guildford, Surrey) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This book is a mandatory text for the University of Liverpool MBA course. It provides a thorough and up to date reference across the business environment within and external to an enterprise.
At first sight this book is not particularly inviting. The first few pages make you conclude that this is a book by academics for academics. Right from the start you are met with a small-print complex case study about strife between government bodies..and it isn't particularly exciting. However our MBA course tutor took us through the book reading different chapters and answering questions that would arise from the material, rather than direct questions on the content. As such students began to appreciate the book as a good primer, an accessible overview on the topics and tools required for analysing and understanding the business environment. Worked through in this way, interest began to increase, and you may also find yourself reading other chapters unprompted. The chapter on Company Culture was of particular interest to this reader because it actually has use beyond study to implicitly help determine what type of company would best suit the (mature) student in subsequent employment. The frequent use of excerpts from the Financial Times added necessary realism and has made the content of that paper altogether more readable as a result of the increased understanding gained.
Definitely a text book to initially work-through with a course of study, rather than a leisure read. However, subsequently I have found myself referring back to the content time and again when applying the learning gained in the real world!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Good book, 22 May 2008
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This is a good introductory book to Business studies. It outlines all the major concepts clearly. I like the links for extra web studies & resources.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Good condition, 4 Oct 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Understanding the Business Environment (Paperback)
The book was in great condition when I received it. However, I paid extra money to receive it 2 days after and I only received it a week after. That was quite disappointing, even though, the book is a great shape.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Perfect for Certificate Level in Business Administration, 17 Dec 2010
This review is from: Understanding the Business Environment (Paperback)
I recently purchased this book along with other two, one of them being "The Business Environment" by Ian Worthington, which I found to be rip-off. I mean, they both are great, by Understand the Business Environment was perfect, it's got other chapters regarding Marketing, Finance, HRM and stuffs too.
I recommend you all people who are looking to buy a book for Certificate in Business Administration. 9 on 10 :)
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


0 of 1 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars broing topic area, 22 Feb 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Understanding the Business Environment (Paperback)
i didnt like the topic area which is my personal preference but it covers the topic to a satisfactory level and is a good book to be used in business management.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Understanding the Business Environment
Understanding the Business Environment by Claire Capon (Paperback - 25 Jun 2009)
£56.99
Usually dispatched within 9 to 14 days
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews