Customer Reviews


9 Reviews
5 star:
 (7)
4 star:
 (1)
3 star:    (0)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:
 (1)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


8 of 8 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Playing the game
Marketing Judo is an essential partner for your business. This book is relevant for people who run their own company regardless of size, people who are considering starting a company, or for employees who need to find a different way to look at the business they are creating. I found the case studies and examples really fascinating. It's interesting to read some of the...
Published on 10 Jan 2003

versus
5 of 11 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars Throw this one away
One thin metaphor about marketing being like judo won't sustain even a short book like this. It should have been much better - the authors have a terrific track record in turning around Harry Ramsden's. Maybe a straight telling of that business story would have been more insightful and interesting.
Published on 15 Mar 2004


Most Helpful First | Newest First

8 of 8 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Playing the game, 10 Jan 2003
By A Customer
This review is from: Marketing Judo: Building Your Business Using Brains Not Budget (Paperback)
Marketing Judo is an essential partner for your business. This book is relevant for people who run their own company regardless of size, people who are considering starting a company, or for employees who need to find a different way to look at the business they are creating. I found the case studies and examples really fascinating. It's interesting to read some of the PR successes that the authors get from their experience at Harry Ramsden. They manage these on a budget and they look at the evidence in front of them with fresh eyes. I didn't know about the judo concept before, but I kept on relating it to my small business and realised that I have been playing judo at times. But I will focus on being more disciplined about playing it now I know the rules! It gave me some workable guidelines to use, which I find quite unusual in a business book. Other business books have preached common sense at me. This has encouraged me to play the game; I hope to have the same success!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Down to earth, 25 April 2004
By A Customer
This review is from: Marketing Judo: Building Your Business Using Brains Not Budget (Paperback)
What a refreshing change to read something practical and really helpful toa start up business. It only took me two hours to read and gave me lots ofnew ideas. Probably not right for self important academic pompous socalled professionals.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


9 of 10 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Great book � Buy it now, 10 Jan 2003
By 
Pete Bennett (London United Kingdom) - See all my reviews
This review is from: Marketing Judo: Building Your Business Using Brains Not Budget (Paperback)
I purchased a copy at Gatwick airport on the way out to Madrid for a weekend away and had read it from cover to cover by the time I got back on the plane on Sunday afternoon. In fact, I was so impressed I am currently in dialogue with one of the authors, Richard Richardson, concerning buying some mentoring time from him.
I am involved in several businesses, none of which have anything what-so-ever to do with chip shops or the catering industry. The beauty of this book is that the concepts discussed are applicable to developing business in any sector. I have since bought several more copies for my friends and colleagues.
As well as containing immensely useful information, I found it to be a very enjoyable read and identified with many of the Yorkshire anecdotes having been to University in Bradford. Highly recommended.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Makes you see your business differently, 25 Jan 2005
By 
Richard Hammond (Oxford, UK) - See all my reviews
(VINE VOICE)    (REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Marketing Judo: Building Your Business Using Brains Not Budget (Paperback)
We are a start-up team in retail. Having seen a Richardson live presentation of Marketing Judo we changed our thinking. His, and Barnes', approach really does show you how to establish and then exploit a niche for yourself. Sure the judo thing is just a neat metaphor but the ideas behind it are truly inspirational. This book is an essential purchase for all start-up businesses, especially those in leisure and retail.
Good stuff indeed.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


6 of 7 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Marketing Judo - it worked for BUPA Hospital Washington!, 4 May 2004
By 
Rod Mason (Tyne & Wear, UK) - See all my reviews
This review is from: Marketing Judo: Building Your Business Using Brains Not Budget (Paperback)
This is an excellent book full of practical wisdom for marketing a business on a small budget. These guys really talk from experience, having started small with one Harry Ramsden's restaurant in Yorkshire, and building it into a worldwide group.
At times they were short of big budgets, so learned to use Marketing Judo - using the strengths of competitors, doing the unexpected, and working with partners, to build their business profitably.
There are lots of examples of how to get amazing publicity without spending huge amounts, but this book is about much more than just that. There are some great bits about how you need the right culture and product from the bottom up before you can begin to just promote something that's flawed in the first place.
And it can work in big organisations too. BUPA Hospital Washington operates near Newcastle, and is a new small hospital competing against an established larger competitor. Using similar techniques to those explored in Marketing Judo, we've doubled awareness of our hospital in Newcastle, and grown our patient numbers from Newcastle by 30%.
Although the book is most relevant to the restaurant business the authors know so well, it can be applied easily in any service sector.
An entertaining, educational and valuable read - highly recommended!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Only one idea - but a good one, 23 Oct 2011
By 
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Marketing Judo: Building Your Business Using Brains Not Budget (Paperback)
Neat little book - one idea really - use judo techniques to get low cost marketing.

Fun. Well-written. And entertaining.

It is all pretty obvious really. But takes some people with real business credibility to point it out.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Y.Y., 8 Oct 2009
By 
Yona Yehudai (UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Marketing Judo: Building Your Business Using Brains Not Budget (Paperback)
I liked it very much.
As a business person it gives another vieu about innovation and entrepreneuring.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars If ever there was a company to admire Ramseys would be it, 12 Aug 2008
By 
A. Dawud "This Diva Cooks" (Midlands, United Kingdom) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Marketing Judo: Building Your Business Using Brains Not Budget (Paperback)
Marketing Judo is something most small businesses could do with. How do you fancy striking up relationships that will being in loads of positive press and cost you nearly next to nothing? Well that is marketing judo!

The book is very easy to read and digest and I read the book in 3 days (pausing to do other things of course). Clearly these guys know what they are talking about.

An inspiring book I can recommend for those looking for something a bit more than just an autobiography. Practical and punchy this book is worth every penny.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5 of 11 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars Throw this one away, 15 Mar 2004
By A Customer
This review is from: Marketing Judo: Building Your Business Using Brains Not Budget (Paperback)
One thin metaphor about marketing being like judo won't sustain even a short book like this. It should have been much better - the authors have a terrific track record in turning around Harry Ramsden's. Maybe a straight telling of that business story would have been more insightful and interesting.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Marketing Judo: Building Your Business Using Brains Not Budget
Marketing Judo: Building Your Business Using Brains Not Budget by Richard Richardson (Paperback - 6 Nov 2002)
11.99
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews