Shop now Shop now Shop now  Up to 50% Off Fashion  Shop all Amazon Fashion Cloud Drive Photos Shop now Learn More Shop now Shop now Shop Fire Shop Kindle Shop now Shop now Shop now

Customer Reviews

4.5 out of 5 stars34
4.5 out of 5 stars
Format: Paperback|Change
Price:£36.42+ Free shipping with Amazon Prime
Your rating(Clear)Rate this item


There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

on 10 January 2016
I remember I first read this book back at the beginning of 2000, since it was among the suggested titles for the Data Structures and Algorithms course at the University. Algorithms are one of those topics whose core did not significantly change in the last 30 years, despite the many publications that, every month, introduce new concepts and better solutions. This means that any book from the 80's is valuable, as long as the concepts it presents are concise and well explained. The importance of the subject results in the keyword algorithms returning more than 42 thousands results on Amazon. Plenty of material for everyone! In this horde of titles, Introduction to Algorithms definitely stands out as *the* book that should be in the book shelf of any IT professional.

As the title suggests, Introduction to Algorithms, which reached its third edition back in 2009, is a beginners text for anyone interested in learning the basics, be it a student at the first year of college or simply a curious enthusiast. Many experienced developers might also find the text quite useful to refresh some concept, since many job interviews are about implementing a variant of a known algorithm. The book spans some 1300 pages, which means that, unless you quickly rush from the front to the back cover, it will take quite some time to read it. The topics are grouped into seven sections, which range from basic concepts, such as divide and conquer and the O notation, up to NP completeness, passing through sorting, graphs and trees.

Each chapter follows a common pattern: first, an overview of the subject being covered is given; what follows is a detailed discussion of the key parts of that topic; and plenty of exercises, to practice what we just learned. What I find particularly interesting about this book is the abundance of clear and colorful diagrams which show, step by step, how a data structure changes through time. The algorithms are explained both theoretically and through pseudo code. The key points of each algorithm in the code are then explicitly referenced by the authors, when they present an example with real data, covering all the different (edge) cases that can happen. Detailed schemas support these explanation, giving the reader a step by step view of the data.

Tying it all up, a must have for every programmer. While there are many excellent texts out there covering the recent advances on specific subjects, Introduction to Algorithms is the one choice to get started.

As usual, you can find more reviews on my personal blog: http://books.lostinmalloc.com. Feel free to pass by and share your thoughts!
0Comment|2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 20 May 2013
This textbook is on the reading list for a number of courses for my degree, even if, at first glance, the connection is not always obvious. The title is something of a misnomer: it is not only an introduction to algorithms for those at an undergraduate level, but I can also see it being massively useful in a professional field, when an obscure data structure is needed, and an efficient implementation of a niche algorithm is required; followed by a careful and sound explanation of its correctness. It is not just an introduction, but also one of the most thorough analyses of algorithms ever found. There are countless references to it in my other textbooks, and the reference CLRS is enough to know exactly which book is being referred to.

This will stand me in good stead for many, many years.
0Comment|10 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 4 March 2014
As has been said numerous times about this books, its one of those classics that you just must own. That said, it isn't the kind of book you'd read from cover to cover in one go. More likely, it will spend most of its time on the bookshelf, but act as a handy reference every once in a while when you're stuck on a problem with an algorithmic solution. Also helpful to prepare for coding interviews, although with the kind of time crunch you're likely under, you might prefer Cracking the Coding Interview.
0Comment|2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 11 September 2011
De facto text book for Algorithms

Who need this book

Programmer who want to optimize their algorithms or just want to brush up different algorithms which they use in their day to day programming.

Student who are learning Computer science at university, this book is must have for them.

Book is divided in following main sections

1.Foundations

This section has 5 chapters and gives the basic idea about the algorithms and how to solve a problem using an algorithm and different approach about the algorithms.

Explain about the notation of algorithms and how to write a one.

Explain how to calculate the complexity of algorithms and along with the different notations such as big o etc.

2.Sorting and Order Statistics
This section is devoted to different sorting algorithms such as quick and heap etc, there are 4 chapters in total.

3.Data Structures
This section gives basic idea about the data structure before advance section; this section includes stack, link list, queue, hash table etc.

There are 5 chapters in total for basic data structures.

4.Advanced design and analysis technique
This section has 3 chapters and explains dynamic programming, greedy algorithms and amortized analysis.

5.Advance Data Structures

This section explains about B tree, Fibonacci heap, van Emde Boas tree and disjoint set.

6.Graph algorithms
This section explains about different graph algorithms such dijkstra and shortest path algorithms etc.

7.Selected topics
this section has some different topics such as multithreaded algorithms, matrix operation , string matching and pattern matching etc.

Point about book.

Book is well written and very concise.
Explain every algorithm in very details.
Most of the algorithms are covered in book along with the calculating the complexity of algorithms.
Doesn't follow any specific computer programming language syntax for algorithms so it's easy to follow for non-programmer.
Every chapters has some problem set at the end of the chapter and in between (answers are not provided in book but some solutions are there on book's website.)
There are lots of diagram in book for better explanation.
Most advance topics, those are not suitable for under graduate are marked with Star.
Book required some basic engineering mathematical understanding.
0Comment|18 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 8 January 2016
Rightly regarded as the go-to book for algorithms. Do not be tempted to get the cheaper far-east edition which is printed in tissue paper, go for the higher quality softback or the hard back if you can afford it, you'll be using it a lot and you'll want it to last!
0Comment|One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 6 November 2014
Got my Algorithms Bible. We all know it's the best Algorithm book out there so I'd prefer rating Amazon for the great price of this book, an impeccable and fast delivery. Now I can use my holidays and work through the book.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 31 May 2016
This book is huge. Both in terms of physical size and the amount of information and exercises contained within it. A bible for algorithms. I come to it for answers and guidance every now and then.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 31 January 2010
This book is brilliant. I bought this to read from cover to cover, so that I could get a 'head-start' before going to university on a Computer Science course. This is perfect as it contains everything you need and more! In addition the book is great as a reference book - if you forgot about Van Emde Boas Trees then you can remind yourself by reading the appropriate chapter. A Must Have For Every Computer Scientist.
0Comment|23 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 17 December 2015
Nice and accessible, describes everything I need, a really good text on algorithms - and inclusion of important datastructures like trees and hash tables.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 26 April 2015
Is indeed a good intro to algorithms. Kinda wish I'd gone for the hardback.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse

Send us feedback

How can we make Amazon Customer Reviews better for you?
Let us know here.

Sponsored Links

  (What is this?)