Customer Reviews


6 Reviews
5 star:
 (3)
4 star:    (0)
3 star:
 (1)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:
 (2)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


12 of 14 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Mintzberg still at the cutting edge of managment thinking
As Mintzberg so rightly points out in the introduction, "This is a book about management education that is about management. I believe that both are deeply troubled, but neither can be changed without the other."
This sets the scene for another excellent book by Mintzberg where he explores what's gone wrong with MBAs and management and how he believes it can be...
Published on 2 July 2004

versus
1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Good analysis of the current state
Excellent description covering all that is wrong with current management thinking and the education system that produces it. He does offer a different education approach which makes logical sense, but we are not dealing with a world that thinks logically only functionally.

The unanswered question for me is simply this, what do we do while we wait for the better...
Published on 13 Sept. 2009 by Stephen Parry


Most Helpful First | Newest First

1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Good analysis of the current state, 13 Sept. 2009
Excellent description covering all that is wrong with current management thinking and the education system that produces it. He does offer a different education approach which makes logical sense, but we are not dealing with a world that thinks logically only functionally.

The unanswered question for me is simply this, what do we do while we wait for the better educated manager to arrive on the scene? - the book is not designed to answer this question but it does provide hope that one-day a new cadre of management will arrive but it will not be any time soon. In the meantime those of us who already think the way Mintzberg does have to continue to fight the good fight. Perhaps we need to wait another generation or more before the old world thinkers die out and leave the field to the new thinkers.

This book at least holds out the hope that new managers will not follow their predecessors and will possess a systems thinking approach, demonstrate high critical thinking skills and apply scientific thinking instead of management fads and dogmas.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


12 of 14 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Mintzberg still at the cutting edge of managment thinking, 2 July 2004
By A Customer
This review is from: Managers Not MBAs (Paperback)
As Mintzberg so rightly points out in the introduction, "This is a book about management education that is about management. I believe that both are deeply troubled, but neither can be changed without the other."
This sets the scene for another excellent book by Mintzberg where he explores what's gone wrong with MBAs and management and how he believes it can be changed. Throughout the book Mintzberg uses solid examples which make you question the meaning of a "good MBA" - anyone thinking of doing an MBA from a top business school should first see the table on page 115, which shows the performance of Harvard's supposed "best" graduates. Very interesting to say the least!
I found myself nodding in agreement throughout this book as well as questioning management behaviour that I observe around me every day. This is an invaluable read for anyone, such as me, thinking of doing an MBA and anyone who is in management or has done an MBA and wants to know how to put their management education into action. It's also a must read for anyone involved in management education.
Mintzberg has once again written a book that will shape the future of management thinking. Miss this book at your own peril!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


13 of 16 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Pact With Knowledge!, 13 Oct. 2004
By 
Rolf Dobelli "getAbstract" (Switzerland) - See all my reviews
(TOP 1000 REVIEWER)    (REAL NAME)   
Arrogant, greedy, impatient, inexperienced, out of touch with the real world, overpaid, overeducated and overseeing you - does that sound like an apt description of MBAs? Author Henry Mintzberg would answer with a stentorian "yes!" He marshals a powerful array of facts to support his thesis that graduate schools of business have perpetrated one of the most successful con jobs in history. They have pretended that the bright young things they send into a hungry market as MBAs are, in fact, trained professional managers with a rare grasp of management science. Management, says Mintzberg, is not a science, nor is it a profession. It is not something someone can learn to do in a business school. It is something one only learns by doing, and no one in a business school does any doing. After delivering what ought to be a fatal blow to the pretensions of MBAs and those who educate them, the author proposes a proven alternative. He is not so naïve as to believe that the facts he provides will change the world. Powerful economic interests now have a real stake in the status quo. But he hopes for change and provides plenty of ammunition. We suggest this book to those with a passionate interest in business education, pro or con.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Getting rid illusions about management and MBA, 24 Aug. 2012
By 
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
The best contemporary book about manager development. 200 p. why current practice is wrong another 200 how to fix. No wonder, that mainstream degree factories don't like this. If you want to come clear about taboos and hypes in mgmt and see what really works, read the book. BTW Mintzberg's own global EMBA program became the benchmark.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


27 of 67 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars Not relevant to European MBAs, 7 Jan. 2004
This review is from: Managers Not MBAs (Paperback)
Mintzberg talks of the USA system, where graduates from university go straight to do an MBA - but in Europe that doesn't happen.
He says MBAs are not taight management skills - yet my MBA course at CASS business school taught HR mmanagement, organizational behvaiour, information amanegemtn amongst many others
He says MBAs are taught to try to be stratgic "heros", yet we were taught that mergers and Acquisitions destroy value and diversification for the sake of it is not clever at all.
He says MBAs don't have previous management experience - yet my class had 100 people in with a total of 500 years of management experience and more.
Someone told me after an article about this that Professor Mintzberg (An academic heor of mine by the way - I love his strategy book) is opening an "alternative" business school. I'm not sure if it's true but if it is then this book is merely marketing for that.
We need MBAs to be hired in the UK for the positive aspects of what they are taught - instead, they won't get hired as people will read this book. We are being taught in Europe to be the kind of MBA graduates that Mintzberg wants - yet because of him we may not get the chance to prove it - a shame.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 16 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars Not relevant to European MBAs, 7 Jan. 2004
This review is from: Managers Not MBAs (Paperback)
Mintzberg talks of the USA system, where graduates from university go straight to do an MBA - but in Europe that doesn't happen.
He says MBAs are not taight management skills - yet my MBA course at CASS business school taught HR mmanagement, organizational behvaiour, information amanegemtn amongst many others
He says MBAs are taught to try to be stratgic "heros", yet we were taught that mergers and Acquisitions destroy value and diversification for the sake of it is not clever at all.
He says MBAs don't have previous management experience - yet my class had 100 people in with a total of 500 years of management experience and more.
Someone told me after an article about this that Professor Mintzberg (An academic hero of mine by the way - I love his strategy books) is opening an "alternative" business school. I'm not sure if it's true but if it is then this book is merely marketing for that.
We need MBAs to be hired in the UK for the positive aspects of what they are taught - instead, they won't get hired as people will read this book. We are being taught in Europe to be the kind of MBA graduates that Mintzberg wants - yet because of him we may not get the chance to prove it - a shame.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Managers Not MBAs
Managers Not MBAs by Henry Mintzberg (Paperback - 27 May 2004)
£26.99
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews