Customer Reviews


40 Reviews
5 star:
 (26)
4 star:
 (11)
3 star:
 (1)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:
 (2)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


42 of 43 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars An Unknown Classic
This stuff goes under the listing of "things most people don't know Tolkien wrote," along with things like "On Fairy Stories," "Bilbo's Last Song" and the charming bedtime story "Roverandum." It's a good collection of Tolkien's lesser-known material, including some cute short stories and poems.
In this slim volume is: "The Adventures of Tom Bombadil," a collection of...
Published on 24 Jan 2004 by N. M. D. Lancaster

versus
1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars good, not great
I'm a big fan of tolkien, but I wasn't sure about these stories. They were alright, but for short stories, they took a long time to get anywhere. I think this is more to do with personal taste than the quality of the writing, because I love lots of description in books and novels, but not in short stories, I prefer them to be a bit more blunt and to the point. Worth a...
Published on 4 April 2010 by Larewen Evenstar


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 4 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

42 of 43 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars An Unknown Classic, 24 Jan 2004
By 
This stuff goes under the listing of "things most people don't know Tolkien wrote," along with things like "On Fairy Stories," "Bilbo's Last Song" and the charming bedtime story "Roverandum." It's a good collection of Tolkien's lesser-known material, including some cute short stories and poems.
In this slim volume is: "The Adventures of Tom Bombadil," a collection of poems. Some focus on the weird and wonderful Tom himself, and some are poems that are (or might be) in Middle-Earth, like the creepy "Mewlips," the sweet "Princess Mee," and melancholy "Last Ship." There is "Leaf By Niggle," the tale of a painter straining to live up to his hopes. "Farmer Giles of Ham" is a delightful mock-hero tale about a farmer and a not-so-frightening dragon, while "Smith of Wootton Major" is a deeper, more subtle story about fantasy in a person's life.
As always, Tolkien's writing is entertaining and well-plotted if it's a story, just fantastic if it's a poem. (Although some of the poems have plots too). If you're expecting the depth or grimness of "Lord of the Rings," then you'll disappointed; these are more like "The Hobbit" or "Roverandum" in tone, although there are hints of "Rings" in some of the short stories like "Leaf" or "Farmer Giles."
Why four stars? Well, the cover is a bit odd-looking, a bit smudgy for my taste. And the paper felt a bit odd, as if it could have been better. And buyers should be forewarned: If you have purchased the "Tolkien Reader," then know that this book has some of the same stuff compiled in it. Specifically, "Father Giles" and "Adventures."
This is a good compilation of several of Tolkien's lesser, non-"Lord of the Rings" works, and fans shdould check them out. In fact, so should non-fans.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


12 of 12 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Simply beautiful..., 28 Oct 2009
By 
pacem et amorem (Northern Ireland) - See all my reviews
(VINE VOICE)    (TOP 1000 REVIEWER)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This is a simply beautiful book, a wonderful collection of faery stories complemented by Alan Lee's sublime illustrations. In this collection of 'Tales from the Perilous Realm' you are treated to no less than five stories from the wonderful imagination of JRR Tolkien: Roverandom, Farmer Giles of Ham, Leaf by Niggle, The Adventures of Tom Bombadil and Smith of Wootton Major. All have something to say - whether it is about life in general, human nature, society or just plain wonderment...

I can heartily recommend to fans of Tolkien, of magic and of 'faery', of Alan Lee or to those wishing to explore Tolkien but who are not yet ready to tackle the mammoth mountain of literature that is The Lord Of The Rings! This collection is fun, at times frivilous and can be read fast. Perfect for relaxation when you don't want to be too taxed!

Try it...you may find you'll fall for it!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


35 of 37 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars I have not read this version, but I have all the stories in other anthologies., 30 Mar 2007
By 
"Leaf by Niggle" is the closest JRRT ever came to true allegory, and is something of a spiritual autobiography. The tree that Niggle tries to paint but keeps being distracted by details represents his Middle Earth Legendarium, particularly the Silmarillion; Mr. Parish represents his 'secular' responsibilities as a professor, husband, father, citizen, etc. The Journey is, of course Death. The Workhouse is Purgatory. The valley with the tree is the Earthly Paradise, and the land beyond the mountains is Heaven.

"Farmer Giles of Ham" on the surface seems to be a pleasant Midaeval adventure tale, but there are subversive elements to it. In this sort of story one expects the Brave Knight to be the hero; however, in dealing with the dragon the King and his Knights are worse than useless, and the person who is able to take care of the matter is a fat, redheaded farmer who doesn't like tresspassers.

"Smith of Wooton Major" is also semiallegorical, with smithcraft standing in for JRRT's professional obligations as a professor at Oxford (in which his son Christopher followed his father's footsteps, as Smith's son became a blacksmith, too.) Some of the images are odd and disturbing, but beautiful, too.

The miscellaneous poems are great fun. Some, of course, refer to his private mythology; many had appeared in different forms in various magazines and private printings over the years before they were assembled in this anthology. "Princess Mee" is a retelling of the Narcissus story; "The Shadow Bride" is evocative of several old myths, including Persephone, but doesn't quite fit with any of them. "The Hoard", although using tropes from Norse and Celtic mythology is, essentially, an antimaterialist statement--the gold, silver and precious gems that are taken from the earth cause nothing but misery, corrupting everyone who comes to own them; peace comes only when they are returned to the earth in the old King's tomb. "The Sea Bell" and "The Last Ship" are to be read together. Both the speaker in the first poem and Firiel in the second have a vision of another world that stands over against our own--a world of enchantment and beauty in contrast to our mundane existance; the speaker in "The Sea Bell" tries to snach and cling to that other world, and so looses the good of both that world and this, while for Firiel it is enough for her to know that it exists. (Neurotics build castles in the air, as the old saying goes, while psychotics try to live in them.)

The two poems about the Man in the Moon are expansions of two nursery rhymes, allegedly the original forms thereof, and great literary fun. Of the two poems about the trolls, one is from LOTR and the other fits well into it as it refers to places in the Shire. Of the two animal poems, "Oliphaunt" and "The Cat", both are great fun, and the latter is one of the best cat poems I know (more about that below.) "The Mewlips" is a creepy-fun piece, good for a Hallowe'en recitation.

"The Cat", although it seems like a simple little animal poem, is a lot more. The Roman poet Horace said that a poem "begins in delight and ends in wisdom", and this is a perfect example. "The fat cat on the mat. . " contains about the first rhymes a child learns to make, but the poem ends--after a description of various large felines (lions, leopards) ends: "Far now they be/and fierce and free/and tamed is he;/but fat cat/on the mat/kept as a pet/he does not forget." When you put aside considerations of size, long hair or short, striped spotted or solid, a cat is a cat is a cat; the most pampered housecat is a miniature leopard, and the fiercest tiger is a great big kitty.

"Farmer Giles", "The Hobbit" and to a great extent "The Lord of the Rings" are all the stories of small, ordinary people who are placed in extraordinary situations, where they find that they are a lot braver and cleverer than anyone (including themselves) thought they were capable of being. This refers back, I think, to JRRT's WW I experience; he was an officer in a Birmingham-area militia; the men in his company were farmhands, factory workers, shop assistants, schoolteachers, bank clerks, college students--very ordinary young men, thrown into an extraordinary situation; they found themselves doing all sorts of things that they never expected to do--some of them wonderful, many of them horrible, but all of them outside of their normal sense of what should be. The three stories above are all like that. "The Cat" comes into it thus: your ordinary Englishman who might be teaching school or working in a bank or keeping a shop probably has among his ancestors Norman crusader knights, Viking longboatmen, Celtic and Saxon warriors, and perhaps even Roman legionnaires, and the spirit of those ancestors, although deeply buried, under the proper circumstances can come out.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


44 of 47 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Delightful and compelling - A Tiny Gem of Brilliance, 9 Aug 2000
By A Customer
This review is from: Tales from the Perilous Realm: "Farmer Giles of Ham", "Leaf by Niggle", "Adventures of Tom Bombadil" and "Smith of Wootton Major" (Paperback)
The four stories in the book are all different, but all classic Tolkien. Farmer Giles of Ham tells of the rise of an unassuming Farmer to become King through perilous bravery and valour. Filled with humour. The Adventures of Tom Bombadil are an excerpt from Book one of LotR. Leaf by Niggle is an enchanting tale, which leaves you wondering about many things. By far the shortest and best of the set. Simply Amazing. Smith of Wooton Major ultmiately is a story about respect, but is told by Tolkien in a most moving way. GO and buy it. Then tell all your friends.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


21 of 23 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Tales From the Perilous Realm, 6 Feb 2005
By 
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Tales from the Perilous Realm: "Farmer Giles of Ham", "Leaf by Niggle", "Adventures of Tom Bombadil" and "Smith of Wootton Major" (Paperback)
I don't understand why the Tales has been called a collection of children's stories (as in alexcapel's review). As an adult - middle aged - and a voracious reader of anything to do with fantasy, these short stories had a sense of depth and perspective that I seldom find in children's books.
I have to say that my favorites were "Leaf by Niggle" and "Smith of Wotton Major". I was profoundly affected by both of them. Tolkien manages to insert moral points without seeming to preach from a pulpit.
"Farmer Giles of Ham" had an interesting twist to it. Here again Tolkien treads the fine line of morals superbly. I have to say that the poems on Tom Bombadil were disappointing. I was expecting something that went further back into history. Something that told me where he was from and what he was. But, then, that is how stories are. Authors often take me where I have not expected to go, and thank God for that.
A superb read.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


10 of 11 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars More class from the genius, 15 Mar 2007
If some people (and i understand this truthfully) find the likes of The Silmarillion and to an extent Unfinished Tales a bit hard to digest, then Tales from the Perilous Realm is a great alternative.

