Customer Reviews


9 Reviews
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Total Inspiration!
Having watched the documentary "Every Heart Beats True The Jim Stynes Story" and followed this extraordinary man through an incredible and uplifting journey of dogged determination and an outright refusal to concede defeat to any obstacle in life including the dreaded 'c' I find it hard to find strong enough words to describe Jim Stynes the legend that he was...
Published on 23 Jun. 2013 by Mack K

versus
0 of 17 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars Similar to the Titanic Movie
In that you know the end before you start to read the book. Quite frankly, this book is another story about being diagnosed with cancer. It goes to explain the treatments, people, dates, decline and the feel good story of the person who had to ensure this terrible disease. (hopefully his sporting achievements are true) Can anyone imagine how annoyed he would be now if he...
Published on 29 Oct. 2012 by Valhalla Hero


Most Helpful First | Newest First

1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Total Inspiration!, 23 Jun. 2013
By 
This review is from: My Journey (Paperback)
Having watched the documentary "Every Heart Beats True The Jim Stynes Story" and followed this extraordinary man through an incredible and uplifting journey of dogged determination and an outright refusal to concede defeat to any obstacle in life including the dreaded 'c' I find it hard to find strong enough words to describe Jim Stynes the legend that he was!
Everyone in life wants to find a niche and a small something that people will remember them by...I know that's what I aspire to and just by following this man's life he made his mark not just in his place of birth Ireland but so much more so in Australia where he not only fulfilled his own dreams in sport but those of so many disillusioned Australian youth who had nowhere else to turn.
His work with the youth of Australia and his brutal determination on every AFL pitch and on every hospital bed in Australia to beat the odds will inspire a generation to come and to Sam and their two beautiful kids Matisse and Tiernan my absolute admiration for a special husband, father and...hero.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A must read, 7 Mar. 2013
By 
Anne (Delgany County Wicklow, Ireland) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: My Journey (Paperback)
I loved this book, I found it real, thought provoking and mostly I wanted to find out more about Jim Stynes. I have recommended this book to all my friends and will continue to do so. His family and friends were blessed to have known him, I am glad I have gotten a glimpse of what this great guy was about.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Humbling, engaging and ultimately inspiring, 16 Mar. 2015
By 
This review is from: My Journey (Paperback)
This is a wonderful account of an exceptional life. Jim Stynes may have been a great athlete and sporting hero (in two codes i.e. Gaelic football and Aussie rules) but was also someone who came to have a huge positive influence on many others, including young people struggling to recognise their own intrinsic value and be true to themselves. I am grateful that he has shared his experiences, which include coming to appreciate how his cancer forced him to reconsider his priorities, to identify what held greatest value and meaning for him and to improve the quality of his most treasured relationships. Jim Stynes was obviously a giant of a man and this is a fantastic story, well-told.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars The man..., 8 Jan. 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: My Journey (Kindle Edition)
brilliant insight into a great partnership. Jim was lucky to have Sam and the endless support from family & friends. Many go through this struggle alone..
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 5 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Heavy uplifting read, 9 Jan. 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: My Journey (Kindle Edition)
Lovely account of one man's struggle in life and the adversity he overcame breakthrough the journey.well worth a considered read.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Really good book, there was good few times while reading ..., 30 Jun. 2014
This review is from: My Journey (Paperback)
Really good book, there was good few times while reading it where I knew totally where he was coming from when talking about cancer. Really good book, must read!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Five Stars, 11 Feb. 2015
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: My Journey (Kindle Edition)
Fantastic read
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Five Stars, 8 Jan. 2015
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: My Journey (Paperback)
Great read
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


0 of 17 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars Similar to the Titanic Movie, 29 Oct. 2012
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: My Journey (Paperback)
In that you know the end before you start to read the book. Quite frankly, this book is another story about being diagnosed with cancer. It goes to explain the treatments, people, dates, decline and the feel good story of the person who had to ensure this terrible disease. (hopefully his sporting achievements are true) Can anyone imagine how annoyed he would be now if he knew that his hero Lance Armstrong was cycling's cancer. How could Lance even look this guy in the eye, when they met?

My only comment for review is that even though the book is over 350 pages or so, there is no real explanation or evidence to explain/justify why anyone would ever consider moving or relocating to Australia to live permanently.

Australia comes across in this book as an incredibly dull and boring place to live/raise a family in - Why would anyone want to write a book to reflect this?
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

My Journey
My Journey by Jim Stynes (Paperback - 21 May 2013)
£8.99
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews