Customer Reviews


5 Reviews
5 star:
 (3)
4 star:
 (1)
3 star:    (0)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:
 (1)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


31 of 32 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Versions of Sir Gawain
I had previously spent rather a lot of money on a splendid Folio Society edition of Sir Gawain and the Green Knight, in a translation by Simon Armitage. It is a very fine edition, a beautiful artifact, but the translation is a bit too folksy and demotic. Armitage is a man of his time, and his modern vernacular style jars with ancient poem. The Tolkien version, which I...
Published on 12 Jun 2010 by R. Helmer

versus
5 of 9 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars Tolkien isn't as good as they say he is
Having read the reviews for this translation I really expected something quite good, but was sadly disappointed. Tolkien's translations are stilted in the extreme and hardly do any justice to these truly great works of art. The pretentious pomposity of Tolkien's "poetry" mars the beauty and vitality of the original. There is no musicality or lyricism with...
Published 16 months ago by Paul T


Most Helpful First | Newest First

31 of 32 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Versions of Sir Gawain, 12 Jun 2010
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Sir Gawain and the Green Knight: with Pearl and Sir Orfeo (Paperback)
I had previously spent rather a lot of money on a splendid Folio Society edition of Sir Gawain and the Green Knight, in a translation by Simon Armitage. It is a very fine edition, a beautiful artifact, but the translation is a bit too folksy and demotic. Armitage is a man of his time, and his modern vernacular style jars with ancient poem. The Tolkien version, which I ordered on the recommendation of my friend and colleague Dan Hannan, and which I am reviewing, is as different as chalk from cheese. Physically, it's no more than an ordinary little paperback. But unlike Armitage, Tolkien is by no means a man of his time. He is a man of a very different time, and his glorious language suits the period and the ambience of the poem. It gives a real feeling, a real insight into the mediaeval text. Nothing jars, nothing feels out of place. Toklein's rendering is a triumph and a delight, and while I shall value the Folio edition as an object, I shall prefer the Tolkien as literature.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


10 of 11 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Sir Gawain and theThis is an acad Green Knight, 31 Aug 2009
This review is from: Sir Gawain and the Green Knight: with Pearl and Sir Orfeo (Paperback)
This is a well balanced and very readable account of three Romances, 'translated' from the Middle English. Although I would have liked to have had the original verses for comparison, that is not the purpose of the book and their absence does not detract from its nature or purpose. I found the glossary of particular interest, and the Appendix illustrating verse forms useful in emphasising the continued use of alliteration, a legacy perhaps from old English verse. Altogether a most satisfying read from the Tolkien stable, and excellent value.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


16 of 19 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Faithful Translations, 22 Nov 2004
This review is from: Sir Gawain and the Green Knight: with Pearl and Sir Orfeo (Paperback)
I must clarify that "A Reader" is incorrect in stating that King Orfeo's daughter is kidnapped, rather it was his wife. "Sir Orfeo" is based on the classical myth of Orpheus and Euridice, where the characters are renamed by the anonymous poet as Orfeo and Heurodis. This Breton Lay has a decidedly happier ending than the classic version. This lay is heavily Christianized, but the Celtic elements also present render it a complex and sophisticated poem, difficult to pin down in a single interpretation. "Sir Gawain and the Green Knight" is perhaps the best Middle English work, but "Sir Orfeo" is a close second. I am pleased with Tolkein's translation, which is faithful to the Auchinleck Manuscript (as far as I can tell, it doesn't say in my copy of the book which MS it is based on).
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5 of 9 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars Tolkien isn't as good as they say he is, 9 Aug 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Sir Gawain and the Green Knight: with Pearl and Sir Orfeo (Paperback)
Having read the reviews for this translation I really expected something quite good, but was sadly disappointed. Tolkien's translations are stilted in the extreme and hardly do any justice to these truly great works of art. The pretentious pomposity of Tolkien's "poetry" mars the beauty and vitality of the original. There is no musicality or lyricism with Tolkien's translation. All the atmosphere, momentum and vividness of the original are lost and consigned to oblivion. Take my advice and forego getting this book. Instead get hold of Brian Stone's translation of Sir Gawain or Donoghue's, or preferably both because they really are good ones. Stone keeps the alliteration and though this can sound a bit awkward at times you have to admire him for his fidelity and the fact that you really get a sense of the rhythms that dwell which he has tried to preserve. What's more the story in his hands moves along at a good pace because of his sense of structuring. He conveys a great deal of the atmosphere and the subtle overtones of the original. Donoghue in his translation aims more for the lyrical though this is far from glib. The essence and vividness of the original are skilfully understood and evoked. It's a pity these translators didn't translate the other stories too, so that all could be bound into one big book.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


0 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Five Stars, 9 July 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Sir Gawain and the Green Knight: with Pearl and Sir Orfeo (Paperback)
Book as described and delivered quickly.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Sir Gawain and the Green Knight: with Pearl and Sir Orfeo
Sir Gawain and the Green Knight: with Pearl and Sir Orfeo by J. R. R. Tolkien (Paperback - 3 April 2006)
£7.19
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews