Customer Reviews


31 Reviews
5 star:
 (22)
4 star:
 (3)
3 star:
 (4)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:
 (2)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


62 of 65 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars If you buy 1 book on starting up your own business buy this
Thought other readers might like to know that we agree with every comment left by my fellow reviewers. This is a book which assumes you know nothing (we didn't) but by the time of finishing you are left with a very clear idea and (hopefully) plan on how to turn your idea into a reality.
It holds your hand and walks you through a 20+ week plan to turn your...
Published on 2 Feb. 2006 by MrsBlue

versus
1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Interesting but not enough emphasis on process
This book goes through the concepts of what should be done on a weekly basis, what is needed is a more methodical approach to different business types. All in all a very well written book for people who have no idea of how to start up a business but the book takes too much of a broad stroke approach to all industries.
Published on 15 Mar. 2011 by Goman


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 4 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

62 of 65 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars If you buy 1 book on starting up your own business buy this, 2 Feb. 2006
This review is from: Start Your Business: Week by Week (Paperback)
Thought other readers might like to know that we agree with every comment left by my fellow reviewers. This is a book which assumes you know nothing (we didn't) but by the time of finishing you are left with a very clear idea and (hopefully) plan on how to turn your idea into a reality.
It holds your hand and walks you through a 20+ week plan to turn your initial "shall we / shan't we" thoughts of starting up your own business into a reality.
It's written in simple and easy to understand language - it never baffles and has some great tips. It doesn't presume to have all the answers and offers alternative sources of information at the end of each chapter, as appropriate to the activities for that week.
Well done Steve for writing a great book. I never thought that we could actually run our own business but after reading your book we really believe we can - and a succesful business at that.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


46 of 49 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars very good book, 6 Dec. 2004
This review is from: Start Your Business: Week by Week (Paperback)
This book has been a great help.
It's a pleasure to use as it's written in a style that is very easy to read. It really does make starting a business seem achievable and guides you step by step on how to achieve that.
If you have ever wonder what it would take to start your own business and if you are serious about it buy this book. Along with this one I also bought Stop Working by rohan hall, which is also very good for entrepreneur! With those 2 books you will be good to go !
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


117 of 126 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Really well done - practical, thoughtful and focused, 26 Nov. 2004
This review is from: Start Your Business: Week by Week (Paperback)
The statistics are dire - something like 900% of businesses fail in the first 90 seconds...Ok, so maybe not quite that bad,but you are more likely to find a lesser spotted bandicoot in your back garden than a thriving business after five or ten years trading (pretty sure I just made that animal up - don't go looking for one).
I sort of run a business on the side of my "real job" and have often thought about making it more of my daily routine. I spotted this book in a <competitors> book shop and, over a delightful cappuchino, devoured this book in one reading.
Having read a few books on the subject of entrepreneurship (not one on spelling, obviously), I was delighted as to how practical, focused and thought provoking this offering is.
Firstly this is no "Own Business in 90 minutes" book. It is laid out over 20 week period, taking you from "Ugh, I wanna do something different" to "yes, I would like to hire my 20th employee". I love the way it assumes nothing - you can start from a blank mind (a good place in my experience) and follow it through.
The second thing that I like about it is that it covers all of the bases well and at a decent level. Most business fail for complicated reasons like having no cash and no customers. This book asks sufficiently detailed questions to prevent the obvious from causing you a lot of pain. I feel that this will be of massive help for the person out there who has the "idea for the perfect mousetrap" but has never bothered to ask the opinion of one of those funny customer or bank manager people, but has become very excited about their own genius idea (I for one plead guilty to this).
You will never get rich working for someone else (unless you run a privatised utility company) - so if you want to take the plunge into the world of business on your lonesome than I highly recommend this book - it may well save your company.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


30 of 33 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars starting a business made easy, 17 Nov. 2004
This review is from: Start Your Business: Week by Week (Paperback)
Starting a business is a daunting prospect - I know because I've done it. Most books seem to expect you to know what you're doing already, and then bombard you with extraneous information, making the task seem more daunting than ever. What you need is a straightforward book which tells you what to do step by step. Until now, the only really helpful, down-to-earth book on the subject I'd found was Ros Jay's The White Ladder Diaries. However, Steve Parks has written a truly practical guide which makes the prospect seem less daunting. This is the book you need for comprehensive yet simple guidance and all the contacts you need brought together in one place (and read The White Ladder Diaries too for inspiration, advice, and company on the emotional journey you'll be making). Steve Parks clearly knows his stuff - he writes as someone who has been through the process himself, and he has drawn useful advice from other entrepreneurs. You don't have to have an investor standing by with millions; this book is useful even if you're simply starting a business alongside your day job. A must read for all business start-ups.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


21 of 24 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Best Books for Business Starts, 16 Mar. 2006
This review is from: Start Your Business: Week by Week (Paperback)
This book along with THE BLACK BOOK OF OUTSOURCING (Brown & Wilson, Wiley Publishers 2005) gave us the best start we could as for.
If you're starting a business, don't go another step without reading these two books. They will put you on track to successes you didn't even know possible.
Great books!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


14 of 16 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Start a business with this book, 15 Dec. 2006
By 
Paul - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Start Your Business: Week by Week (Paperback)
So you're thinking of starting, going to start or already started a business.

Then you should read this book. It helps by breaking down the process of starting a business into bite sized chunks that as the title suggests can be eaten week by week.

It's full of useful information and is backed up by a great online community flyingstartups.com with it's very own podcasts that has been set up by the author, whom you can tell is also passionate about the members of the site and their businesses and or ideas.

Regards

Paul Jennings
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


27 of 32 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Making it happen - Step by Step!, 19 Nov. 2004
By A Customer
This review is from: Start Your Business: Week by Week (Paperback)
Starting your own business is a long journey and buying this book should be your first step. To anyone who has ever thought of 'trying it themselves' and has been put off by the scale of the task in hand - this book should be your roadmap.
Steve has managed to structure the book in a logical manner i.e. the order you should actually do things, week by week. Most other business books are structured by topic which can make everything seem daunting.
The writing style is relaxed and gives the reader confidence that their goal is achievable, in fact within easy reach. The layout is clear and content readily applied to any business sector.
The practical and honest advice has clarified in my mind what I need to do to get my business started and hence my life where I want it to be.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


11 of 13 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Fantastic Inspiration!, 17 Nov. 2004
This review is from: Start Your Business: Week by Week (Paperback)
This is a truly easy to understand book, yet with all the information you need to start up your business. I have run my own business for a year, and I wish that I was starting again with this book to guide me! Certainly it would have made starting up a lot more straight forward.
The book is especially fantastic as it shows how you can do it while you are still employed elsewhere. In 26 weeks you go from business novice to sucessful entrepreneur. You will be working hard - but with very little stress!
There is also a website community to join, so you will always have up-to-date contacts, and other entrepreneurs to guide you throughout.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


25 of 30 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars If you are starting a business start by buying this book, 17 Nov. 2004
By 
Steve McDermott Best Selling Business Author (Leeds, West Yorkshire United Kingdom) - See all my reviews
This review is from: Start Your Business: Week by Week (Paperback)
What I look for in a business book is something that offers practical, honest advice and is easy to read.
"Start Your Business" is just that and more. This is without doubt the best book I have ever read on the topic. In fact it's one of the best business books period.The book is structured in simple to follow weekly steps over a six month period, taking you through the process of starting a business. Because of this it makes starting a business seem really acheivable (which if you follow the steps - it will be). Not only that it also gives you all the contact details for starting a business you will ever need all in one place.It really is the perfect book for those people who already have a day job (which they probably hate) but are interested in starting a business that they can love.
If that wasn't enought,one of my favourite bits of the book, was the advice from the many successful entrepreneurs featured who have "been there and done that already". All brilliant people to learn from. Just as importantly this book has been written by someone who has earned the right to pass on their advice. Steve Parks, the author, is a highly successful businessman in his own right. So he knows from first hand experience exactly what you will be facing and how to overcome the many obstacles that will be thrown in your way.
Buy this book today and let Steve help start to turn your business dream into reality.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars If you read one book, read this, 7 July 2011
This review is from: Start Your Business: Week by Week (Paperback)
I loved this book. The title may sound a little dry but the reality is a very well crafted book with a clever timeline that not only ensures you jump over each hurdle in the right order, but really gets the reader into the mind-set of the entrepreneur. By breaking the whole process down it makes the prospect of setting up a business a lot less daunting.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 4 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Start Your Business: Week by Week
Start Your Business: Week by Week by Steve Parks (Paperback - 12 Nov. 2004)
Used & New from: £0.01
Add to wishlist See buying options
Only search this product's reviews