Customer Reviews


13 Reviews
5 star:
 (6)
4 star:
 (5)
3 star:    (0)
2 star:
 (1)
1 star:
 (1)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


5.0 out of 5 stars Yes / No for Scotland in September
Well balanced fair assessment of Scotland on the run up to the referendum; I learned a great deal from this book.
Published 7 months ago by elizabeth jackson

versus
105 of 132 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars Full of errors.
Andrew, I like you on the telly, and I'm glad to see you are recovering.

I just bought your book on Scotland (the kindle version). I've got through the first chapter and sorry to say but you've got a few howlers in there (hope they're not in the print edition or you'll be pulping them I think).

The factual ones first:

Are Scots...
Published 18 months ago by ivan mckee


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

105 of 132 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars Full of errors., 2 Aug. 2013
By 
ivan mckee (killearn, stirlingshire United Kingdom) - See all my reviews
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
Andrew, I like you on the telly, and I'm glad to see you are recovering.

I just bought your book on Scotland (the kindle version). I've got through the first chapter and sorry to say but you've got a few howlers in there (hope they're not in the print edition or you'll be pulping them I think).

The factual ones first:

Are Scots Different:

"..between 1979, when around 2.3 million Scots (51 % of the total voting) said yes to a Scottish parliament and 1997... when around 2.77 million Scots (around 73 % voted for a new parliament..."

Incorrect. The 2.3 m and the 2.77m were the total turnout numbers, NOT the numbers voting yes.

".. waving the sole tyre...." Took me a while to realise it's supposed to read Saltire... bit embarrassing eh ?

Scotland Today

"Scotland has a larger proportion of her economy in the public sector... "

Actually Scottish public expenditure as a % of GDP is 42.7%, for the UK its 45.5% (GERS 2011-12). But why let the facts get in the way of a good stereotype?

"Labour only really rose to dominance in the 1960's when the Conservative unionists took the brunt of Scottish hostility to Margaret Thatcher"

Rewriting history. No-one outside of Grantham had heard of Mrs T in the 1960's.

And now one which I think displays a (perhaps subconscious) trace of bias:

So What's this really all about:

"His (Alex Salmond's) government said that if Scotland's geographical share of oil and gas was included Scottish GDP per head would be 118% of the UK average"

AS says it because it's a fact (GERS 2011-12). Why do you need to preface it by saying `his government says" as if it's only an opinion?

And then you goes on to say :

"...with 8.4% of the UK population, Scotland takes 9.3% of public spending.."

This is of course true, but it's also true that Scotland generates 9.9% of UK taxes which you fail to mention.

And you present this fact as a fact. In the interests of `balance' maybe you should have said something like

" ... Alistair Darling's No campaign says that with 8.4% of the UK population Scotland takes 9.3% of public spending... "

but of course that would be ridiculous wouldn't it ?

But I can put your mind at rest on one key point, you won't have to choose between a Scottish and a rUK passport.

Scotland will adopt a model similar to the Irish one with regards to citizenship (i.e. those born in Scotland or the children of those born in Scotland will be able to enjoy Scottish citizenship). Dual citizenship will also be no problem for the Scottish Government, and it would be surprising if the rUK government decided Scotland was the only country in the world that it wouldn't allow dual citizenship with. (Current UK law is that: "A British citizen who acquires citizenship of another country is not required under UK law to renounce British nationality".)

So you will be able to have 2 passports if you so choose (in the same way that many people currently carry both Irish and British passports).

I can't decide whether to struggle on with this read, as I don't have the time to highlight any more errors I may find.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Yes / No for Scotland in September, 19 Jun. 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
Well balanced fair assessment of Scotland on the run up to the referendum; I learned a great deal from this book.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 4 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Useful background for today's independence debate, 3 Feb. 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
A thorough and insightful look at Scottish politics since the war. Marr is wonderfully wry and observant when it comes to political undercurrents and media manipulation, and being scots, he paints a true picture, I think, of what makes the Scots tick. Roll on independence.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 4 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Important historical information, 12 Oct. 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Battle for Scotland (Paperback)
I enjoyed this book. Especially the detailed background to the SNP of today. Amazing how many times Scotland almost made it to independence! Should be required reading in schools.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Five Stars, 15 Dec. 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Battle for Scotland (Paperback)
Bought for a present and l am sure it will be very well received
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 4 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Account of the failures of politicians and Westministers hold on power, 10 Dec. 2013
This review is from: The Battle for Scotland (Paperback)
See
[...]

for an extensive review of this book and others on the Scottish Independence Referendum due 18 September 2014,

Marr is clearly frustrated that some 32 attempts at Home Rule failed because of ineptitude of politicians.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


0 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Useful book, 10 Mar. 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Battle for Scotland (Paperback)
It explains a lot of things that one wonders how things would be in the event of Scotland voting yes
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


0 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Fantastic, 26 Jun. 2014
By 
G. Squires "Jinx" (Neilston, Scotland) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This book is so current - challenges your opinion and thoughts on independence and puts the whole thing in a historical context that left me thoroughly amazed. It is the most entertaining history book I have ever read. It's a good read!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


0 of 1 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars Not to his normal standard, 22 Mar. 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
Andrew Marr's writing has clearly improved over the years. This book is repackaged from earlier writings. It is not the slick intriguing read that has become his trademark. I'll look forward to his next offering.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 3 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars excellent book beautifully written, 29 Nov. 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Battle for Scotland (Paperback)
So much information I was unaware about - a splendid book but Andrew Marr always keeps us riveted that is my husband and myself
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

The Battle for Scotland
The Battle for Scotland by Andrew Marr (Paperback - 1 Aug. 2013)
£7.19
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews