Customer Reviews


8 Reviews
5 star:
 (5)
4 star:
 (2)
3 star:
 (1)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


6 of 6 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Amazing book!
I couldn't put this book down!

Julia is a sheltered Roman woman who gets captured by Wulfric, a barbarian warrior invading Rome. She is taken as a slave and she has to learn how to cook and clean, things she has never had to do herself. She's planning to escape the first chance she gets but slowly she starts to realize how she has actually more freedom as a...
Published on 19 Mar 2010 by Maria

versus
1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Virgin slave
Quite enjoyable good plot and plenty of action, would definitely read another of this,authors books in the future well done.
Published 12 months ago by Lindyloo


Most Helpful First | Newest First

6 of 6 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Amazing book!, 19 Mar 2010
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
I couldn't put this book down!

Julia is a sheltered Roman woman who gets captured by Wulfric, a barbarian warrior invading Rome. She is taken as a slave and she has to learn how to cook and clean, things she has never had to do herself. She's planning to escape the first chance she gets but slowly she starts to realize how she has actually more freedom as a barbarian slave than Roman woman.

Soon she falls in love with Wulfric who has feelings for her also but being a warrior doesn't recognise it. But what future there can be for them as she is a slave and he the future king of he's people!

I absolutely loved this book! It wasn't too cheesy either which made it a lot more interesting to read, it's all about the love story but not overloaded with it.
I will definatly be reading this book again!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Virgin Slave, 10 Jan 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
I did enjoy this book and will look out for more by this author in the future when I next download
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Virgin slave, 10 Dec 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
Quite enjoyable good plot and plenty of action, would definitely read another of this,authors books in the future well done.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars virgin slave barbarian king, 29 Nov 2013
Loved this book a fiery girl handsome man brilliant read i loved it so much i read it twice my kind of book
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars I LOVE IT, 15 April 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This book is a great read. I found it funny and i have read this book a few times, in fact iv got the paper back copy and when i saw the e book i got that one as well she's a fiesty roman woman who stands up for herself and he's a barbarian who learns to love
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Don't judge this book by its cover (or name), 2 Jan 2013
By 
The book is set during the Roman Empire and features a Roman heroine and a German/Visigoth hero (a Germanic tribe that invaded Rome a couple thousand years ago that I'd never actually heard of before this book). Interesting change from the cookie cutter historical's around now. I particularly enjoyed the forbidden aspect to it i.e. the fact that the were two people from different cultures falling in love which back then would have been something very taboo I'm guessing.

The hero, Wulfric, is a rare find in romance novels these days - an alpha but a fair, reasonable one as a leader to his followers, calm-headed but passionate when the time calls for it (i.e. with the heroine). The heroine, Julia, was also a pleasant change - she managed to be that kind if vulnerable damsel in distress heroines that seem to have been replaced by bold and bolshy ones in current romances but she had a back-bone and gave a good tongue lashing when the time called for it.

I would recommend this for anyone who enjoyed the old-school romances of the 80s/90s (except, naturally, these characters are a bit more PC).

This historical novel is right up there with Kathleen Woodiwiess's Wolf and the Dove, in other words, a book that will be constantly re-read. I think it deserves much better than the cheesy cover and awful title because it's honestly one of the better romances I've read and I've read a lot.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars A FABULOUS READ, 14 Nov 2012
This is a fabulous historical romance! I found it hard to put down!
The story is set during the time of the Roman Empire when the Goths invaded Rome from the north to take what was owed them after the Romans reneged on a pact.
Julia, a Roman maiden is taken. She learns that being Roman doesn't equate with being honest and noble and that those referred to as barbarians are anything but.
The love story between Julia and Wulfric, a contender for the barbarian kingship, is so fabulous, tender and endearing. The obstacles, both cultural, political and physical are many and kept ne on the edge of my seat.
All characters, both main and secondary, are wonderful and I enjoyed this book enormously!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars A FABULOUS READ, 14 Nov 2012
This review is from: Virgin Slave, Barbarian King (Mills & Boon Historical) (Paperback)
This is a fabulous historical romance! I found it hard to put down!
The story is set during the time of the Roman Empire when the Goths invaded Rome from the north to take what was owed them after the Romans reneged on a pact.
Julia, a Roman maiden is taken. She learns that being Roman doesn't equate with being honest and noble and that those referred to as barbarians are anything but.
The love story between Julia and Wulfric, a contender for the barbarian kingship, is so fabulous, tender and endearing. The obstacles, both cultural, political and physical are many and kept ne on the edge of my seat.
All characters, both main and secondary, are wonderful and I enjoyed this book enormously!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Virgin Slave, Barbarian King (Mills & Boon Historical)
Virgin Slave, Barbarian King (Mills & Boon Historical) by Louise Allen (Paperback - 1 Jan 2008)
Used & New from: £0.01
Add to wishlist See buying options
Only search this product's reviews