Customer Reviews


8 Reviews
5 star:
 (5)
4 star:
 (2)
3 star:
 (1)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


24 of 24 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars I wish this book was around 12 months ago
Having left graduate school 12 months ago and commenced work as a Project Manager trainee, I was looking for a book that not only gave a comprehensive coverage of project management, but also allowed you to dip in and out as a reference book. Nothing existed before - but it does now.
The diagrams are clear and informative, as are the case studies peppered throughout...
Published on 19 Sept. 2003

versus
23 of 23 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars A good overview, though short on templates
A pleasant and simple read, well laid out and clearly illustrated, this book is a very good introduction into project management that covers the whole gamut of topics succinctly. If that is all you want, then you won't be disappointed.
However, as with many of these "definitive guides" or "How to" books, it fails to deliver on providing any real templates for areas...
Published on 11 Sept. 2004 by Waynster


Most Helpful First | Newest First

23 of 23 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars A good overview, though short on templates, 11 Sept. 2004
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Definitive Guide to Project Management: The Fast Track to Getting the Job Done on Time and on Budget (Paperback)
A pleasant and simple read, well laid out and clearly illustrated, this book is a very good introduction into project management that covers the whole gamut of topics succinctly. If that is all you want, then you won't be disappointed.
However, as with many of these "definitive guides" or "How to" books, it fails to deliver on providing any real templates for areas such as project initiation documents or many of the other documents hinted at in the book. You do get to see some detail on the most commonly used tools such as PERT and GANNT charts, but no less than you would expect from any project management title.
If you can live without these templates, then it is a perfect book, but if you really are looking to improve the way to manage your projects, then surely the use of good templates for the documentation etc would be pivotal to achieving this?
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


24 of 24 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars I wish this book was around 12 months ago, 19 Sept. 2003
By A Customer
This review is from: The Definitive Guide to Project Management: The Fast Track to Getting the Job Done on Time and on Budget (Paperback)
Having left graduate school 12 months ago and commenced work as a Project Manager trainee, I was looking for a book that not only gave a comprehensive coverage of project management, but also allowed you to dip in and out as a reference book. Nothing existed before - but it does now.
The diagrams are clear and informative, as are the case studies peppered throughout. I particularly found the stance on people management useful and refreshing. It makes a change to read a book on project management that has clearly been written by practitioners as opposed to academics.
All in all it is a very well written, thought out book - hopefully I'm a better project manager for reading it!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


22 of 22 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Very good, practical, 3 Oct. 2003
By A Customer
This review is from: The Definitive Guide to Project Management: The Fast Track to Getting the Job Done on Time and on Budget (Paperback)
At last! Project management is not about Gantt charts, PERT charts, various methodologies and all that sort of bureaucracy. This is a VERY practical guide that covers the fundamental principles. Many other books seem to get bogged down in detail. Most projects are about knowing AON from AOA, they are about working our what to do, likely sources of risk, making a plan and then doing it in a way that works in a real business organization. This book is the best guide for typical business projects that I have yet seen. The appendix on critical chain looks interesting, but is not for me though.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


13 of 13 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Good value & useful - very practical, 15 Sept. 2003
By A Customer
This review is from: The Definitive Guide to Project Management: The Fast Track to Getting the Job Done on Time and on Budget (Paperback)
I went on a course run by the New York Institute of Finance that was based on the book which I read after the course. The book (and the course) was full of things I could use everyday in my job. Especially good is the section on people - the human factors aspect of projects. I have been asked to set up a workshop to get a handle on risks that a key project is facing, and the book's section on risk management steps through exactly what to do. The book strikes exacty the right balance between practical advise v.the reasons for that advice. As a result it is not too long.
I have just started out in project management and found this picthed at the right level, although more experienced colleagues say that they also find it useful.
I recommend it highly.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


27 of 28 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Clear, readable, useable, how to do it manual for busy real, 16 Jan. 2004
This review is from: The Definitive Guide to Project Management: The Fast Track to Getting the Job Done on Time and on Budget (Paperback)
This book is written in a clear, readable and entertaining style. There
are a great many tools and techniques that can be applied immediately
after reading, especially for dealing with the human side of project
management, e.g. communication planning and stakeholder management. The
authors come across as being practitioners rather than academics, and
illustrate the advice with real life case studies. This is something
that can be used immediately.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


9 of 9 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars The Definitive Guide to Project Management, 2 Feb. 2006
By A Customer
This review is from: The Definitive Guide to Project Management: The Fast Track to Getting the Job Done on Time and on Budget (Paperback)
This is an excellent book on project management generally, but especially for those with little or no prior knowledge of the area. It sets out what a project is, how it is structured, what you should be doing and why. It discusses techniques to use to help you plan and track the progress of your project, expolains the phases of the project, and tells you who you need to keep informed. The book is a very accessible, clear and concise guide to the fundamentals of the PM role. It is not method specific, so can be used in conjunction with any recognised project management method. If you have just been handed a project to manage and have little prior experience, get this book.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


14 of 15 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Excellent, practical, valuable, 28 Dec. 2003
By A Customer
This review is from: The Definitive Guide to Project Management: The Fast Track to Getting the Job Done on Time and on Budget (Paperback)
This is clearly written by practitioners. Ity concentrates on the people side of project management, which I have found hard, but also gives good coverage of hard tools such as Gantt, PERT etc. This book enabled our bank to improve the skills of individual project managers and the pm capabilities of bank as a whole.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


0 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars The Definitive Guide to project Management: The Fast Track to Getting the Job Done on Time and on Budget, 7 Feb. 2012
This review is from: The Definitive Guide to Project Management: The Fast Track to Getting the Job Done on Time and on Budget (Paperback)
Received the book and was amazed at the quality, it was how it was described, like new. A well recommended item
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Only search this product's reviews