Customer Reviews


4 Reviews
5 star:
 (1)
4 star:
 (1)
3 star:
 (1)
2 star:
 (1)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


26 of 26 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Kaplan and beyond
Summary: Introduces the next stage of evolution for the Balanced Scorecard - The Performance Prism
I discovered this book as part of my research into performance management theory in September 2002. As a performance management practitioner I was keen to understand the academic slant on the subject, particularly since I was in the throes of setting up the performance...
Published on 23 Jan 2004 by Derek Jackson

versus
3.0 out of 5 stars A bit of a hard read
Lots of corporate speak.
This is the recommended text book for CIPS students taking the Measuring Purchasing Performance model.
A tad expensive unless the company were paying and nowadays that is happening less and less.
Perhaps if they produce an e-reader version it would disclipline them to reduce the fat of verboseness to produce something more palatable...
Published 22 months ago by 777Sue


Most Helpful First | Newest First

26 of 26 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Kaplan and beyond, 23 Jan 2004
By 
Derek Jackson (LEEDS, West Yorkshire United Kingdom) - See all my reviews
This review is from: The Performance Prism: The Scorecard for Measuring and Managing Business Success: The Scorecard for Measuring and Managing Stakeholder Relationships (Financial Times Series) (Hardcover)
Summary: Introduces the next stage of evolution for the Balanced Scorecard - The Performance Prism
I discovered this book as part of my research into performance management theory in September 2002. As a performance management practitioner I was keen to understand the academic slant on the subject, particularly since I was in the throes of setting up the performance management infrastructure for my new employer North Yorkshire County Council.
I really hit pay dirt with this book, it is punchy and peppered with anecdotal evidence to support the authors thinking.
Moreover the book takes the trouble to build the Performance Prism approach "before your very eyes" as it neatly sutures the new thinking with the old perceived wisdom that is documented in the book.
A major plank of the Prism theory is to expand Kaplan's original 4 perspectives into 5 modernised perspectives that, for example, supplant the shareholder perspective with a more inclusive stakeholder perspective.
Furthermore Neely et al have developed the notion that stakeholders have responsibilities to the organisation as well as demands on it, and this is very powerful, particularly for Public Sector organisations such as my own.
This book provided a major source of intellectual capital that significantly shaped our eventual performance management framework.
The central theme of the book the "Performance Prism" has also provided everyone involved with performance management in our organisation with an essential visualisation, a paradigm if you like, as to what represents fit for purpose performance management.
Yet another very useful feature of what is essentially a very practical book, is the inclusion of acid tests such as the "10 Point Test" which on the one hand provide a great benchmark for reviewing existing performance indicators and on the other hand provide a great tool for crafting new ones.
In the last eighteen months I have found myself continually referring to this book during the course of my work to ensure that we stay on the theoretical straight and narrow.
If I was heading for a desert island and I was only allowed one book on performance management then "The Performance Prism" would be it!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars What gets measured gets done, 6 May 2014
By 
Hugo Minney "hugie" (Durham, England) - See all my reviews
(TOP 1000 REVIEWER)    (VINE VOICE)    (REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Performance Prism: The Scorecard for Measuring and Managing Business Success: The Scorecard for Measuring and Managing Stakeholder Relationships (Financial Times Series) (Hardcover)
Andy Neely explains clearly how to set up compelling measurements and inspirational reporting, and through a series of essays by other authors, also explains the things that don't work. For example, it is well known and proven time and time again that financial incentives for Executives get the wrong results - and yet we still offer them. Surely a case of the tail wagging the dog?
The book is a bit dated now, but still worth a read
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3.0 out of 5 stars A bit of a hard read, 1 Feb 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Performance Prism: The Scorecard for Measuring and Managing Business Success: The Scorecard for Measuring and Managing Stakeholder Relationships (Financial Times Series) (Hardcover)
Lots of corporate speak.
This is the recommended text book for CIPS students taking the Measuring Purchasing Performance model.
A tad expensive unless the company were paying and nowadays that is happening less and less.
Perhaps if they produce an e-reader version it would disclipline them to reduce the fat of verboseness to produce something more palatable for students who have neither the time nor inclination to wade through the hardback copy.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 5 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars Some interesting stuff but not very easy to read, 31 Aug 2007
This review is from: The Performance Prism: The Scorecard for Measuring and Managing Business Success: The Scorecard for Measuring and Managing Stakeholder Relationships (Financial Times Series) (Hardcover)
I have read many books on performance measurement and scorecarding and was a little dissapointed with this one. The authors make the point that all stakeholders need to be taken into account when designing a scorecard, this is an important point, but there is little else new in this book.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Only search this product's reviews