Customer Reviews


10 Reviews
5 star:
 (2)
4 star:
 (2)
3 star:
 (3)
2 star:
 (3)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


0 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Easy Read
I was sceptical about reading a mills and boon book, but i have to say this was a really easy read and the characters were well written. It had a great twist at the end too. Definitely a book to buy for your holidays if you like it steamy with a storyline.
Published on 21 Jun 2011 by K. Young

versus
1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Not sure it should be Book of the Month
I've read quite a lot of Mills & Boon over the years and although this is a nicely written intrigue novel, I really can't say that it has enough sparkle or zest to make it worthy of the Book of the Month award in my opinion.

I read Crime Scene at Cardwell Ranch, from the same equivilent Harlequin Intrigue series, recently on my Kindle and in comparison, Come to...
Published on 14 Jun 2011 by Mozzie


Most Helpful First | Newest First

1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Not sure it should be Book of the Month, 14 Jun 2011
By 
Mozzie (Dorset) - See all my reviews
(VINE VOICE)   
This review is from: Come to Me (Mills & Boon Intrigue) (Paperback)
Customer review from the Amazon Vine Programme (What's this?)
I've read quite a lot of Mills & Boon over the years and although this is a nicely written intrigue novel, I really can't say that it has enough sparkle or zest to make it worthy of the Book of the Month award in my opinion.

I read Crime Scene at Cardwell Ranch, from the same equivilent Harlequin Intrigue series, recently on my Kindle and in comparison, Come to Me sadly just isn't up to the same standard.

I think there needed to be more romance and the characters seemed a bit flat and not very well developed.

If you are stuck at the airport and there is nothing else to buy, then okay, but I think there are better books available.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2.0 out of 5 stars Romantic Intrigue that's a bit bland, 13 Nov 2011
By 
josie82 (Fife, Scotland, UK) - See all my reviews
(TOP 1000 REVIEWER)    (VINE VOICE)   
This review is from: Come to Me (Mills & Boon Intrigue) (Paperback)
Customer review from the Amazon Vine Programme (What's this?)
Sam Travers' past has made him wary of relationships. But when Lizzie Porter waltzes back into his office his heart takes a hit. He's always had a soft spot for Lizzie but now she's all grown up and she's determined to show him just how much.

Lizzie is determined to find her half-sister and she wants to hire private investigator Sam to do it for her. The fact that the investigation puts her in close proximity with sexy Sam is just an added bonus. But when they get shot at Sam decides to move in to protect Lizzie - but who will protect his heart?

In the past I have avoided Mills and Boon Intrigue because I am a complete wimp and I assumed that the books would be too scary and tense for my liking. However, I decided to give this one a go as I liked the premise of the story. I now wish I hadn't bothered but not because of the scariness (of which there was none) but because it was, overall, a bland and uninspiring read.

Our two main characters are Sam and Lizzie. I couldn't quite figure Sam out - brooding and moody one minute and then grinning and seductive the next. His reasons for not being in a relationship with Lizzie went out the window so fast it made me really question his character. Similarly, I didn't much care for Lizzie. One of Sam's main objections to their romance was the age difference between them (8 years) and as such I think that Lizzie was written as quite an immature and naïve 24 year old. This could have been fine but she babbled on, disregarded everyone else's feelings and was generally too annoying for me to care about her or them as a couple.

