Customer Reviews


1,318 Reviews
5 star:
 (1,087)
4 star:
 (101)
3 star:
 (58)
2 star:
 (37)
1 star:
 (35)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


9 of 9 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Amazing piece of craftsmanship
I bought this book recently, and I won't be reviewing the story here, which everyone knows is great...

When you look for the 50th anniversary edition of this by harper collins(not houghton mifflin from the US edition) on the internet you'll only find information about the deluxe edition of this.
Don't expect this book to come bound in leather, and in the...
Published on 3 Nov. 2009 by Pol Haegeman

versus
219 of 235 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars The Lord of the Rings: 50th Anniversary Deluxe Edition
We all know that the The Lord of the Rings is a work of genius, so this review covers this particular published version (The Lord of the Rings: 50th Anniversary Deluxe Edition). First off this book is expensive and in format it is only a little larger than the paperback version. Also apart from the three pages from the book of Mazurbul there are no illustrations. First...
Published on 23 April 2005 by J Meehan


‹ Previous | 188 89 90132 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

5.0 out of 5 stars Beautiful hard back books, 29 May 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
Plenty of Lord of the Rings copies out there but this is a true Collectors copy fit for keeping forever.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars excellent Books, 27 Oct. 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
Even after many readings The Lord of the rings brings new insights. As is The Hobbit. I will stat again.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Brilliant listening on the way to work, 25 Jun. 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This book isUnabridged so you don't miss a thing, it is well read, not so sure about the singing though!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Good book, 14 May 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
I think that this was a great book that I enjoyed and I look forward to reading the next book the hobbit
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars purely enjoyable to read, 28 Feb. 2015
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
I love the way that the writer manages to get you lost in an amazing journey of fiction and imagination
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Timeless classic., 27 Jan. 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
Like the the films but soo, soo, much more, and as it is in 7 books makes it a nice week to read it in.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars awsome, 23 May 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
awesome feisty vicious its like the best book in the world it is totally awesome you have got to get it
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Two towers, 24 Mar. 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
Good book but drags on a bit still a great second part of the story and looking forward to the next one
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Pure genius, 17 May 2000
By A Customer
I should really have six stars, not five.. It's the only book I have ever read twice - need I say more?
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


6 of 9 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Best Book Ever, 13 Sept. 2001
By A Customer
No amount of superlatives are enough to decscribe how much I love this book. I always have it on the go and if you are one of those fussy readers who are daunted by length then I implore you to try the magnificent BBC full cast dramatised version which is also a masterpiece. With the Peter Jackson directed films soon to be released many more people will be picking this wonderful book up which can only be a good thing.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 188 89 90132 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

The Lord of the Rings Box set (hardcover)
The Lord of the Rings Box set (hardcover) by J. R. R. Tolkien (Hardcover - 2 Nov. 1998)
Used & New from: £289.75
Add to wishlist See buying options
Only search this product's reviews