Customer Reviews


9 Reviews
5 star:
 (4)
4 star:
 (5)
3 star:    (0)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 
Most Helpful First | Newest First

11 of 12 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Continuing the story, 3 Nov 2006
By 
RozziD "Rose" (Lincoln, England) - See all my reviews
(VINE VOICE)   
Having read the first trilogy in the Calhoun sage, I was looking forward to completing the story. Suzanna's Surrender certainly follows along nicely from the previous stories. Suzanna is a hard working single mother raising 2 lively children. She has been burned by love before having been married to her children's father. But he was more interested in his wife's name than in loving her. Suzanna meets her man while following leads on the missing emeralds - and this book does finish off that part of the story nicely.

I felt that this story was intented to finish off the family saga completly and that Megan's Mate was, perhaps, a bit of an afterthought. Having said that, Megan's Mate isn't too disappointing but the storyline had to change fairly significantly as there was no longer the side story of the emeralds. Aunt Coco finds some romance in this story too so by the end it really is a case of everyone living happily ever after.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Absorbing., 22 Nov 2009
By 
John Bateman (scotland) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: The Calhouns: Suzanna and Megan: Suzanna's Surrender / Megan's Mate (Silhouette Single Title) (Mass Market Paperback)
Another cracker from Nora Roberts totally absorbing and rollicking read. Characters are like everyone you have ever met, intense,vulnerable,passionate and subject to every human frailty.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Good read, 1 April 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Calhouns: Suzanna and Megan: Suzanna's Surrender / Megan's Mate (Silhouette Single Title) (Mass Market Paperback)
Another enjoying story from Nora Roberts. She has become my favourite author. Have enjoyed all her books. The storys vary
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars The illustrious Calhoun sisters, 24 May 2011
Two books are combined in this edition; Suzanna * Megan; also titled Susanna's Surrender and Megan's Mate. The Calhoun family has owned a `castle' on the cliffs of Maine for years.
Suzanna returns with her two children after a terrible marriage and divorce to start her own business and raise her children. There is the undercurrent of a previous story, which you do not necessarily have to have read in order to understand. An emerald necklace has been lost for years and it is being hunted by the family and a dangerous jewel thief.

This of course is a romance. So Suzanna meets the handsome former cop who is gruff, but falls in love with her children and has been in love with her since their childhood. This, in some points almost becomes the bodice rippers of old, with.... `you are mine' and torn blouses and "no, I need more time" but secretly she doesn't . That can become a little irksome to some modern readers.
Nora Roberts is one of the few female romance writers that can write male dialogue and make you forget a female is writing it. As always there are problems and a happy ending.
Megan's story is a bit tamer. She was seduced by Suzanne's husband... the cad! and has a son who are both welcomed into the family home. Megan being a wonderful accountant straightens out the books, solves a family mystery and of course meets the handsome gruff man who falls in love with her and her son. The sisters and brothers in law and all the family all get along, even when they argue. They all are beautiful and love each other.

It still is a fun and fascinating book to read....with one caution.
Check those copy write dates and make sure you know these were previously published in 1991 and 1996...just so you do not buy a book you have preciously read thinking it is a new story.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Excellent family saga (parts 4-5), 10 Sep 2010
By 
Nicola F (Nic) (United Kingdom) - See all my reviews
(TOP 500 REVIEWER)   
This review is from: The Calhouns: Suzanna and Megan: Suzanna's Surrender / Megan's Mate (Silhouette Single Title) (Mass Market Paperback)
The final two stories of the Calhoun saga prove just as addictive as the first three, I'm happy to report! The Calhoun sisters and their very desirable men are back, continuing to investigate the legend of the missing Calhoun emeralds, a story arc that was begun in the first tale of the saga.

This time its single mum Suzanna's turn to bag herself a man- in the form of the very desirable ex-cop Holt Bradford, who proves to have a connection of his own to the Calhoun family. The professional jewel thief is also back, harbouring designs on getting his own grubby mitts on that necklace and is determined nothing will stand in his way...

The final story focuses on Sloan's sister: the Calhoun's sister-in-law Megan, a new resident to The Towers, who is charmed completely by former Marine Nate.

A really good ending to a great set of reads- but in my opinion ones that *must* be read in order to really establish the storyline and get a feel for the characters and their relationships. I adored eccentric Aunt Coco and all the Calhoun women, but in my opinion the strongest characters were actually the successfully written male leads throughout. Sigh. Why can't men be like that in real life?! Do yourself a favour: if you're wanting a very readable romance to curl up with, start with the first set of Calhoun stories then move onto these. You won't be disappointed.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Classical oldies, 22 Dec 2009
By 
Mrs. P. Webb "bookworm" (Hertfordshire u.k.) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
Two old favourites reissued in one book. Nora Roberts is an outstanding writer, and most of her books I read time and time again. Together with 'The Calhouns, Catherine, Amanda And Lilah', also published in one book gives many happy hours of pleasurable reading.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars An excellent read, 29 Oct 2006
I have read many of Nora Roberts's books and this one didn't disapoint. I couldn't put the book down. I along with the books characters were swept through a host of emotions, keeping me on the proverbial edge of my seat during both of the stories. The characters are well rounded.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


0 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars period romance, 30 July 2011
By 
Thomas Page "BaggyGeoff" (wolverhampton W.Mids UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Calhouns: Suzanna and Megan: Suzanna's Surrender / Megan's Mate (Silhouette Single Title) (Mass Market Paperback)
A good read if you are a fan of romance books set in the past. The story is sound and is a good read in this genre, my wife loves Nora Robert's writing and grabs any novel of hers.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


0 of 1 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Very entertaining read, 13 Feb 2011
By 
Book worm (Northampton, England) - See all my reviews
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Calhouns: Suzanna and Megan: Suzanna's Surrender / Megan's Mate (Silhouette Single Title) (Mass Market Paperback)
Enjoyable conclusion to the Calhouns saga, make sure you read the previous Calhoun book to follow the sequence of events. Both books are very entertaining, as usual Nora Roberts is way ahead of other authors of this genre.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

The Calhouns: Suzanna and Megan: Suzanna's Surrender / Megan's Mate (Silhouette Single Title)
5.47
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews