Customer Reviews


1,241 Reviews
5 star:
 (1,023)
4 star:
 (96)
3 star:
 (53)
2 star:
 (35)
1 star:
 (34)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


318 of 335 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars This is not a novel in the modern sense
To all the people who've given this a low mark, and all seem to have the same gripe with it - you all fail to understand that this is not a novel in the sense we've come to understand as a fantasy novel these days, so it's not fair to judge it as such.
Tolkien was not a career author, he didn't set out to write a searing page-turner, a wizzbang tale of derring-do...
Published on 3 Jan. 2009 by Mr. R. A. Seffen

versus
219 of 235 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars The Lord of the Rings: 50th Anniversary Deluxe Edition
We all know that the The Lord of the Rings is a work of genius, so this review covers this particular published version (The Lord of the Rings: 50th Anniversary Deluxe Edition). First off this book is expensive and in format it is only a little larger than the paperback version. Also apart from the three pages from the book of Mazurbul there are no illustrations. First...
Published on 23 April 2005 by J Meehan


‹ Previous | 189 90 91125 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

4 of 6 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Marvellous series by Tolkien, 1 Aug. 2007
One of the finest books I've ever read and count The Silmarillion into that as well. Enhanced by the wonderful movies and all Christopher Tolien's hard work on the History of Middle Earth series.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars good quality paperback, 21 Jan. 2015
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
you don't really need an explanation to buy this book. good quality paperback. nice print.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars lotr, 31 May 2012
I love it so amazing. One of the best books I have read in ages so this is One of the best
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 5 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars The Lord of the Rings:The Two Towers, 24 Feb. 2003
By 
Dominique Stephens (Banstead, Surrey United Kingdom) - See all my reviews
After watching the films I decided it was time to read the books. After reading the first part of this epic trilogy I couldn't wait to get started on the second instalment. The Two Towers is fantastic, even better than the film. It is better than the first book, being darker, more exciting and more emotional. It is more detailed than the film and you get a lot more information with maps and other facts on middle earth in the index. After the 9 are seperated the book focuses on their different jouneys. Frodo and Sam continue on their quest to destroy the ring while the others follow the trail of the orcs who are holding merry and pippin captive. After the first few pages you won't be able to put it down, I got so engrossed in the characters and their battle with the one ring and the evil Sauron that I was staying up until 2 am to read it! It is one of the best books i've ever read and I can't wait to find out what happens in the last part the Return of the King. I definately recommend this book,to all book lovers, even those who have never seen the films.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Captivating, 18 Dec. 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
Read it as a child and was enthralled. Reading it again as an adult and still captivated!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars So far, the greatest of "The Lord of the Rings" series, 29 Mar. 1999
By A Customer
This book, so far, is the best "The Lord of the Rings" series. -Grant Thornhill
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 2 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Fantastic read, 11 April 2009
I've watched the films and loved them but never read the book before and I must say I surprised to find out how much is missing from the films and how much better the book really was I was expecting it to be almost exactly the same as the film. The level of depth and growth of the characters is amassing, all the various parts that join together for the climax all in all a fantastic book that you have to read at least once in your lifetime. The only thing bad about this book is the parts about Frodo and Sam as there is far too much description of the mountain side and the landscape around them mostly due to the fact that there is nothing else going on.
If you have never read this book add it to your list you will not be disappointed!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Lord Of The Rings Trilogy, 11 Oct. 2003
By 
I have read all of these books over three times now, And i still find something i missed before. I will never tire of them.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Excellent and amazing read, 30 Oct. 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
Excellent book. Amazing read. I would emplore you to ensure you read the entire series.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Good xmas present, 9 Sept. 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
Was a christmas present for the other half, pleased to say she was happy with the gift!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 189 90 91125 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

The Lord of the rings
The Lord of the rings by J. R. R Tolkien (Unknown Binding - 1999)
Used & New from: £19.99
Add to wishlist See buying options
Only search this product's reviews