The intrigue wasn't too intriguing and there was little suspense or excitement with the half-sister mystery. And generally, I just didn't feel any spark with the story as a whole. There was no sexual tension or emotion between any of the characters and I was left feeling completely uninterested. If this is the level of suspense of Intrigue novels then I might give others a go but this one just isn't for me, I'm afraid. 2 stars.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3.0 out of 5 stars Average romance, 16 Sep 2011
By 
Lucy Hargrave (Wellingborough, United Kingdom) - See all my reviews
(VINE VOICE)   
This review is from: Come to Me (Mills & Boon Intrigue) (Paperback)
Customer review from the Amazon Vine Programme (What's this?)
I started reading this book on a plane and finished on the plane journey. It is only roughly 250 pages long and I would therefore suggest it as a quick and easy read. The plot is fairly predictable, women has long term crush on older guy, older guy comes to like women and eventually after a couple of arguments and misunderstanding the man comes to the heroic rescue of girl and her baby sister. I say girl but she is in her twenties so its all legal, don't worry.
The book is okay but there are parts of it that seems to be prolonged unnecessarily, because of this it became slightly tiresome after a while and really put be off the book. That is why I have only given it three stars as it is not badly written just not particularly memorable or funny.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2.0 out of 5 stars disappointing, 8 May 2011
This review is from: Come to Me (Mills & Boon Intrigue) (Paperback)
Customer review from the Amazon Vine Programme (What's this?)
This book states INTRIGUE Breathtaking Romantic Suspense. It is not intriguing, nor romantic and hardly a breathtaking suspense. The plot is completely predictable and the characters dull and implausible and I did not really care what happened to them.I think perhaps if the book was longer the author might have been able to develop both plot and characters a little but as it stands it did not hold my attention and was a chore to read. The style of writing reads like a textbook with no warmth at all. I hate to be so negative but derived no enjoyment from it. I cannot recommend it
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 3 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars Bland and vanilla in pace, storyline and love scenes. Disappointing for this author, 4 May 2011
By 
Roroblu's Mum "ROROBLU'S MUM" (London, UK) - See all my reviews
(VINE VOICE)    (TOP 500 REVIEWER)   
This review is from: Come to Me (Mills & Boon Intrigue) (Paperback)
Customer review from the Amazon Vine Programme (What's this?)
I jumped at the chance to read this LWJ book, as I've read her Raintree trilogy contribution, and her Linda Howard collaboration and thought that both were excellent. However, I've realised that that was probably as both were fast-paced paranormal tales, with lots of action, unknown species, vampires, magic, hot, steamy sex and a HEA, and this is more of an everyday, mundane tale.

It's not bad, but it did nothing for me, and I forced myself to read it, although I'd already guessed the outcome. It's the tale of Lizzie who hasn't really grown out of her teenage crush on ex-cop Sam, her cop-father's old partner, who is now divorced, and whose PI services she wants to use to find out if the young girl she suspects is her half-sister really is. That's the tale, but as it was under the Intrigue line, a bit of 'intrigue' was introduced in the form of a bullet through her window and through that of Sam's ex-wife, but when the latter episode got debunked within a couple of pages, it lead me straight to the possible bad guy.

A couple of red-herrings were thrown in as possible suspects, but they had no real credibility and yes, the baddie would have potentially been a killer, but it seemed out of character until the very end.

On top, the love scenes were practically non-existent and Sam's supposed reliuctance about making a move on his ex-partner's daughter was a total non-starter, as were his issues about not being goood enough for any woman. Unfortunately, IMHO, the blurb on the back bigged-up this book, but the tale itself didn't live up to the blurb. Disappointing, yet I have the next collaboration with Linda Howard on pre-order, a whole 16months in advance, and would recommend both books mentioned above.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 2 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Come to Me (if you like sweet romance...?), 1 Jun 2011
By 
SilentSinger (London) - See all my reviews
(VINE VOICE)    (TOP 1000 REVIEWER)   
This review is from: Come to Me (Mills & Boon Intrigue) (Paperback)
Customer review from the Amazon Vine Programme (What's this?)
I confess that I haven't read a Mills and Boon title for many years now, the general romance varieties which used to be sold in the seaside second hand shops has now given way to a huge range of varieties from Blaze (very explicit) to Historical (self-explanatory) so by choosing this title from the Intrigue range (Romance suspense at its best: Danger, deception and desire) I thought I'd see how the world had moved on since the 1970s/1980s editions. This book concerns the romantic entanglement of Birmingham Alabama born Lizzie Porter, a twenty-four year-old painter who's late father's cop partner, thirty-two-year-old Sam (yes - the author seems obsessed by detailing her character's ages) Sam now works as a Private Investigator and together they try to uncover the mystery concerning the possibility of Lizzie having a half-sister and the dangerous ramifications tied up with that.

