Customer Reviews


47 Reviews
5 star:
 (31)
4 star:
 (12)
3 star:
 (2)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:
 (2)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


44 of 45 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars An Unknown Classic
This stuff goes under the listing of "things most people don't know Tolkien wrote," along with things like "On Fairy Stories," "Bilbo's Last Song" and the charming bedtime story "Roverandum." It's a good collection of Tolkien's lesser-known material, including some cute short stories and poems.
In this slim volume is: "The Adventures of Tom Bombadil," a collection of...
Published on 24 Jan. 2004 by N. M. D. Lancaster

versus
1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars good, not great
I'm a big fan of tolkien, but I wasn't sure about these stories. They were alright, but for short stories, they took a long time to get anywhere. I think this is more to do with personal taste than the quality of the writing, because I love lots of description in books and novels, but not in short stories, I prefer them to be a bit more blunt and to the point. Worth a...
Published on 4 April 2010 by Larewen Evenstar


Most Helpful First | Newest First

5.0 out of 5 stars Lesser known Tolkien book., 26 Oct. 2013
By 
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
OK, Tolkien fans will all know this, but for the general public this is not so well known. My 14 year old son has enjoyed reading it!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Another demonstration on Tolkiens great imagination, 1 Feb. 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
I enjoy all the Tolkien books. I wanted this one for a bit mor insight into Tom Bombadil & loved the other short story's as well.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars good read, 3 April 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
I like reading Tolkien and found thid just as readable as his other stories There is only one author like him
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars the perilous realm, 2 Oct. 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
brought this for the younger members of the family the one who listened to it so far have enjoyed it
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Love it, 13 Sept. 2014
By 
G. Greatorex "Razzo" (UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
I am a huge Tolkien nerd and so had to buy this book. Recommend to any fans that do not have it yet
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Tales from the Perilous Realm, 9 April 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
Bought this book as a present for my son in laws birthday, he loved it, and the price was right too
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars excellent to be sure, 5 Aug. 2008
By 
bairdie "commonly know online as marduk" (manchester, england, great britain) - See all my reviews
this book, a collection of poems and short stories i came across simply in the attempt to gather as much tolkein as i could to myself, has quickly and completely replaced the LOTR and the silmarilion in my esteem, and is certainly the equal of the hobbit. the first story is perhaps the most light hearted, and an excellent example of tolkeins indoubtable powers as an author; it is, however excellent in its own right, a story that pales in comparison to what follows. the adventures of tom bombadil, leaf by niggle and smith of wooton major are truly beautiful, haunting pieces; each time i have read them in the short time ive owned the book they have genuinly moved me, they are disquieting, honestly strange, haunting and so utterly amazing that they are simply beyond comparison. these stories have genuinly changed me, though i cannot quite understand how.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Four Stars, 14 Oct. 2014
By 
Mr. T. Drakett (UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
Great stories for those who've enjoyed Lord Of The Rings etc
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Five Stars, 6 Jan. 2015
By 
Jeremy B. Wilgus (Huntingdon, UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
Excellent book, a fantastic addition to the Tokien corpus.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Five Stars, 13 Jan. 2015
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
Lovely book ideal for fans of JRR Tolkien
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Only search this product's reviews