A selection of four short stories based in and around a land called Faerie that are inclusive of old faithfuls (the Hobbits) and a rather mean old dragon or wyrm, a strange painting that...I've said enough i dont want to wreck the plots.

Though considered short stories these four works of literary art are surprisingly in-depth. Of course they are by no means as in-depth as the likes of LOTR, The Hobbit, The Silmarillion and Unfinished tales but what a delightful addition to your library.

I read with horror that somebody referred to these as 'childrens stories' to which i feel a little aggrieved. Sure these stories are ideal for younger readers, what with the easily digestible plots. There is nowhere near as much 'Elvish language' to confuse people. However that is not to say that these stories cant be enjoyed by older readers...I am 20 yrs old and will undoubtedly re-read with the same pleasure and stimulated imagination when i reach 60 as i have at this age. If you find yourself enjoying this little selection then i recommend Roverandom.

For the price and the quality that it brings Tales from The Perilous realm shoud be great addition to anybodies bookshelf.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


9 of 10 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars The "Missing Episode" of "The Lord of the Rings", 27 Nov 2001
By A Customer
Alas, whenever Tolkien's "The Lord of the Rings" is dramatized or abridged, the first part cut is the hobbits' encounter with Tom Bombadil. Bombadil, as every Tolkien fanatic knows, is a fascinating and mysterious figure who fits nowhere into Tolkien's mythology. These tapes contain the "missing episode" about Old Man Willow, Tom and Goldberry, and the barrow wight that was cut from Brian Sibley's BBC production of "The Lord of the Rings." The cast are the same as in the rest of the production, and the tapes are worth the price for this episode alone.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Tales from the Perilous Realm, 7 July 2012
By 
Jonny (Ledbury, England) - See all my reviews
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
I bought the product after I had read Lord of the Rings because I was intrigued by this Tom Bombadil fellow. I saw this book contained more stories about him so I bought it hoping to learn more about Old Man Willow and other mysteries surrounding Tom and the Withywindle.

Unfortunately, the section named 'The Adventures of Tom Bombadil' is largely nothing about him! The story has 16 chapters and it is written as a poem. Two chapters are about Tom himself but the other are about random things such as a fat cat on a mat!? So on this front I am disappointed.

However, I found the other stories fantastic! That is why I gave 4 stars, the majority of the book is great. Farmer Giles is very 'unputdownable' and the action begins right from then start. So even though I did not get what I was looking for! I got something much, much more. I would still be delighted if some could tell me where I can learn more about Tom Bombadil!!!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Wonderful but..., 10 Aug 2011
By 
R. N. Stell - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
When I got my Kindle there were certain books that I just had to buy - starting with Tolkien, and I was particularly thrilled to find six of his shorter works together in this collection.

This is a wonderful opportunity for Tolkien fans to discover some stories outside or peripheral to the great saga of Middle-Earth and contains (amongst other gems)the delightful story of Farmer Giles of Ham. Taken by many readers to be no more than a children's story, it was actually written by Tolkien as an entertainment - full of literary jokes aimed at friends and colleagues - and was illustrated by the late Pauline Baynes. The story was told that Tolkien noticed some of her drawings when visiting his publisher and insisted that she should be asked to provide the illustrations for 'Farmer Giles', when the book was published he commented that Pauline Baynes's were so delightful that they "reduced my text to a commentary on her drawings" and from that day on she was his preferred illustrator.

How very disappointing therefore, that these wonderful drawings have been omitted from this collection. As a result much of the pleasure (and in the case of 'Farmer Giles', much of the humour) has been lost, and the poems of 'The Adventures of Tom Bombadil' have lost so much that they are a shadow of their original selves. The greatest beauty of Pauline Baynes's work was the elegance of her line, although she used colour wonderfully it isn't essential to see her illustrations in colour in order to enjoy them - the majority of the illustrations in these books are monochrome - and they could therefore have been reproduced in Kindle format. I for one would cheerfully have paid twice the price to have been able to enjoy these stories with their original illustrations.

Come on Amazon - no more cutting corners!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


39 of 47 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Almost as good as the hobbit!, 15 Jan 2002
By A Customer
This review is from: Tales from the Perilous Realm: "Farmer Giles of Ham", "Leaf by Niggle", "Adventures of Tom Bombadil" and "Smith of Wootton Major" (Paperback)
I have read lots of Tolkiens work and it is all brill!
This book has four stories in it, Farmer Giles of ham is the tale of a farmer who has to go and fight the evil dragon Chrysophylax.
Tom Bombadil is a collection of poems from Tolkiens books.
Leaf by Niggle is the tale of a painter who sets out to find the perfect tree and smith of wooten Major is about a man who finds himself entering the worlds of Faerie.
If you liked the hobbit, then this is the perfect book for you!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 4 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Only search this product's reviews