Customer Reviews


 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


9 of 9 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Neil Young - Renaissance Hippy?
Neil Young's book is many things: it's a rock memoir, a stream of his consciousness, his apologia, a eulogy for his passed friends and collaborators, an eco-propoganda piece, high-definition audio propaganda piece, a love letter to his family, an unedited mish-mash, an insight to creativity, classic car story, anti-war campaign pamphlet, a confession and more. And I...
Published on 20 Jan. 2013 by J. McNeill

versus
5 of 5 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Marred by lack of organisation and editing
I am a huge Neil Young fan and I enjoyed large parts of this book. I can see why its rambling nature might have a certain charm for some readers. It does create a feeling of intimacy and, unlike so many other books of this kind, one does not suspect that a ghost writer hovered over the author's shoulder. However, it delivers much less than it promises and there is a...
Published 12 months ago by M.B.


‹ Previous | 110 11 1215 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

3.0 out of 5 stars Bit of a ramble. Too much on cars and ..., 7 May 2015
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
Bit of a ramble. Too much on cars and toy trains and not enough on the music for me. Enough to hold your interest if you're a fan.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Good read, 4 Jan. 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
I was not put off by bad press about the writing and it is a different style. But any fan of the great man will enjoy reading this.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars fantastic, 27 Feb. 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
I have been a fan of Neil Young since the 1970'es - is it realy that long!!!! - and this book is what i have been waiting fore
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Rambling but majestic., 19 Mar. 2015
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
Not sure to start with, but the book became like an old friend you look forward to catching up with.
Love Ya Neil.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars A great read., 4 Feb. 2015
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
A real insight into the true Neil Young, written with what I believe to be an honesty and openness. At times very deep.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Neil Young, 23 Oct. 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
Neil rambles a bit but this is a good read. I've been waiting for his autobiography for years and was not disappointed.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Good read., 22 Jan. 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
Was bought as a present and recipient says it is a really good read. Very interesting and informative and a good read.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars present, 26 Jun. 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This was a present for my husband so anything to do with Neil Young is alway a good thing mt husband very much liked
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars neil Young, 31 July 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
I bought this book for my husbands birthday and he has recently finished reading it, he found it to be a good read.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Great buy, 15 Jan. 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
My husband was thrilled with this book. He had been asking for it for ages and hasn't put it down since he got it
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 110 11 1215 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Waging Heavy Peace: A Hippie Dream
Waging Heavy Peace: A Hippie Dream by Neil Young (Paperback - 6 Jun. 2013)
£7.49
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews