Shop now Shop now Shop now  Up to 50% Off Fashion  Shop all Amazon Fashion Cloud Drive Photos Shop now Learn More Shop now Shop now Shop Fire Shop Kindle Listen with Prime Shop now Shop now

Customer Reviews

4.5 out of 5 stars306
4.5 out of 5 stars
Format: Paperback|Change
Price:£6.29+ Free shipping with Amazon Prime
Your rating(Clear)Rate this item


There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

on 2 June 2012
As a massive fan of Zlatan i was worried this book might change my opinion of him. However in actual fact it made me even more of a fan. This controversial but truthful insight into his life provides surprise at every turn of a page. Even if your not a fan, this book will hook you in for a rolla coaster ride of admiration and controversy!
33 comments|28 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 20 September 2013
From my rating you might think that the title line is contradictory but this book is full of excuses for behaving like a ned, selective memory in his conduct and a general 'infamy, infamy, they've all got it infamy' kind of attitude- but it is entertaining.

A lot of the anecdotes remind me somewhat of the Alan Partridge episode where he is criticised for ending each anecdote with 'needless to say, I had the last laugh' as this is essentially what happens in this book.

Zlatan comes across as a spoilt little thug that has no respect for anyone bar those that gravitate towards his ego and throws tantrums and cannot handle real life situations. For example, he talks of when his new born son had to go into hospital for a life saving operation. All he could do was leave his wife behind and go play video games. I almost shouted at the book in disgust (bar strange looks from my fellow bus passengers, I probably would have).

How this book was put up for some sort of award I really don't know, the writing style is that of someone that has no concept of flow or description. It has nothing to do with 'lost in translation' either, the style of writing, at times, is amateurish at best.

But I would recommend this book for anyone that has an interest in the undoubted talent and enigma that is Zlatan Ibrahimovic. But for anyone who doesn't know of him- steer clear
11 comment|2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 1 May 2014
Excellent read Funny and interesting Some strong opinions about personalities within the game.Very enlightening.A very good read that keeps you laughing at his wicked put downs of people he has crossed swords with during his time in the game
0Comment|4 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 30 January 2014
Absolutely fascinating and interesting book about one of the most opinionated footballers in the world. Highly recommend this book to any zlatan fans
0Comment|3 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 27 November 2013
There's a lot that can be said about Ibra (his nickname is Ibracadabra, but I've never heard anyone calling him it...) but he certainly has a lot to say too. His insights into Barca, Juve, Milan; his thoughts on Guardiola, Messi, Mourinho; even his thoughts on life and his interests. All of these are presented in such a way that is above all else, honest.
His views and thoughts on his life, his colleagues come through in an uncompromising, unfiltered way very much unlike many of the corporate footballer bios that litter football fandom.
The book starts with his career at Barca, before it delves into his early years, ending not particularly conclusively, with a to be continued....
The book also gives a good insight into the modern footballers experience in immigration and moving jobs. Not enough is really said about this, but Zlatan does so with good humour (the light-tone throughout the book is refreshing to say the least. He's no tactician but he enjoys his game)
Credit must go to his ghostwriter and also, the translator. Without these I doubt Zlatan's input would be as potent as it is presented here.
11 comment|6 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 20 September 2013
A football bio that certainly has a certain charm. Not sure how ghostwritten it is, but you do get a feel of the real guy. Occasionally rambling, the books most interesting aspects are about his failed relationships with Pep Guardiola and Rafeal Van De Vaart.

Sadly, whilst he does have an interesting rags to riches tale, it's hard to get too excited about repeated tales of arguments only heard from one side and nights in with his xbox.

It also ends rather abruptly, during his season with AC Milan, so you can't help feeling there's much more to this story.

I suspect the story would be better served as a biography, but for 3.99 it's a worthwhile few hours
0Comment|One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 30 November 2013
You can easily have your reservation/opinion about someone as outspoken and seemingly more than self-confident individual as Zlatan Ibrahimovic, but this is such an honest and entertaining account of his life and career so far that at least one gets a deeper understanding of the man and his motives. If his constant bragging about his goals and achievements gets to your nerves, I'd recommend to pause reading and switch to YouTube and see for yourself. Not quite great literature, but by far the best recent biographical work on a still-active sportsman, and just like a hopeless defender in an opposing team you cannot avoid to get zlatanized in the end !
0Comment|One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 21 March 2014
Never been a huge fan of Zlatan but after I read this book I'm more of a fan now. Just keeping the review short, its a highly entertaining book that feels very much in most parts that its Zlatan talking. Its certainly different to any other biography I have read due to Zlatans personality which shines through. It feels really honest & genuine which is refreshing and gives you an insight behind the curtain of his career, the clubs hes been at, agents etc. Just as a football fan I really enjoyed the book and would recommend it.
0Comment|One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 6 March 2014
Bought this as a huge football fan and simply because Zlatan "interests" me

The book exceeded all expectations.

One of the most arrogant, talented volatile footballers ever to grace the planet packs no punches and sugar coats nothing!!!
Brutally honest opinions on some of the top players and clubs in modern history.

Zlatans been there, done it, wore the t-shirt, won the league and moved on.............several times.

Brilliant read for any lover of football
0Comment|One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 31 October 2013
I really enjoyed this book and would recommend it to sports fans, football fans and anybody who has an interest in someone with a different and sometimes bizarre life story to tell.

I particularly like the fact that the book feels like it is the unfiltered thoughts of Zlatan Ibrahimovic rather than a corporate, careful autobiography. His honest opinions of the people who have had an impact in his life, both negative and positive are thought through and well explained.

Some people might find the way he describes himself as 'awesome' quite arrogant. However I admired his honesty because having seen him play (like mauling England with four goals at the end of 2012) and watching YouTube clips of the goals he describes in the book the phrase 'awesome' couldn't be more apt!

A thoroughly enjoyable and immersive read that gave me lessons learnt to take away for my personal and working life.
0Comment|5 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse

Customers also viewed these items

£9.99

Send us feedback

How can we make Amazon Customer Reviews better for you?
Let us know here.

Sponsored Links

  (What is this?)