Right, so I think you can guess where this is going, Lizzie's girlhood crush on Sam becomes realized and there's the usual hoohah of will they/won't they/does he love me?/does he love me not? plot M&B are world famous for. I know that authors are forced to write in a certain style but does it really have to be quite that clunky? Some of the dialogue was beyond awful - frequent uses of phrases such as `dammit' put me in mind of The Rocky Horror Picture Show. Being a modern book I was interested to see how attitudes to sex had changed throughout the ages - i.e. in the older books there's a fair bit of heavy petting throughout, but the actual `lovemaking' doesn't take place until after the marriage vows had been uttered, of course, it happens much sooner in this novel. However, although there's a discussion about birth control, there's nothing about safe sex - surely this is a must these days?

In conclusion: this is a fairly undemanding read if you're a fan of romance books of this nature, and to be honest, escapist literature is always good in an increasingly complex world. I'd be interested to read the racier novels in the M&B range, or perhaps I'm just giving myself away as a total perve? Who knows?
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


0 of 1 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars A quick and satisfying read, 19 Aug 2011
By 
Lucy Felthouse (Derbyshire, UK) - See all my reviews
(VINE VOICE)    (TOP 1000 REVIEWER)   
This review is from: Come to Me (Mills & Boon Intrigue) (Paperback)
Customer review from the Amazon Vine Programme (What's this?)
Mills and Boon get a bad rap from my generation. They're seen as sappy romances for old people. But when this book popped up on the Vine programme, I decided to give it a go and find out for myself. The company is still going strong after all these years, so they're obviously doing something right!

This book isn't a straight romance. It's a crime thriller, too. Now don't get me wrong, there's no gore or scary bits, but nor is this a flowery romance. Once I started reading, I actually found myself compelled to keep going and going, so much so that I finished it in less than twenty four hours.

Basically, this book is an easy, absorbing read. There's nothing offensive within these pages, although there is bedroom door open sex. It's not particularly sappy, though it is naturally much gentler than an erotic romance, both in tone and the language used. Overall, I would say this is the perfect beach read. It's fast paced and sensual in places, yet you could still read it in public.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


0 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Easy Read, 21 Jun 2011
By 
K. Young "craftyness" (UK) - See all my reviews
(VINE VOICE)    (REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Come to Me (Mills & Boon Intrigue) (Paperback)
Customer review from the Amazon Vine Programme (What's this?)
I was sceptical about reading a mills and boon book, but i have to say this was a really easy read and the characters were well written. It had a great twist at the end too. Definitely a book to buy for your holidays if you like it steamy with a storyline.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


0 of 1 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars a painter, private detective and possible half sister, 2 Jun 2011
By 
misswise (London) - See all my reviews
(VINE VOICE)   
This review is from: Come to Me (Mills & Boon Intrigue) (Paperback)
Customer review from the Amazon Vine Programme (What's this?)
Come to me chronicles the relationship between Lizzie and her dad's old partner Sam who's helping her find her possible half sister, Jenna. Love blossoms between the two inspite of their age difference and varied outlook on life. This book makes for an interesting quick read, not with the most gripping of storylines but is written in a fun, quirky way that leaves you smiling at the end.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


0 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Girl porn with a cute thriller story, 26 May 2011
By 
M. Bray "Mia" (London, UK) - See all my reviews
(VINE VOICE)    (REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Come to Me (Mills & Boon Intrigue) (Paperback)
Customer review from the Amazon Vine Programme (What's this?)
Following her father death Lizzie Porter is shocked to discover she may have a 12 year old sister from her fathers post divorce rebound, and so she seeks the help of Sam - An ex-cop turned Private detective, who worked with her Dad. Complicated?? Well a little, Lizzie's a forever after girl thats always had a crush on Sam but knows his past. Recently divorced Sam on the other hand is every bit the smoking hot moody commitment phobe, and knows more about Lizzies sister than hes letting on.

As he agrees to take on the case Lizzies vows to only interrupt Jennas life if shes not happy, but can she keep that promise? And will it be her heart or her head that rules where Sams concerned?

Highly charged and not for the more conservative reader, Come To Me is what i can only describe as romantic girl porn. Plenty of passion without going too graphic. Its accompanied by a cute (if somewhat unbelievable)story and really engaging main characters. I was also pleasantly surprised to find a romance novel with a gritty ending. hoorah!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Come to Me (Mills & Boon Intrigue)
Come to Me (Mills & Boon Intrigue) by Linda Winstead Jones (Paperback - 15 April 2011)
£3.27
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews