Customer Reviews


18 Reviews
5 star:
 (14)
4 star:
 (3)
3 star:    (0)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:
 (1)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


22 of 22 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars An immensely practical guide to strategic planning.
In many books written about business by academics there is a huge gap between the theory propounded and the practical implementation within an organisation. This book neatly bridges that gap and lays out a process that can be applied to any for profit industry. It also offers a set of analytical tools that won't scare all those anti-academic senior managers. Essential for...
Published on 6 Jun 2001 by davesoa

versus
0 of 1 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars Misleading
I ordered Exploring Corporate Strategy 6th Edition as it said on title but received Public Sector Strategy. I didn't bother chasing refund etc. but what a rip off!!
Published 12 months ago by Prince


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

22 of 22 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars An immensely practical guide to strategic planning., 6 Jun 2001
By 
davesoa (Warwickshire, UK) - See all my reviews
In many books written about business by academics there is a huge gap between the theory propounded and the practical implementation within an organisation. This book neatly bridges that gap and lays out a process that can be applied to any for profit industry. It also offers a set of analytical tools that won't scare all those anti-academic senior managers. Essential for my MBA I use the book regularly in my work place.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


13 of 13 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Johnson and Scholes at their very best!, 8 Dec 2002
By 
Eleimon Gonis "eleimongonis" (Bristol, UK) - See all my reviews
(VINE VOICE)    (REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Exploring Corporate Strategy (6th Edition) (Paperback)
As a student of Banking and Financial Management back in Greece we had a Management module, which also contained some further ideas about Corporate Strategies. So, I looked for a book to help me not only pass the module, but also provide me with all the details of Corporate Strategies. And I found it relatively easy! It's this one by Johnson and Scholes! A huge breadth and scope, targeted to an audience that consists of business managers to students! Full, detailed, well written, contains a variety of subjects, all essential to the reader. And perhaps the most interesting feature of this book is the fact that it contains case studies, which serve the purpose of helping the reader "digest" all the theoretical knowledge gained through practical examples.
I learned quite many things from this book! It's a must-have for every one that wants to keep his or her personal library up-to-date!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


7 of 7 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Nobody does it better..., 4 Mar 2005
By A Customer
This latest edition of the J&S text sees the expansion of the writing team to include Richard Whittington, a very accomplished academic in the field of strategic management.
The chapters are extensively revised, with many new chapters added, some excellent mini cases & bang up to date full size cases. As an academic having taught strategic management for the past twelve years & having read numerous other texts & occasionally reviewing books for publishers... this text, now in its 7th edition, still remains best in the field.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


20 of 21 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars If you want to learn about strategy, read this book., 25 Feb 2002
By 
J. A. Bedoya (Medellin Colombia) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Exploring Corporate Strategy (6th Edition) (Paperback)
The authors will guide you through a clear, concrete and concise strategic model,and by the time you finish reading it, you will understand everything you need to know about strategy.
If you are interested in the subject I would say is a 'must-read'.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


7 of 7 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Essential reading for the upwardly mobile, 13 Jan 2000
By A Customer
This book combines a very thorough analysis of strategy from the formulation of strategic options to looking at how to choose the correct strategy. Written in simple language with abundant diagrams, and ample case studies, this is the one book all MBA's should have on their shelves.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


6 of 6 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars First class text on examining all aspects of strategy., 21 Sep 1999
By A Customer
The authors present what could be a difficult subject area in clear and concise terms. The book has many excellent diagrams to highlight the written text. The case studies are particularly good as they help to put the theory into practice.
I used the book to gain a First in my MBS.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


13 of 14 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Excellent Resource on Corporate Strategy, 15 Feb 2003
By A Customer
This review is from: Exploring Corporate Strategy (6th Edition) (Paperback)
I very much enjoyed this thought provoking book on corporate strategy. This will become a classic in this area. I only gave the book four stars, because it doesn't deal with the darker side of corporate stategy and off-balance sheet financing that has gotten many corporations into trouble. A good book on those products (total return swaps, credit derivatives, off-shore vehicles) is "Credit Derivatives" by Tavakoli.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 4 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars excellent text for postgraduate management students, 25 Feb 2005
By A Customer
Comprehensive yet relatively concise coverage of strategic management. Easy to access relevant areas of text that are generously illustrated with interesting examples and mini case studies. Translates theories to practice in lucid style.
An excellent text for students and teachers.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Key Text, 13 Jan 2010
By 
C. Aldridge (England) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Great key text for anyone writing assignments based on anything related to management theory. Although written for corporate, has been of great use and can be adapted and applied for Arts Management and organisation/business/venue analysis.

Has everything you'll need in it - although an older version, made no difference! BUY IT.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 5 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars excellent for strategy and concepts, 29 Mar 1999
By A Customer
The book follows a straight forward descriptive text with good examples. By using this I got a first in a BA corporate strategy module, and now I am a director I use it regularly.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Exploring Corporate Strategy (6th Edition)
Exploring Corporate Strategy (6th Edition) by Kevan Scholes (Paperback - 18 Jun 2002)
Used & New from: £0.01
Add to wishlist See buying options
Only search this product's reviews