Customer Reviews


15 Reviews
5 star:
 (8)
4 star:
 (3)
3 star:
 (2)
2 star:
 (1)
1 star:
 (1)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Well written and not overdone, but sometimes a bit too brief
Written with admirable economy, 'The Shadow of the Crescent Moon' focusses on a single family and a single day. The setting is the tribal areas of Pakistan close to the Afghan border, a region familiar from news bulletins. It was a fascinating insight into the lives of people in this troubled area and the politics of the region, although at this relatively short length...
Published 6 months ago by BookWorm

versus
5 of 5 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Not quite satisfying
In the fictionalized version of the city of Mir Ali in Pakistan, which lies close to the border with Afghanistan, three brothers are having breakfast on what is one of the most important festival days in the Muslim calendar, Eid.
One of the brothers Aman Erum, recently returned from studying in America. Sikandar has recently lost his son in an attack on the hospital...
Published 8 months ago by Christopher Sullivan


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

3 of 5 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars An excellent piece of literature, 20 Dec 2013
I have read other works of Fatima Bhuttos and enjoyed them immensely. She is a very talented and coherent writer. I was hesitant to read the latest as it was a complete deviation from her normal, factual works and her first novel. However, it was wonderful. It immediately captured me and led me along an intriguing path. I had bought the book with a view to reading it over the festive season break but I became so enthralled I just couldn't put it down and finished it already.

I would highly recommend this work. I sincerely hope that Fatima Bhutto will continue with her novels. Genius!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Five Stars, 1 Oct 2014
By 
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Shadow Of The Crescent Moon (Paperback)
will be reading this very soon
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 6 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars sublime, 22 Dec 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
a wonderful novel of people caught in the crossfire of life in Northern Pakistan. I look forward to more writing from this gifted writer who conveys life for the ordinary people trapped in that ghastly conflict
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Five Stars, 13 Sep 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Shadow Of The Crescent Moon (Paperback)
wonderful
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


15 of 31 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars Mediocre, Misleading and Offensive, 2 Dec 2013
Miss Bhutto might have a lot of praise among the journalist community, she is no doubt a brilliant columnist with very strong opinions, however non fictional writing does not necessarily translate into a good effort in fictional literature. Though I am yet to read her other book, this left too much to be desired. The quality of story telling in this book is very mediocre and it is not difficult for the reader to lose track or lose interest. I downloaded the Kindle edition of this book and after reading just the first quarter I felt like removing it from my Kindle Library. The book is set in a remote town in Pakistan's Khyber Pakhtoonkhwa Province called Mir Ali, depicting a fictional modern day up rising rebellion against the Pakistani government that is brewing secret in that village and this book reads like a very strong attempt at an Anti State, Anti Pakistan and Anti Pakistan army propaganda. In reality Mir Ali was a town where the Pakistan army did a praise worthy job of clearing out the Taliban and were welcomed as liberators from Taliban Tyranny, in the book the same army is portrayed as one committing acts of genocide against its own people, and in Pakistan resource constrained villages as small as Mir Ali do not have multi-department universities with departments such as Mass communication or liberal arts. This book is very insulting to all those patriotic Pakistani's who see Miss Bhutto as a symbol of hope in a political world dominated by dynastic politics. The second half is relatively better written and offers some flow and linkage between paragraphs, yet I fail to understand in a time in Pakistan when the country is experiencing cultural and social polarization, was a book by such a respected intellectual on State bashing really necessary, we already have broadcast media for that, a more objectively written book and it could have been praise worthy.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

The Shadow Of The Crescent Moon
The Shadow Of The Crescent Moon by Fatima Bhutto (Paperback - 27 Feb 2014)
£5.99
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews