Customer Reviews


125 Reviews
5 star:
 (44)
4 star:
 (31)
3 star:
 (19)
2 star:
 (15)
1 star:
 (16)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


41 of 41 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Fine book, but..........
This is as good as her first book - a sometimes bleak and sometimes very funny story about the lives of Polish fruit pickers. The only thing is that it is the same book as Two Caravans, republished under a different title, which I already had. I think that this is a deplorable publishing tactic. If you haven't got it under either title, buy it - it's well worth a read...
Published on 5 Oct 2009 by Mr. K. H. Cobb

versus
21 of 22 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars Could have been great :(
This book could have been great.I was completely wowed until about half way through when, as other reviewers have mentioned, most of the main characters disappear. At this point the story becomes a overly drawn-out love story between two characters. I was left feeling that Lewycka had two novels to write and tried to squash them unsuccessfully into one. The first was the...
Published on 10 Aug 2008 by Orisumacdu


‹ Previous | 112 13 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

2 of 6 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Two Caravans, 14 Sep 2008
By 
Mr. Charles Salisbury "the frog" (kent / hesdin france) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Two Caravans (Paperback)
We made the mistake of buying this book and strawberry fields. They are identical except for the title
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 4 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars excellent service, 7 Feb 2010
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Strawberry Fields (Paperback)
Excellent Service it is part of my reading for my holiday at the end of the month
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


0 of 2 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Pants, Pimps and Strawberry Fields, 16 Dec 2009
This review is from: Two Caravans (Paperback)
Having never read Lewycka's previous title of Ukrainian Tractor fame, I was a tad hesitant to enter the realm of middle-aged mother's prose, but am glad I did. Lewycka, her characters the unfortunates of middle-class high tea England and eternally down-trodden Eastern Europe, writes with humour and fluidity. The characters, if not strictly believable and lacking the grit of a Monica Ali or Zadie Smith, are immensely likable and the plot doesn't leave you scanning the financial times for something more interesting to read. A reccommended read for anyone with a good sense of humour.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


0 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Two Caravans, 25 Dec 2010
This review is from: Two Caravans (Paperback)
Very very good price, item in excellent condition, exactly as described. Item arrived in under 24 hours! Would definately recommend and will use again.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


0 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Very enjoyable, 7 Nov 2008
This review is from: Two Caravans (Paperback)
I thoroughly enjoyed this book, perhaps even slightly more than "A Short History of Tractors in Ukrainian". Highly recommended.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 112 13 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Two Caravans
Two Caravans by Marina Lewycka (Paperback - 1 Mar 2012)
7.44
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews