Customer Reviews


9 Reviews
5 star:
 (9)
4 star:    (0)
3 star:    (0)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 
Most Helpful First | Newest First

28 of 29 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Managing Delivery - Guiding you to a successful outcome, 3 May 2005
This review is from: Project Manager: Mastering the Art of Delivery in Project Management (Paperback)
This book offers a different perspective to the vast majority of project management titles and is focused on project delivery and the basic management tasks that need to be completed and potential pitfalls that may be encountered. The author provides a clear and concise set of learnings which can be tailored to support the many project management methodologies that are engaged within the world of Project Management. Whilst each section has its own merits, and the two which personally stood out for me were 'listening and talking' and 'personal styles'. The strong underlying message is that irrespective of experience, it is important to continually revisit how you manage projects and key lessons that you can take onto your next assignment.
I rate this book within the top 5% of project management books that I have read in terms of content and clarity, and subsequently I have no hesitation in recommending this book to both my experienced project management peers and those embarking on a career within this discipline. .
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


9 of 9 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A MUST READ BOOK!!!!!, 4 Jun 2007
By 
M. Obasuyi "mikimik" (Luton UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Project Manager: Mastering the Art of Delivery in Project Management (Paperback)
I have to say this book is one of a kind, i bought this book thinking what else can be read about PROJECT MANAGEMENT that other writers haven't written. but Richard Newton knows exactly what you really need to know about being a successfull project manager. He gives you scenarios, examples and explains from his own personal life experience.

Now when the book says pay good attention to chapter 2, it's really worth paying attention to, because that chapter is one of the main key of being a successfull project manager.

The best thing about this book, is that it is aimed at everybody who wants to get the best out of being a successfull project manager.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


9 of 9 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars This book answers the question, "What is it you need to do to be a consistently good project manager?", 3 May 2007
By 
Mr. Craig Lewis "Craigeblog" (Bristol, UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Project Manager: Mastering the Art of Delivery in Project Management (Paperback)
With a bombardment of management methods and other resources it's nice to read a book that actually spells out the essence of what project management really is. This book will help you identify what a Project Manager should be doing and what are the "common sense" tasks that turn the mediocre into the great. I read this book cover to cover and found it to be well laid out, easy to read and clearly written by someone who's been there and has got the t-shirt.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


13 of 14 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars You will never regret getting this book, 18 May 2007
This review is from: Project Manager: Mastering the Art of Delivery in Project Management (Paperback)
You will never regret getting this book - and more than likely someone will want to steal it from you! I've been working as a programme and project manager for nearly 10 years now. And have the expected professional accreditations (prince2 and pmp) - yet this book has still made a lasting impact with me. Being a contractor means you are entirely responsible for your own career progression and whilst I've always learned something from my various roles, however no other PM book has so accurately captured the fundamentals like this one! But please don't write this book off if you've loads of actual experience. It really focuses upon the human / behaviours which will make the difference. So many times I've been frustrated with my clients or customers for scope creep or lack of definition - and this book discusses this at some length. The impact of this book is really overwhelming. I only wish I had read this when I first bought it in 2005 at an airport to pass the time. Had I read this book two years ago I have no doubt I could have been more effective and happier about the projects I was managing back then.

However, now, just one week after reading the book, my current client has told me that hiring me was the best decision she's made for this programme in the 18 months she's been directing it. I was amazed and know that it's almost certainly because of the impact this book has had on my approach. It really won't matter where you are in the food-chain of project management - this book will be a huge resource to you. Just buy it! Enjoy!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


14 of 15 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Finally - project management that's more than tools!, 22 April 2005
This review is from: Project Manager: Mastering the Art of Delivery in Project Management (Paperback)
This book stands out from the many others on this topic because it focusses on acheiving success in real world situations and views the delivery of projects in a pragmatic way. That's not to say that it doesn't cover the tools of project management, because it does, but the focus of this book (and the real value in my eyes) is that this book focuses in the main on the professional and personal characteristics that make a difference in real world situations such as communications, empathy, influencing, support, dynamism and ownership. The book is also an interesting read, and there are characters who many of us will recognise from real life situations (I have met many Teflon-man project managers!). A refreshing approach which makes a difference to project delivery.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


21 of 23 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars The reality of delivering projects, 3 May 2005
By 
K. J. Muraski (Liverpool, Merseyside United Kingdom) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Project Manager: Mastering the Art of Delivery in Project Management (Paperback)
An excellent book covering the critical but often unspoken aspects of project delivery that go beyond methodology. The format is easy to read and includes practical tips and lessons. Those new to project management will find it an ideal reference based upon real life project experience. Experienced project managers will find it includes things you already do but didn't realise the benefits and quite a few new approaches to improve performance. Recommended.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


23 of 27 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A Refreshing Approach, 12 May 2005
This review is from: Project Manager: Mastering the Art of Delivery in Project Management (Paperback)
Congratulations on a wonderfully written and refreshing approach to a subject matter which can be both confusing yet simple but not widely understood. The author's approach to project management provides an interesting perspective on the human side of project management and not simply the academic or acquired skills learnt on courses. This is probably one of the most fitting and easy to apply approaches to project management I have come across. It provides the reader with an opportunity to understand and focus on shortfalls in their behaviour and approach. Unfortunately, the book isn't widely publicised which I feel is detrimental to its potential.
A inspired approach to the subject matter and a real pleasure to read.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


12 of 14 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars The Project Manager, Mastering the Art of Delivery, 29 April 2005
By 
Jayne Cockill (Leeds, Leeds United Kingdom) - See all my reviews
This review is from: Project Manager: Mastering the Art of Delivery in Project Management (Paperback)
At last a book that offers a pragmatic approach to project management! This is an excellent tool to have at hand on the occasions when things may not be going quite to plan. You'd really love to talk things through with someone but no-one has the relevant knowledge/experience, etc - let's face it we've all be there! This book acts as a mentor, it guides you through the challenges, helps you focus and brings you back on track - well recommended.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars For True Project Managers Everywhere, 15 Dec 2009
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Project Manager: Mastering the Art of Delivery in Project Management (Paperback)
This book is for true project managers everywhere.

Too often Project Management books focus on the "philosophies" and methodologies of project management to the detriment of the things that really matters, communication, effective team management, stakeholder engagement.

Highly recommended reading even for those project / programme managers who have been there, done it and got the t-shirt.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Project Manager: Mastering the Art of Delivery in Project Management
Used & New from: £0.01
Add to wishlist See buying options
Only search this product's reviews