Customer Reviews


39 Reviews
5 star:
 (30)
4 star:
 (6)
3 star:    (0)
2 star:
 (1)
1 star:
 (2)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


20 of 22 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Graphic Hobbit
Excellent reworking of the original book. Fantastic illustration and panelling. The accompanying speech panels throughout remain true to the original text and nice to see a new take on Tolkien's existing work.
Published on 5 Jun 2003 by Paul Oke

versus
0 of 1 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars the book is different from the one i have bought
i have bought The Hobbit Graphic Novel illustrated by david wenzel, a sort of comic book, but i have received another book, The Hobbit illustrated by Alan Lee and this is a book with some picture, but not the comic book that i want to read.
Published 6 months ago by mario gallione


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 4 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

20 of 22 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Graphic Hobbit, 5 Jun 2003
By 
Paul Oke (London, Greater London United Kingdom) - See all my reviews
This review is from: The Hobbit: Graphic Novel (Paperback)
Excellent reworking of the original book. Fantastic illustration and panelling. The accompanying speech panels throughout remain true to the original text and nice to see a new take on Tolkien's existing work.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


23 of 26 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A great intro to Tolkien, 11 Mar 2010
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Hobbit: Graphic Novel (Paperback)
I bought this for my 7 yr old grandson, who had expressed interest in The Lord of the Rings. Initially I bought him the ordinary illustrated paperback, but he was a bit daunted by it.

My daughter in law informed me that the morning it arrived, he started reading before breakfast, was dragged away from it to go to school, and finished it on return.

My hope is that he now progresses to the other version I bought him - but at least he has an idea of Tolkien, and was gripped by the story.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


25 of 30 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Fabulous Graphic Novel, 11 Jun 2004
By 
Jordan Lee - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: The Hobbit: Graphic Novel (Paperback)
This book is one of the best illustrated and best written graphic novels I have read. It is a fabulous read, hard to put down once you start reading.
It is a great re-write of the original Hobbit book. Brilliant!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


9 of 11 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Excellent, 2 Sep 2004
By 
Kurt A. Johnson (Marseilles, IL USA) - See all my reviews
In an earlier time, and in a different place, there was once a time of magic--a time of wizards and dragons and elves and dwarves. And, in an unnoticed corner of the world there lived a race of hobbits: a small people with furry feet, and too much common sense to go on adventures. But, when a particularly stable hobbit named Bilbo Baggins is visited by the great wizard Gandalf, he soon finds himself in the middle of an adventure with 13 dwarves, facing ogres and orcs and all sorts of dangers. Is the adventuring life too much for one small hobbit in the great big world? Read this book and find out!
OK, do you have a young reader whom you would like to introduce to The Hobbit? Well, this graphic novel is just the thing! David Wenzel does an excellent job of illustrating the novel, painting the character just like you would expect them to look (unlike some earlier illustrators). Now, the story is abridged, but on the whole, an excellent job was done of turning that book into a graphic novel.
Overall I think that this is an excellent graphic novel, and an excellent adaptation of The Hobbit. My ten-year-old son and I highly recommend it to you!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


32 of 39 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A great way of making someone a Tolkien fan, 29 Feb 2004
This review is from: The Hobbit: Graphic Novel (Paperback)
I bought this book for my younger brother, aged 11, to introduce him to the earlier work of Tolkien. On first impressions he thought the book was oversized but was won over by the excellent artistic imagination of the illustrator. It brought the whole novel to life. He managed to pick it up and read through it at such pace, which proved his enjoyment in reading it all. The book is an abridged version but from what I know, it seems to have stayed true to the original novel. Now he's finished, I think it's my turn to enjoy The Hobbit all over again......
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


10 of 12 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars An Absolute Gem of a Book., 10 Oct 2012
By 
Glenn Cook (South Cave, near Hull UK) - See all my reviews
(HALL OF FAME REVIEWER)    (TOP 10 REVIEWER)    (VINE VOICE)    (REAL NAME)   
This review is from: The Hobbit: Graphic Novel (Paperback)
This is a fabulous adaptation of the wonderful tale the Hobbit.

I am actually in the minority of people that prefer the Hobbit to follow up The Lord of The Rings.

Simply put The Hobbit is a children's story but it is a much more rounder and and a much more satisfying, simpler story with none of the 'story within stories' of the LOTR and of course none of the dull bits of the Rings.
I know this will alienate a lot of LOTRs fans but that's my view.

This is an excellent abridged version of the story and the illustrations are first class.
It can be re read and enjoyed by any fan of the written Hobbit.

First and foremost Bilbo looks like a hobbit.
If you read Tolkein's description he really is spot on.
And as with the depiction of Hobbits, so the Dwarfs, Trolls and the like are true to Tolkein's descrription from the book the Hobbit and not the Film version of Lord of the Rings,
To this reviewer's eyes they are excellent.
I also suspect that if the trolls, orcs and their like were depicted as from the film this would scare lots of children who can read and enjoy this wonderful tale.
Nothing important is left from the tale and it moves along a a cracking pace.

Jewel bright drawings are accompanied by excellent foonotes that read like a good narrator to convey the meaning and nuances really well.
It can re read and loved by any child or adult.

The reading age is around an 11 year old so can be readily enjoyed from the reading angle by a bright 8 year old. Of course it may be enjoyed by any child that loves graphic or comic novels.
There is nothing here that will cause nightmares. So if you are a concerned parent you can rest assured.
(but maybe a quick flick through just to make doubly sure perhaps?)

All in all?

A really wonderful adaptation of the Hobbit.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars a christmas present, 3 Jan 2014
By 
J. E. Boldra - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Hobbit: Graphic Novel (Paperback)
this was a Christmas present for our grand son he is enjoying reading it and because it is like a cartoon it is easer to read.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


9 of 11 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Lovely Introduction to a great Story, 15 Jan 2010
By 
S.Prog (UK Midlands) - See all my reviews
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Hobbit: Graphic Novel (Paperback)
I bought this to share with my 6 year old daughter. I am a great fan of Tolkien and have read everything in the middle earth sagas a great many times. The graphic novel captured all the essential elements of the story and illustrated the scenes beautifully with just enough menace in the illustrations to give a good sense of tension without terrifying 'little folk'. The book size is great for spreading over your lap and sharing. I have now read through the entire book myself and really enjoyed it, Im part way through with the children and enjoying that experience even more! It is a great introduction to the Hobbits,Dwarves and Elven folk of middle earth.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Pleased with this purchase, 15 Jun 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Hobbit: Graphic Novel (Paperback)
I bought this for my grandson as he watched the first Hobbit film with me and loved it. I wanted to get a children's version of the book (yes, I know it's a children's story anyway, but I wanted something more modern with lots of pictures as he is only 7) and went for this. While it is too advanced for him in some ways, it has been well received. His dad is also a Hobbit/LOTR fan and has enjoyed reading this with him and they have both enjoyed the illustrations.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars interesting product, 7 April 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Hobbit: Graphic Novel (Paperback)
I love graphic novel, the picture inserted are very vivid and wonderful! It is good for beginners to read, always good!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 4 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

The Hobbit: Graphic Novel
The Hobbit: Graphic Novel by J. R. R. Tolkien (Paperback - 7 Aug 2006)
10.49
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews