Customer Reviews


695 Reviews
5 star:
 (566)
4 star:
 (76)
3 star:
 (35)
2 star:
 (12)
1 star:
 (6)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


98 of 103 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Emotional & gripping - You won't be able to put this down! xxx
The story opens with Flora, a mother of three, planning her death. Straight after we switch to a scene a few hours later when Flora's eldest daughter returns home. After initially being frustrated that her mother had left the iron gates shut despite her car being in the drive, Eva enters a silent house. She knows her mother can't have gone anywhere as the back door is...
Published on 12 Feb. 2013 by Megan ReadingInTheSunshine

versus
16 of 19 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Not her best
I love Lesley Pearse, some of her books I have I've read again and again. This one however will not be read again. It was only ok.

I've read lots of the reviews and many people have said what a emotive book, well written characters, touching on depression and how it effects people. For me it was hard going, in places just plain boring. I didn't want to know in...
Published on 8 Mar. 2013 by Grace-Elisabeth


‹ Previous | 1 270 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

98 of 103 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Emotional & gripping - You won't be able to put this down! xxx, 12 Feb. 2013
By 
Megan ReadingInTheSunshine (England) - See all my reviews
(TOP 500 REVIEWER)   
This review is from: Forgive Me (Hardcover)
The story opens with Flora, a mother of three, planning her death. Straight after we switch to a scene a few hours later when Flora's eldest daughter returns home. After initially being frustrated that her mother had left the iron gates shut despite her car being in the drive, Eva enters a silent house. She knows her mother can't have gone anywhere as the back door is unlocked and her mother never leaves anything unlocked. After going from room to room Eva makes a shocking discovery. Why would her mother want to do this? And are there things that Eva may have not known about Flora?

This is a highly emotional and gripping read. As the beginning of the book is so vivid and shocking, I was quickly sucked in by the story and I literally could not tear my eyes away from the pages! I was desperate to follow Eva's journey in her quest for the truth and was staying up in bed late at night trying to fit in an extra few chapters!

Eva was a wonderfully written character, Lesley Pearse translated Eva's personality, thoughts and emotions perfectly so well that I felt myself go through similar emotions as I read about Eva's journey. and as a reader I really felt for her. I warmed to Eva from the start, she is strong, she is brave and I really got behind her, spending the book hoping that she would continue to strive forward in her searches and discoveries.

Lesley Pearse captured the effects of grief very well, and the book is very well-written in this sense. Everybody grieves differently, and Lesley showed this with each character having their own individual feelings and reactions. As the story covers suicide, death and grief, it can at times be a bit much if you're not used to stories that explore these issues. There are other issues explored but I don't want to spoil the story so I shall just say this - Some parts are sad, and sometimes a little distressing so tissues might also be needed. There are a few surprises and twists and turns in store too!

Forgive Me is a very emotional, gripping story full of suspense, drama and mystery. Lesley Pearse has once again created a story that will have you racing through the chapters and unable to put the book down. Try this!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars HOW have I never read this author before!!!, 12 Mar. 2015
By 
Best Crime Books "Best Crime Books" (London, UK) - See all my reviews
(TOP 500 REVIEWER)   
This review is from: Forgive Me (Paperback)
: I have never read a Lesley Pearce which I now realise was a huge mistake on my part. However, this gave me the added advantage of having no expectations when I started reading. The main character Eva Patterson is the lead character and the opening chapters put you firmly into the horrifying discovery Eva makes as she finds her mother following her suicide. It is this event that starts a chain reaction that is horrifying and I certainly didn’t expect from a book with some an endearingly beautiful cover.

Aside from her Mothers suicide it’s hard to mention anything else within the story for fear of spoiling it for others. As a reader you literally follow Eva throughout her life and as each new trauma unfolds you feel yourself willing her on and hoping that things turn out okay for her. It’s an extremely gripping book and I can honestly say buy the end of it I was certain that I needed to stock up on Lesley Pearse’s back catalogue.

From start to finish I was taken on an emotional rollercoaster and found myself utterly enthralled by this book. The cover (although beautiful) didn’t even give me the slightest hint that this book would be so full of drama and tension. I would truly recommend this book and am thrilled that I have discovered just how great an author she is. I am now eagerly looking forward to reading her other books.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


14 of 15 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Excellent, 23 April 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Forgive Me (Kindle Edition)
One word...excellent from start to end! Cried my eyes out at times. From joy to sadness. Would definitely recommend !
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


14 of 16 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Very impressed, 17 Jun. 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Forgive Me (Kindle Edition)
I really loved this book, I have all her books they are fantastic, once you start to read you will find it very hard to put the book down.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


16 of 19 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Not her best, 8 Mar. 2013
This review is from: Forgive Me (Kindle Edition)
I love Lesley Pearse, some of her books I have I've read again and again. This one however will not be read again. It was only ok.

I've read lots of the reviews and many people have said what a emotive book, well written characters, touching on depression and how it effects people. For me it was hard going, in places just plain boring. I didn't want to know in such detail about the decor of every room or the clothes people were wearing. This book made me feel bored and a bit miserable. It was as if Lesley has taken up a new hobby at home besides writing (interior design) and peppered the book with it.

I'm sure people who have suffered/suffer or know someone with depression found this book incredibly insightful.

It won't stop me reading Lesley's next book, just on this occasion, this book was not my cup of tea at all.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Very good read, 1 Nov. 2013
By 
This review is from: Forgive Me (Paperback)
This book starts with Flora planning her own death. She is married and has three children and a lovely house. You then meet eldest daughter Eva. Eva is not happy when she return home as her mother's car is parked in the drive and the iron gates are shut. The back door is unlocked and she knows that her mother never leaves the door unlocked. After looking round the house she comes across her mother's body. This is then when the story really starts to get going. Eva can not understand why her mother would do such a thing. When things start coming to light a few days later Eva goes on a journey to find out about who her mother really was.

I really enjoyed this book from start to finish and I could not put it down. I was gripped by Eva's story and just wanted to know how she was going to cope. This book has lots of emotion it and the characters and story line is very believable. This is the first book I have read by Lesley Pearse and I will be reading more.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars She does it again, 23 Jan. 2014
By 
Janie U (Kings Cliffe, England) - See all my reviews
(VINE VOICE)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Forgive Me (Kindle Edition)
I know nothing about Lesley Pearse but I am sure she is some sort of machine. She churns out compelling books one after another which her fans just eat up. If you're not a fan then they are worth trying but don't expect anything too challenging, great bit of escapism though.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars bookworm, 5 Oct. 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Forgive Me (Kindle Edition)
Not one of her better stories in fact I skipped a few paragraphs and did quite a bit of speed reading. I got this book to take on holiday but wish I hadn't bothered and just wanted to finish it to get it out of the way. So much of it you knew what was going to happen. I was very disappointed as I have read all her other books and loved every one.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars Bit of a disappointment, 3 Oct. 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Forgive Me (Kindle Edition)
Well it wasn't that it was bad, it was just a bit dull character-wise. All very predictable and rehearsed. The catalogue of disasters I found a little crude and let's find another word for the young people to use to express their delight at something other than 'marvellous'. I wanted to shake them all at some point to elicit a bit of attitude. The last section was over-sugared, gloopy and tension-free.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5 of 6 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Review, 18 July 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Forgive Me (Kindle Edition)
Not as good as her previous novels - quite predictable so I was disappointed. Was also disappointed to find the kindle version was more expensive than the hardback!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 270 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Forgive Me
Forgive Me by Lesley Pearse (Paperback - 15 Aug. 2013)
£5.99
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews