Shop now Shop now Shop now Up to 70% off Fashion Shop All Amazon Fashion Cloud Drive Photos Learn More Amazon Pantry Food & Drink Beauty Shop now Shop Fire Shop Kindle Shop now Shop now Shop now

Customer Reviews

4.7 out of 5 stars25
4.7 out of 5 stars
Your rating(Clear)Rate this item


There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

on 6 June 2001
In many books written about business by academics there is a huge gap between the theory propounded and the practical implementation within an organisation. This book neatly bridges that gap and lays out a process that can be applied to any for profit industry. It also offers a set of analytical tools that won't scare all those anti-academic senior managers. Essential for my MBA I use the book regularly in my work place.
0Comment22 of 22 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
VINE VOICEon 8 December 2002
As a student of Banking and Financial Management back in Greece we had a Management module, which also contained some further ideas about Corporate Strategies. So, I looked for a book to help me not only pass the module, but also provide me with all the details of Corporate Strategies. And I found it relatively easy! It's this one by Johnson and Scholes! A huge breadth and scope, targeted to an audience that consists of business managers to students! Full, detailed, well written, contains a variety of subjects, all essential to the reader. And perhaps the most interesting feature of this book is the fact that it contains case studies, which serve the purpose of helping the reader "digest" all the theoretical knowledge gained through practical examples.
I learned quite many things from this book! It's a must-have for every one that wants to keep his or her personal library up-to-date!
0Comment13 of 13 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 4 March 2005
This latest edition of the J&S text sees the expansion of the writing team to include Richard Whittington, a very accomplished academic in the field of strategic management.
The chapters are extensively revised, with many new chapters added, some excellent mini cases & bang up to date full size cases. As an academic having taught strategic management for the past twelve years & having read numerous other texts & occasionally reviewing books for publishers... this text, now in its 7th edition, still remains best in the field.
0Comment7 of 7 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 25 February 2002
The authors will guide you through a clear, concrete and concise strategic model,and by the time you finish reading it, you will understand everything you need to know about strategy.
If you are interested in the subject I would say is a 'must-read'.
0Comment20 of 21 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 13 January 2000
This book combines a very thorough analysis of strategy from the formulation of strategic options to looking at how to choose the correct strategy. Written in simple language with abundant diagrams, and ample case studies, this is the one book all MBA's should have on their shelves.
0Comment7 of 7 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 21 September 1999
The authors present what could be a difficult subject area in clear and concise terms. The book has many excellent diagrams to highlight the written text. The case studies are particularly good as they help to put the theory into practice.
I used the book to gain a First in my MBS.
0Comment6 of 6 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 15 February 2003
I very much enjoyed this thought provoking book on corporate strategy. This will become a classic in this area. I only gave the book four stars, because it doesn't deal with the darker side of corporate stategy and off-balance sheet financing that has gotten many corporations into trouble. A good book on those products (total return swaps, credit derivatives, off-shore vehicles) is "Credit Derivatives" by Tavakoli.
0Comment13 of 14 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 25 February 2005
Comprehensive yet relatively concise coverage of strategic management. Easy to access relevant areas of text that are generously illustrated with interesting examples and mini case studies. Translates theories to practice in lucid style.
An excellent text for students and teachers.
0Comment4 of 4 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 13 January 2010
Great key text for anyone writing assignments based on anything related to management theory. Although written for corporate, has been of great use and can be adapted and applied for Arts Management and organisation/business/venue analysis.

Has everything you'll need in it - although an older version, made no difference! BUY IT.
0Comment1 of 1 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 30 October 2011
This is probably the best ever book I have read on strategy. This is written as a text book. But it is very detailed and if you try to solve the assignment problems then you will have a very good concept of all strategic models. The book is quite thick but not boring. The examples are very relevant to current business issues. You do not need to follow all chapters sequentially. If you have this book I doubt you need any other book on strategy.
0CommentWas this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse

Sponsored Links

  (What is this?)
  -  
KPMG Can Help Navigate the Complex Journey from Strategy to Execution.
  -  
Join the Leaders of Corporate Strategy at this Flagship Event!
  -  
Learn How Business Units Follow Corporate Strategy. Apply Now.