Customer Reviews


6 Reviews
5 star:
 (4)
4 star:
 (1)
3 star:
 (1)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


5.0 out of 5 stars A veritable classic
This is John le Carre's breakthrough book - a true classic of espionage literature genre. A must for eeryone who's interested in spy novels and the cold war.
Published 10 months ago by Raimo K

versus
1 of 2 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars good Cold War spy story, if that's what you want
Well written and plotted story, as convoluted as you'd expect from John le Carre but not as long as some of his others. It just made me realise that I've not got much time for spies and spying. I'm unconvinced that there was any genuine purpose behind the scheming and killing. Despite having lived through the Cold War and accepting that the USSR did pose a potentially...
Published 13 months ago by Alimags


Most Helpful First | Newest First

5.0 out of 5 stars A veritable classic, 18 Mar. 2014
By 
Raimo K (Uusikaupunki, Finland) - See all my reviews
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Spy Who Came in from the Cold (Paperback)
This is John le Carre's breakthrough book - a true classic of espionage literature genre. A must for eeryone who's interested in spy novels and the cold war.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 6 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars The Reader who came into the Cold., 10 May 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Spy Who Came in from the Cold (Paperback)
When I usually think of spy fiction, I tend to think of the misogynistic James Bond. It was refreshing reading spy fiction that was a bit more realistic and where the female character is portrayed with genuine sympathy as a person rather than being shown through the 'male gaze'. It is difficult to figure out what's going on a lot of the time: The plot is quite intricate although it seems deceptively simple because the events in the book take place in linear time, it is actually more complex than it appears. Furthermore, very little is explained to the reader until the end. Do not let this put you off, as it really is a worthwhile read.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Masterful, 22 Mar. 2013
By 
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Spy Who Came in from the Cold (Paperback)
,I chose a five star rating as this is storytelling at its best .John Le Carre is the master of the spy genre as countless readers know.I would recommend this book to all who enjoy a good cold war spy story.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Thrilling!, 12 Aug. 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Spy Who Came in from the Cold (Paperback)
A wonderful spy masterpiece. Possibly his best work, but I would recommend reading his previous novels first to get a little insight to Smilie.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 2 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars good Cold War spy story, if that's what you want, 29 Dec. 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Spy Who Came in from the Cold (Paperback)
Well written and plotted story, as convoluted as you'd expect from John le Carre but not as long as some of his others. It just made me realise that I've not got much time for spies and spying. I'm unconvinced that there was any genuine purpose behind the scheming and killing. Despite having lived through the Cold War and accepting that the USSR did pose a potentially serious threat to our national security, this book just gave me the feeling that it was all rather a nasty game, with several opposing teams competing for the Machiavelli award for deviousness - penalty for failure - death.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Five Stars, 13 Aug. 2014
This review is from: The Spy Who Came in from the Cold (Paperback)
This was a present
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

The Spy Who Came in from the Cold
The Spy Who Came in from the Cold by John le Carré (Paperback - 24 Nov. 2011)
£6.39
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews