Customer Reviews


27 Reviews
5 star:
 (23)
4 star:
 (2)
3 star:
 (2)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


29 of 30 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Lots of nice sketches with great background write up
Customer Video Review     Length:: 0:21 Mins
The description from the book jacket is rather accurate and I'll quote it here:

-- Start quote --
In The Lord of the Rings Sketchbook Alan Lee reveals in pictures and in words how he created the beautiful watercolour paintings for the special centenary edition of The Lord of the Rings. These images would prove so powerful and evocative...
Published on 13 Feb 2009 by Parka

versus
3.0 out of 5 stars purchased as new but cover ripped and tatty
Book is lovely but cover was ripped and tatty not helpful as purchased as a gift for Christmas. Busy enough without all the extra time needed to sort this out.
Published 9 months ago by Karen W


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

29 of 30 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Lots of nice sketches with great background write up, 13 Feb 2009
By 
Parka (Singapore) - See all my reviews
(HALL OF FAME REVIEWER)    (TOP 50 REVIEWER)   
Length:: 0:21 Mins

The description from the book jacket is rather accurate and I'll quote it here:

-- Start quote --
In The Lord of the Rings Sketchbook Alan Lee reveals in pictures and in words how he created the beautiful watercolour paintings for the special centenary edition of The Lord of the Rings. These images would prove so powerful and evocative that they would eventually define the look of Peter Jackson's movie trilogy and would earn him a coveted Academy Award.

The book is filled with over 150 of his sketches and early conceptual pieces to show how the project progressed from idea to finished art. It also contains a selection of colour paintings reproduced in full-page glory, together with numerous examples of previously unseen conceptual art produced for the films and many new works drawn specially for this book.

The Lord of the Rings Sketchbook provides a fascinating insight into the imagination of the ma who painted Tolkien's vision, firstly onto the page and then in three dimensions on the cinema screen. It will also be of interest to many of the 100,000 people who have bought the illustrated The Lord of the Rings as well as for budding artists interested in unlocking the secrets of book illustration.
-- end quote --

Full coloured paintings are few actually. But this book has an amazing collection of pencil sketches. The chapters are sorted by places that appear in the book, in chronological order.

With the author's comments, it makes this book sort of a "Making of" book together with it being an "Art of" book. So that's really a plus.

It should interest concept and fantasy artists. Oh, and also Lord of the Rings fans.

There are more pictures on my blog. Just visit my Amazon profile for the link.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


26 of 29 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A very good book, if not slightly small in size., 27 Oct 2005
By 
Paul Macdonald "mac20584" (North Wales) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
Alan Lee, along with John Howe and Ted Nasmith is a very talented artist and depicts Middle-Earth brilliantly and with ease. This book is littered with astoundingly masterful sketches and a few incredible watercolours taken from the edition of the Lord of the Rings which he illistrated about fourteen years ago. The book deals with how he illistrated the book and, with the help of Howe and other talented artists, designed the Lord of the Rings films. The sketches are massively inspirational, and demonstrate just how good an artist he is. They are sensitive and detailed, some are highly refined some are very sketchy but all are beatiful. His detailed drawings of the realms and peoples and of course creatures of Middle-Earth are great to look at.
Alan Lee also writes an interesting text to accompany his excellent artwork, which is informative and insightful.
The only thing I would say is that it would have been nice if he would have focused more on telling the reader about illistrating the book, rather his work on the film. I say this because we can find out about that on the extended edition DVD's and in neumorous other books (such as Gary Russles equally brilliant 'Art of lord of the rings books')
Also the format of the book is rather on the small size and it should have been bigger.
However, this is an unmissable book by a extreamly talented artist whom without not only would we be without a fully illistrated Lord of the Rings, but also the films wouldnt be so visually impressive.
P.S sorry for any spelling mistakes.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


30 of 34 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Wonderfull, 6 Nov 2005
By 
Antonio Cunha Silva (Stb, Portugal) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: The Lord of the Rings Sketchbook: Portfolio (Hardcover)
Alan Lee is a wonderful man and a pencil genius.
What Alan achieved with his drawings is what Peter Jackson achieved with his movies.
I was extremely pleased with this book - although a little smaller than I thought but beautiful - the drawings are very well printed on the paper. The typesetting are gorgeous.
Marvellous forward by Sir Ian McKellen.
The intro pages with his drawing of Middle-earth are very beautiful. WONDERFUL WORK! If you are a Tolkien/Lee/Jackson fan or like very good drawings, I mean Very Good Drawings and Illustrations, please do not hesitate - This book is for you. Enjoy it as much as I do.
I really wish I could meet Alan one day...
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A superb glimpse at Lee's work, 29 Dec 2009
By 
Thomas Pots "T Pots" (England) - See all my reviews
(VINE VOICE)    (TOP 100 REVIEWER)   
This review is from: The Lord of the Rings Sketchbook: Portfolio (Hardcover)
The first thing to know about this book is that it is about Lee's artwork, not Lee himself. It contains very little text, other than that necessary to place the artworks in context. Nor does Lee explain how he works, or what tools he uses. That is not the purpose of this book - it is quite literally a SKETCH book, and a very nice one too!

For admirers of Lee's work, this book is wonderful. We get page after page of his beautiful, meticulous and delicate sketches, each one seeming to emerge from the page, as he experiments with shapes and forms, and settles more firmly on those that he likes most. Although there is little text, he writes modestly about his work, even claiming that he finds horse difficult to draw - his horses look delightfully drawn to me.

As a keen amateur artist, I found this book well worth leafing through. His very delicate style is not mine at all - I find his work a little bit ghostly and ethereal on the page for me, but the quality of his work is beyond reproach. He is an outstanding artist at whose work one cannot help but be awed. Why he has not been awarded an OBE, MBE or something for representing Britain in art is beyond me.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


13 of 15 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars The Capturer of Light and Colour Alan Lea, 18 Feb 2006
This review is from: The Lord of the Rings Sketchbook: Portfolio (Hardcover)
This is an absolutely fantastic book with stunning scetches that will take you're breath away to paintings with beautiful elaborate figures and scenes. Alan Lea has the amazing ability to capture to light and colour. This is a book to treasure in your heart for the rest of your life it is wonderful whether you're a fan or not and is ideal for any age! This book is a jewel to anyone who's dream is to be an artist or illustrator or even to someone who just loves studying perfect art. The book is presented wonderfully with a protective and orgional hard cover. Anyone who buys this book won't regret buying it, I know I certainly won't. This book is perfect for a coffee table, bedside table, desk or practically anywhere. This book is irreplaceable. You just won't be able to put this masterpiece down.
This book has captured my heart and the rest of my family and has the potenial to capture yours to. For a book so wonderful the price is so little!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Lord of the Rings Art Sketchbook, 6 April 2009
By 
Funsize (Cleveland, UK) - See all my reviews
This review is from: The Lord of the Rings Sketchbook: Portfolio (Hardcover)
This is quite simply a superb book compiling Alan Lee's art work for the Lord of the Rings trilogy. It is hard to image (now)how the three films by Peter Jackson would have looked without the input of Lee (and John Howe). The notes that accompany Lee's drawings add even further depth to his work and a greater appreciation of the process of development - and dedication - to the films as they took shape over a number years. A truly worthwhile purchase which added to my admiration for the skills of creativity and imagination employed by so many people and especially Alan Lee's wonderful sketch & brush work. Enjoy.

Funsize.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Lovely sketchbook from a brilliant artist, 7 Aug 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Lord of the Rings Sketchbook: Portfolio (Hardcover)
Love it. Love it. Alan Lee's drawings and paintings are so lovely, and it's really great to read about how he thought about the different details. To read about the process and how the characters developed from what Tolkien wrote, how he used inspiration and how he eventually got the the final drawing/painting. It's really nice for all of us who like Alan Lee's art, Tolkien's stories or just a good sketchbook in general. It has sketches, his inspiration and the final product. Lovely
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars STUNNING BOOK, 8 Jun 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Lord of the Rings Sketchbook: Portfolio (Hardcover)
It is such a beautifully written book, and will be the shrine for any LOTR fan :-) it came very quickly, a nice surprise, and I just wish there were more books out there like this one!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars spectacular, 5 Jun 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Lord of the Rings Sketchbook: Portfolio (Hardcover)
Spectacular! Best gift I ever bought, a book that I reccomend to every LOTR fan, a peek into the mind of a brilliant artist on a beautiful story
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Thrilled!, 2 Jun 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Lord of the Rings Sketchbook: Portfolio (Hardcover)
Got this for a present for my bf who is a huge fan of Lord of the rings. He loved this gift and goes great as a collection item.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

The Lord of the Rings Sketchbook: Portfolio
The Lord of the Rings Sketchbook: Portfolio by Alan Lee (Hardcover - 5 Sep 2005)
£13.60
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews