Customer Reviews


1,988 Reviews
5 star:
 (1,564)
4 star:
 (279)
3 star:
 (87)
2 star:
 (29)
1 star:
 (29)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


21 of 21 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars The Hobbit: JRR Tolkien - The greatest children's book ever.
JRR Tolkien's `The Hobbit' is, of course, one of the greatest children's books to have been written in the twentieth century. Based on the stories he told to his children and originally published in 1937, it is an almost perfect blend of fantasy, magic and adventure. It follows the adventures of one Bilbo Baggins, as he sets off with thirteen dwarves and a wizard to...
Published 23 months ago by Victor

versus
10 of 10 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars Cashing in
WHY? It was only ever a small book does it need to be split in to two parts, this smacks of blatant commercialism gone mad.
Published 17 months ago by pedro


‹ Previous | 1179 180 181199 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

0 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Refreshingly Good, 25 May 2001
By A Customer
This review is from: The Hobbit (Mass Market Paperback)
I have been trying to read this book for years, but I just could not get into it. I have, however, finally managed to get through it. As soon as you stop laughing at poor Bilbo Baggins, who was not blessed with kind parents, obviously, it becomes immediately obvious that it's a really good book. Some people say it's too childish, but I find the 'fairy tale' style very refreshing. As soon as you can get past the unusual ideas about dwarves coming to tea, and the ridiculous Gollum, it gets quite good, especially the goblin armies, and the Battle of Five Armies at the end. It reminds of the Narnia books, but much, much better. Read it.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars I like it, 9 Sep 2014
This review is from: The Hobbit (Audio CD)
Very good audiobook
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3.0 out of 5 stars Three Stars, 4 Sep 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Hobbit (Kindle Edition)
Silly little story!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


0 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A great introduction to Tolkien's fantasy world, 29 Jan 2000
By A Customer
This review is from: The Hobbit (Paperback)
"The Hobbit", although originally written for children, is the first book one should read when embarking on Tolkien's brilliantly original fantasy world of Middle Earth. It lays the foundation for it bigger siblings in the "Lord of the Rings" trilogy, and despite not going into as much detail about Middle Earth as the "Lord of the Rings", it really whets the appetite for more. Nevertheless, the adventures of Bilbo Baggins are exciting and absorbing per se, and this book can just as easily be read on it's own. An entertaining, funny and cleverly written book!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 6 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Cute, 20 April 2007
By 
sam hrt (Lancs, England, Uk) - See all my reviews
This review is from: The Hobbit (Paperback)
Everyone labels this book as 'classic' etc. (I'm not pinpointing at anyone I'm being general) but what comes to mind for me is that this one cute novel. Cute in the sense that it has a good storyline, and lots of childish humour. Don't get me wrong though it is extremely strong from a literary point of view. The perfect/clever prequel to Lord of the Rings as in this way as it increases the impact of the trilogy (in terms of seriousness and and the journey). The bonus point was that hobbits love food (like ME finally a hero without six pacs), the militant dwraves are hilarious but can be bullies I truly felt sorry for Bilbo; the trolls just stink around. The drunken elves, well! What would Elrond say?!!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 4 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Adventure story. (a good buy), 15 Mar 2001
By A Customer
This review is from: The Hobbit: 70th Anniversary Edition (Hardcover)
The Hobbit is an adventure story. It probably is one of the best adventure stories of our time.I enjoyed it and I recommend it to true adventure story lovers.I would give the book a whopping 10 out of 10.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


0 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Fascinating tale of adventure and wizadry, 16 Nov 2000
By 
This review is from: The Hobbit (Mass Market Paperback)
I am one of theose few people to have somehow bypassed the bookshelf with The Hobbit on when I was a youngster and instead have the unmeasureable pleasure of reading it now, at the tender age of 24. Although an easy read it was a pleasure a to indulge in the life of Mr. Bilbo Baggins, his adventures in lands rough and cruel with the endearing likes of dwarves and Gandolf (a wizard of note) in their plight to retrieve the treasures of old from the mighty dragon. Tolkein takes us on a journey full of intrigue and imagination - a must read for all, regardless of age.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Five Stars, 8 Aug 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Hobbit (Hardcover)
Excellent quality!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 4 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars One of the best books ever written, 12 Dec 1999
By A Customer
This review is from: The Hobbit: 70th Anniversary Edition (Hardcover)
The Hobbit is a great book in it's self but also a gateway into the Lord of the Rings trilogy. I could not put it down and have worn out three copies. A must read for anyone!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


0 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars If you wont read it for yourself, read it to your children!, 21 April 2000
By A Customer
This review is from: The Hobbit (Mass Market Paperback)
Pure class. I read it first as a comprehensive school pupil. Now, the second time around, to my children. Imagination is a wonderful gift. Tolkien is surely the master of this art. The Hobbit is a gripping read, likely to keep you hooked to the last page. Goblins, Elves, Wizards, Dragons..... This tale is confirmation that the written word is stronger and more compelling than any optical illusion provided by the square box, i.e. TV. The Lord of the Rings is the next volume I will "treat" my children to.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1179 180 181199 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

The Hobbit: 70th Anniversary Edition
The Hobbit: 70th Anniversary Edition by J. R. R. Tolkien (Hardcover - 17 Sep 2007)
13.60
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews