Customer Reviews


13 Reviews
5 star:
 (7)
4 star:
 (3)
3 star:
 (2)
2 star:
 (1)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


5 of 5 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars The Foundations Stones to a Successful Business Idea
Read This Book if you are thinking about turning one of those ideas into something more than an idea! Mike and Chris have written a book that is very readable. Well written and contains great ideas such as how to structure your company, whom to involve, where to network, how to network. What Foundation Stones or 'cornerstones' as Mike refers to them are...
Published on 16 Feb 2006 by ipread06

versus
2.0 out of 5 stars misleading
i was really disapointed in this book; i was expecting practical advice on start ups...this seems to be aimed at the aspiring tycoon, or someone who is setting up a massive company as opposed to an SME.

overall, good if you're interested in business theory in general but useless if you want a clear guide on how to set up a small business.
Published on 8 Oct 2008 by J. Halbert


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

5 of 5 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars The Foundations Stones to a Successful Business Idea, 16 Feb 2006
This review is from: The Beermat Entrepreneur: Turn Your Good Idea into a Great Business (Paperback)
Read This Book if you are thinking about turning one of those ideas into something more than an idea! Mike and Chris have written a book that is very readable. Well written and contains great ideas such as how to structure your company, whom to involve, where to network, how to network. What Foundation Stones or 'cornerstones' as Mike refers to them are required.
The Key Learning Point for me was to getting a Finance Cornerstone and Sales Cornerstone involved. Why is this Key? Because without 'sales' your dead in the water. And without 'Cashflow' and 'Cashflow' management your Dead in the Water too! Debt is not good!
Enjoy this book, and join us at a BeerMat Monthly Event in UK and who knows maybe into Europe and the wider world soon.
Take Care,
Ian
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5 of 5 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Good ideas turned into a great book, 9 Feb 2006
By 
F. NIKKHAH "Farhad" (London, England) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: The Beermat Entrepreneur: Turn Your Good Idea into a Great Business (Paperback)
Best thing I liked about this book was that it is so easy to read and it did not bore me as it lacked the repetition that many other books of this ilk suffer from. I dipped in and out of it over a period of 4 weeks and each time found new ideas that inspired me. The book covers all aspects of what to do when you have a great business idea and what to look for in a mentor, the team, pitching for sales, pricing, what to do when you become a larger organisation and finally an established mighty oak. It was basically a great read and very easy to relate too in all aspects.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Useful Read for entrepreneural minds, 5 Jun 2007
By 
Niranjan Waghmare (UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: The Beermat Entrepreneur: Turn Your Good Idea into a Great Business (Paperback)
It is often found that those with entrepreneural desires are more 'hands-on' types, who cannot resist being 'all-over' while starting an enterprise. This book is a good read for such individuals. It tells you the best ways to survive during the seedling and sapling stages before you get to the mighty oak stage. It emphasises how important it is to have a good mentor in the initial stages of the enterprise and how you must have the four cornerstones to ensure you do not end up being a jack of all trades!

Currently I work for a company but the day I decide to start something of my own, I will surely re-read this book before I take the first step.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Clearly written, and not just for entrepreneurs, 13 April 2007
This review is from: The Beermat Entrepreneur: Turn Your Good Idea into a Great Business (Paperback)
Like the other reviewers, I found this to be very clearly written and easy to read, and finished it in one sitting. I don't see myself as an entrepreneur, but as someone who might like to work in that environment, and this book has great descriptions of the other roles needed to get a business going, not just the man with the idea at the centre. Highly recommended.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Excellent read, very clear about the stages of business growth, 28 Oct 2006
By 
R. J. Westmore (London) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Beermat Entrepreneur: Turn Your Good Idea into a Great Business (Paperback)
As others have said an easy read excellently written. I finished it in one session. It makes very clear what happens and what to expect during the various the stages of growth. The key high level points are well made, good practical advice.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Get Started - NOW!, 28 Jan 2010
This review is from: The Beermat Entrepreneur: Turn Your Good Idea into a Great Business (Paperback)
You're in the pub with your friends when a brilliant idea hits you. In lack of paper you use the back of a beermat to write down your ideas. The next day you come out of the hangover and, to your surprise, yesterday's brilliant idea still sounds great.

Congratulations. You've just passed the first hurdle of becoming a Beermat Entrepreneur. Now what?

The answer is in this book. It leads you step by step to a successful entrepreneurship. Apart from tips, the book also describes these aforementioned hurdles from time to time, to test if you're really serious about things. It's an inspiring book, easy to read and with a firm dose of reality ("forget your number one hobby, you won't have time for it").

Mike Southon is clearly the most important one of the two writers. He has massive experience that he shares with you: one of his beermat enterprises became a business success after five years of hard work, and he sold his share for a fair amount of money. His next enterprise was not the business success he had hoped for, but a very valuable learning experience. Since then, Mike has facilitated the start-up of seven Beermats, so he has quite some experience to draw from.

Also nice: a British book. Business culture in Europe is just not the same as it is on the other side of the ocean, from where most business books come.

Highly recommended. I say this for a reason: one of the participants in the business course I teach has used this book as a guide to start up his own business. I do believe it will be a success.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Quite Good, Scaringly Accurate and Very Apt, 13 Mar 2009
By 
Lee Englestone (Manchester, England) - See all my reviews
This review is from: The Beermat Entrepreneur: Turn Your Good Idea into a Great Business (Paperback)
For a relatively short book it is suprisingly widely encompasing taking the reader on a journey from seedling enterprise, sapling enterprise and the mighty oak.

It was weirdly accurate with similarities to the company I work for (sticking around the 150 employee mark). It was also had a scarily accurate description / profile of our ex MD / entrepreneur and the journey the company has taken.

I especially like the parts on the Intrapreneur and recognising internal innovation.

However it seems to be a bit to prescribing of the 'dream team' recommendations and the link to the 'Beermat' is neither here or there.

Might as well add it to your collection.

-- Lee
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2.0 out of 5 stars misleading, 8 Oct 2008
By 
J. Halbert (glasgow, scotland) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: The Beermat Entrepreneur: Turn Your Good Idea into a Great Business (Paperback)
i was really disapointed in this book; i was expecting practical advice on start ups...this seems to be aimed at the aspiring tycoon, or someone who is setting up a massive company as opposed to an SME.

overall, good if you're interested in business theory in general but useless if you want a clear guide on how to set up a small business.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Great book (especially if you dislike business acronyms), 21 July 2009
By 
R. Jones (UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: The Beermat Entrepreneur: Turn Your Good Idea into a Great Business (Paperback)
Loved this book. If you dislike acronyms, believe that business is simple (not necessarily easy), want to be a bootstrapper and like to have a laugh then this book is for you. It is easily digestable and has a mildly humerous un-put-downable quality told from the Mike Southon's perspective. For the aspiring entrepreneur.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3.0 out of 5 stars Not bad, some useful things, 16 Mar 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Beermat Entrepreneur: Turn Your Good Idea into a Great Business (Paperback)
Some useful advice like getting a mentor, but can make you fall asleep sometimes. I'm sure there are more interesting books out there
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

The Beermat Entrepreneur: Turn Your Good Idea into a Great Business
Used & New from: £0.01
Add to wishlist See buying options
Only search this product's reviews