Customer Reviews


28 Reviews
5 star:
 (17)
4 star:
 (7)
3 star:
 (1)
2 star:
 (2)
1 star:
 (1)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


20 of 20 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars A slick list of rules for ruling at the office
New or struggling managers will enjoy this practical, easy-to-read book of management tips, but experienced managers should take a look, too. Richard Templar writes in a "straight-from-the-cuff" style (no dry textbook terminology or dusty case studies here). He packs his manual with great, even if a bit obvious, lists of advice. We recommend this breezy, practical...
Published on 18 July 2006 by Rolf Dobelli

versus
3.0 out of 5 stars A Rule For All Managers
There Are Managers Who Are Meant (ment) To Manage, Then There Are The Man 'Agers' - i.e: Managers Who Can't Manage, So Everyone Suffers And 'Ages' Quicker/Quickly Under 'Their' Rules - And That Includes Parents, Teachers, Supervisors - i.e. anyone in authority, any authority figure or 'Role Model' and anyone we look unto and view as 'our 'hero' that has subsequently let...
Published 16 months ago by Cruella


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

20 of 20 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars A slick list of rules for ruling at the office, 18 July 2006
By 
Rolf Dobelli "getAbstract" (Switzerland) - See all my reviews
(TOP 500 REVIEWER)    (REAL NAME)   
New or struggling managers will enjoy this practical, easy-to-read book of management tips, but experienced managers should take a look, too. Richard Templar writes in a "straight-from-the-cuff" style (no dry textbook terminology or dusty case studies here). He packs his manual with great, even if a bit obvious, lists of advice. We recommend this breezy, practical rulebook. To be a better manager, read it and ask yourself if you are still following the best practices. If you know what to do, are you doing it? If you don't know what to do, start reading.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


26 of 27 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Even applicable outside the corporate domain, 1 May 2005
This review is from: Rules of Management: The Definitive Guide to Managerial Success (The Rules Series) (Paperback)
Outstanding.
This book defines a good manager as one who manages change, process, strategy, progress and balance - not people. People manage themselves. The broader concept of management extends beyond corporate environments - parents are managers for example.
My point is that while this book is written in the context of the corporate environment, there is enough wisdom in this book to make it a useful manual outside it's domain.

Highly reccomended.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


24 of 26 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Making the hardest job a little easier, 12 July 2005
This review is from: Rules of Management: The Definitive Guide to Managerial Success (The Rules Series) (Paperback)
Management isn't easy. I certainly don't know anybody who cruises through the managerial day. One of the big problems is remembering the right thing to do at the right time. I found this book incredibly useful. It wasn't all rocket science - but then that's actually not what you need. I for one just sometimes need a reminder of what's important and what's not, what to concentrate on and what to let go. And for that, this book delivers - in spades.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Another Rules of Management, 12 July 2007
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Rules of Management: The Definitive Guide to Managerial Success (The Rules Series) (Paperback)
The rules of management has been highly acclaimed as brilliant and a bible for all people in management. The book itself lays down guidlines from the writers and others experience about how you should act in management positions. The rules are for the most part very obvious and things that most people who are natural leaders will know anyway, still it is good as an occasional reminder to make you think through these things properly.

Many managers will neglect certain aspects of their job or perform them callously which can create difficulty and tension among staff. Particularly important in my opinion are the rules regarding respecting and trusting your staff, the amount of managers I have known who have not trusted staff to do the jobs they are given and thus run themselves into the ground with worry at their staff's perceived incompetence is enormous.

This book is certainly nothing groundbreaking and nothing that hasnt been done 100 times before however for a general reference and a reminder to yourself how to keep in control you cant go far wrong.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Definitive not boring, 4 July 2007
By 
A. Cook "Amanda Cook" (Rickmansworth) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Rules of Management: The Definitive Guide to Managerial Success (The Rules Series) (Paperback)
Richard Templar is in a league of his own when it comes to writing these books. Just like the rules of work - the definitive guide to managerial success is definitely a hit. I'm really not into reading managerial books at the weekend, though couldn't put this one down. You could take any chapter in this book and relate to it, whether you are brand new to management or an experienced manager. All the hard nosed 'managerial minds' and 'old school leadership' were absent from this book - which made it enjoyable and worth the read. The way this book is written would make anyone positive after reading - you'll be surprised at how much you know - this book really helps to contextualise! Following my enjoyment - I have just purchased 'the rules of life' by Templar - and looking forward to the read.

Amanda Cook
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars If you dont know the rules can you break them..., 22 Aug 2007
This review is from: Rules of Management: The Definitive Guide to Managerial Success (The Rules Series) (Paperback)
It would be foolish to be a manager based on a set of rigid rule as every situation is different, however useful guidelines or boundaries would be a better description. Some of the rules are timely reminders like never bitching about your boss to others, picking your team like an orchestra (everyone needs to play an instrument other wise they might be surplus to requirements.) Really easy to read, perhaps pick up a few rules a day before you start work. Enjoyed the movie quotes that seem to start each rule too. Would recommend as a great intro to line management.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


6 of 7 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Great to listen to in the car, 24 Nov 2007
By 
Paul Maddox - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Seeing as there are mostly reviews for the book here I thought I'd add one about the audiobook.

The CD lasts about an hour and is read in a jovial interesting manner that sounds very professionally read by Templer himself.

I've listened to the CD a few times now and it fits perfectly into my journey to+from work.

I have flicked through the paperback version from a colleague, and this abridged version seems to distill the information as you may do making notes.

For me the great thing about the audiobook is, inevitably I wouldn't remember half of the rules (at least!) having read the book, which is too cumbersome to read over periodically. however I find myself listening to the audiobook regularly to keep the rules (which as another reviewer has pointed out not really 'hard' rules).
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Fantastic Book, 7 July 2012
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This book is fantastic for people who want to learn how to be a productive manager as well as a great leader. I found this book very helpful when I got my first management role at a halfords superstore, it taught me the basics, the simple things, but the things that people tend to forget when under a lot of pressure. A brilliant book and a must buy for not only new managers, but those who want to sand off the rough edges and want to develop themselves to grow as a better manager.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Best book for managers, 22 April 2012
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Rules of Management: The Definitive Guide to Managerial Success (The Rules Series) (Paperback)
It is perfect the book for a manager especially if you are a new manager, It really gave me a boost of confidence and helped me look at things differently. It gave me a fresh outlook to being a manager and how to be a better one too! must be read!! well written.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Basic, but necessary, 3 April 2012
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
I came to like this. I had it in the CD player in my car and listened to parts of it several times. It is of course abrigded from the written text, but all the same, it comes with basic pieces of advice on how to be a manager and will definitely save you from stumbling all over the place.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Rules of Management: The Definitive Guide to Managerial Success (The Rules Series)
Used & New from: 0.01
Add to wishlist See buying options
Only search this product's reviews