Customer Reviews


5 Reviews
5 star:
 (4)
4 star:    (0)
3 star:
 (1)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


6 of 6 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars K&R for Scheme
Dybvig's book is an excellent but terse tutorial and reference on Scheme.

Writtem in the tradition of Kernighan and Ritchie 'The C Programming Language' it provides a complete description of the language in a very short amount of space.

I found this approach in keeping with the Language, scheme is a small and very expressive language.

It...
Published on 29 Feb. 2008 by P. H. Payne

versus
1 of 8 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Ok for a Scheme book
I like reading by actually holding a book. They make it easier for me to jot down what I think or write down keywords to make it easy for me to recall what is where at some points. It is not much difference that online reference in order to understand the language. But it may be more elaborate on notation and naming conventions which is and added advantage. I still need...
Published on 14 Dec. 2010 by Hanna S


Most Helpful First | Newest First

6 of 6 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars K&R for Scheme, 29 Feb. 2008
By 
P. H. Payne "payneph" (England) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
Dybvig's book is an excellent but terse tutorial and reference on Scheme.

Writtem in the tradition of Kernighan and Ritchie 'The C Programming Language' it provides a complete description of the language in a very short amount of space.

I found this approach in keeping with the Language, scheme is a small and very expressive language.

It sits on my desk next to K&R, Hanson, Stoustroup, Graham, Stevens and Steele.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Great Book, 3 Mar. 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Scheme Programming Language, 4th Edition (Paperback)
This book just seemed to be pitched at my level. I thought SICP was great but it left me wanting to know more about scheme itself. I'm coming from a background where things like "closure" and "continuation" don't mean anything. And just what *is* a macro? Well I'd puzzled out the first two and read various Lisp articals about macros. But scheme's macros seemed incredibly arcane. Why are there so many (lisp-like, define-syntax, syntax-rules, syntax-case)? And even others that people have invented. So I searched the net and stuumbled on TSPL. Wow. I know you can read this online (so if you want a look you don't have to pay Amazon anything!) but I like technical books in dead-tree form. So I bought it and regretted nothing. syntax-rules make perfect sense! Maybe I'll grok syntax-case in the end! It's also a great R6RS reference.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars R. Kent Dybvig's The Scheme Programming Language, 20 Dec. 2012
By 
J. F. Pye (Risca, South Wales) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Scheme Programming Language, 4th Edition (Paperback)
Here we have one of the standard books in the world of scheme programming, known and recommended in computer science departments around the world. Tough, dry, authoratative; I am about a third of the way through my first reading of it, and I know that I will have another go in a few months' time. And maybe another go after that. For example, chapter three, 'Going Further' ambles steadily through serious recursion then hits us with continuations and CPS. Great fun.

Ernestly recommended if you like scheme, or if you are chasing a CompSci degree.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 5 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Very good exposition, 14 Nov. 2005
By A Customer
This is an excellent introduction to Scheme.
Disciplined technical writing, with no redundancy.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 8 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Ok for a Scheme book, 14 Dec. 2010
This review is from: The Scheme Programming Language, 4th Edition (Paperback)
I like reading by actually holding a book. They make it easier for me to jot down what I think or write down keywords to make it easy for me to recall what is where at some points. It is not much difference that online reference in order to understand the language. But it may be more elaborate on notation and naming conventions which is and added advantage. I still need to search online from time to time.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

The Scheme Programming Language, 4th Edition
The Scheme Programming Language, 4th Edition by R. Kent Dybvig (Paperback - 4 Sept. 2009)
£32.95
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews