Customer Reviews


2,282 Reviews
5 star:
 (1,793)
4 star:
 (323)
3 star:
 (102)
2 star:
 (31)
1 star:
 (33)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


31 of 32 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars The Hobbit: JRR Tolkien - The greatest children's book ever.
JRR Tolkien's `The Hobbit' is, of course, one of the greatest children's books to have been written in the twentieth century. Based on the stories he told to his children and originally published in 1937, it is an almost perfect blend of fantasy, magic and adventure. It follows the adventures of one Bilbo Baggins, as he sets off with thirteen dwarves and a wizard to...
Published on 23 Oct. 2012 by Victor

versus
2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars The Audio Play: ok, but not the best treatment of The Hobbit
AMAZON TAKE NOTE: Because this version is so different from the book I think Amazon are wrong to lump all the reviews together and treat them as a single product. This will confuse buyers and create inaccurate ratings.

---

This version of The Hobbit is an audio play first broadcast by the BBC in 1968 (it is NOT an audiobook - ie someone reading the...
Published on 25 Oct. 2012 by Sinbad


‹ Previous | 1194 195 196229 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

5.0 out of 5 stars Five Stars, 31 Oct. 2014
By 
Weissgerber Fabien (Strasbourg, France) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Hobbit (Hardcover)
Beautiful book, fast service...a good deal
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Five Stars, 16 Aug. 2014
By 
Product, price and service all first rate.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Five Stars, 4 July 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Hobbit (Paperback)
Very good price and delivery for this book
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars The Hobbit., 18 Mar. 2013
This review is from: The Hobbit (Mass Market Paperback)
A great adventure with amazing characters!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Five Stars, 25 Sept. 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Hobbit (Hardcover)
atlast found a book my teenager will read
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars really happy with it, 9 Dec. 2014
By 
Hayley Mason (newcastle upon tyne UK) - See all my reviews
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
Arrived when said, really happy with it.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 2 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars The Hobbit - illustrated hardback, 31 Jan. 2010
This review is from: The Hobbit (Hardcover)
Lovely illustrations and generally pleased. However let down by variable print quality of text - on some pages is much darker than others - on some pages text is little more than pale grey and hard to read.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Five Stars, 21 Feb. 2015
By 
F. Boakes "wizard F" (Horley, Surrey) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Hobbit (Paperback)
another great book for sons collection.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Five Stars, 20 Jan. 2015
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Hobbit (Paperback)
Very good nice one fast and safe sevice
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


0 of 1 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars The Hobbit, 9 Jan. 2013
By 
Sarah (Feeling Fictional) (Kent, England) - See all my reviews
(VINE VOICE)    (TOP 500 REVIEWER)   
This review is from: The Hobbit (Paperback)
I've lost count of the number of times I've read The Hobbit over the years, it was the book that started my love of all things fantasy and it was always a go to book that I could read again and again as I was growing up. It must have been at least 5 years since I last read it though so I wanted to pick it up again before going to see the movie. It doesn't matter how many times I pick it up I still love it as much as the first and it always surprises me how many little details I forget between readings.

I know that most people have already read the story but if you're one of the few who haven't then I'd highly recommend it. It's a great story for adults but I also think it makes fantastic bed time reading with children because it's such a fun adventure story. There is a reason it's considered a classic! The last thing Bilbo Baggins is looking for is an adventure, he is quite happy living in his hobbit hole enjoying plenty of food and good company when he wants it (which is not too often thank you very much). When Gandalf arrives with a party of thirteen dwarves Bilbo is convinced they have come to the wrong person for help but the more he learns about their quest to re-claim their lands from the dragon who stole them the more curious he becomes and in the end he can't resist joining them.

Bilbo is the least likely of heroes, he doesn't consider himself particularly brave or smart and he has practically no experience of travelling or fighting, but when it comes down to it the dwarves wouldn't have got very far without him. I always enjoy seeing Bilbo reach is full potential, he goes on a journey of personal discovery and proves to everyone just what a strong character he is. The story isn't as dark or scary as the Lord of the Rings books are and is suitable for a younger audience but it is still quite scary in places and the scenes with Gollum are particularly creepy. I love the riddle contest between Bilbo and Gollum but have to admit that I'd be hopeless at figuring out the answers myself if I was in Bilbo's place! The Hobbit is such an enjoyable story and a great introduction to the Lord of the Rings books, I really think I'm going to have to re-read those this year too!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1194 195 196229 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

The Hobbit
The Hobbit by J. R. R. Tolkien (Mass Market Paperback - 19 Mar. 1993)
Used & New from: £0.01
Add to wishlist See buying options
Only search this product's reviews