Customer Reviews


 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


29 of 30 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars very interesting read
The author deals with a wealth of issues in one slender volume - it's a fascinating up to date description + explanation of the rise of certain popularist (planning) policies in the UK, copied mostly from the US, which have or are having a negative effect on the towns and cities we live in. And the fact that these decisions are so unpublicised, we are sleep walking into a...
Published on 4 Sept. 2009 by SJ

versus
33 of 42 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars Let's have a heated debate....
This is an interesting and well argued book about how changes in property ownership and control, badged as regeneration, coupled with Government policy on anti social behaviour, have fundamentally affected British society, and not for the better. Well argued - but nevertheless some of the arguments used are unfortunately flawed.

Minton starts off by taking up...
Published on 6 Sept. 2009 by JuliaC


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

29 of 30 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars very interesting read, 4 Sept. 2009
The author deals with a wealth of issues in one slender volume - it's a fascinating up to date description + explanation of the rise of certain popularist (planning) policies in the UK, copied mostly from the US, which have or are having a negative effect on the towns and cities we live in. And the fact that these decisions are so unpublicised, we are sleep walking into a "clean + safe" yet extremely paranoid and unhappy world. This book made me angry and frustrated - a must read for anyone wondering where the "public" spaces are and who and what "public" bodies control these spaces. Clearly written and concise, and not at all boring or text booky (a book about planning policies??) it explains the links between and consequences of market lead planning decisions, and makes all the issues extremely relevant to every one of us. I now actually want to read alot more about the subject...
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


20 of 21 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Happiness can be through design, 7 Feb. 2010
By 
Dr. S. Dealler (UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
An important book full of insight and understanding into the way that society and its design have been forcefully changed since the early 1980s. I knew about many of the individual subjects and have lived in parts of the country watching the errors that have been made. I'm a doctor and have spoken with the people looked on as dregs of society, and simply are not. I've lived in places where the design of the town has wrecked the interactions of people themselves. I've watched as commercial giants have told us what we want and how we want it in our town.
A brilliant breath of air, simply writing it all down. I have ordered a pile more of these books and will be giving them out to our planning department. Ground Control goes through the important factors in our lives and we should all get going to do something about it. Excellent.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


42 of 45 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A New Civic Space, 20 July 2009
The importance of this book cannot be overlooked. It is about how growing security, from CCTV to gated developments, is a manifestation of a paranoia that has arisen in society over the past generation. This fear, the author points out, does not correspond to a steady rise in crime, which has in fact gone down. Instead, it can be traced to factors such as the deregulation of the finance markets in the eighties, soaring property prices and boom and bust, as well as policies on crime and anti-social behaviour. Written in an accessible but compelling style it draws together changes in policy with the emotional effects these can have on our lives. By making use of the opinions of experts as well as testimonies of the communities most affected by the changes, the book, which is based on a journey around Britain, clarifies just how these changes happened. For those of us who wonder why all our high streets look the same, or pass a shop or housing that has been empty for some time, when there is a housing crisis, the answers point to the unregulated property economy adopted by the Labour government. The book is important because it also focusses on alternative European models of civic space that could be adopted in the UK. In short it addresses issues of personal well-being that affect society as a whole.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5 of 5 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Scary, 3 Sept. 2010
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
The reviews I've read submitted by readers were very mixed - some felt that Anna Minton hadn't offered solutions to the problems raised in the book, others thought she had. For me whether or not Anna Minton offered solutions isn't important - in my opinion, what is important is that she's highlighted the dangerous way things are going in the UK in regard to gated cities, surveillance etc. The developers say it's all in the name of progress, but as she points out, it's the bottom line that counts. The sad thing is that so many people accept what's taking place - we can only hope they'll begin to think otherwise before it's too late.
Mark Dene
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


8 of 9 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Stirring stuff, 17 Jan. 2011
By 
William Cohen (Bournemouth) - See all my reviews
(VINE VOICE)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
Every few years I come across a book on cities that I really enjoy. The first was Jane Jacob's Life & Death of Great American Cities and then it was Leadville by Edward Platt. This is just as invigorating and thought-provoking.

I reported on the Paddington Basin development that Minton describes in my capacity of editor of the local community website. It was so hard to challenge the developers because they pushed up surrounding property prices (which is seen as a universal good). I also worked for a City law firm in Broadgate, which was the most depressing time of my professional life. I've revisited Canary Wharf in recent years, and it makes me nauseous.

The developers want to dominate the landscape and seal it off from dirt and undesirables. As Minton explains you can't create meaningful places when you seek to maximise their commercial efficiency, and prevent people indulging in other human pastimes like campaigning and protest. Hugh Pearman wrote about the changes in the Paddington Basin: `Big developers are urban Domestos.They kill 99 per cent of all known existing character.'

While property prices kept on rising, it was impossible to dissent. The urban regeneration professionals and the developers sat round congratulating themselves. I particularly applaud her analysis of the BIDS. Local communities are told that BIDS are fantastic schemes that will bring only good things. Minton points out that they were very controversial in the US, and they've been swallowed by the British without proper scrutiny of what they're all about. Security guards in the US went beating up the homeless. That's what happens when you say a place has only one purpose.

Thank goodness the credit crunch has put an end to their triumphalism, and now it's going to be about dealing with the wreckage. Minton dissects the attitudes of the left and the right and debunks both of them. It could be a depressing story but she highlights people like Monderman and Eric Reynolds who have more profound insights into how public space works. This is a very important book for anyone involved in politics.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5 of 6 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Land Grabbers, 19 April 2010
By 
Clifford Thurlow (London) - See all my reviews
(VINE VOICE)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
Anna Minton's Ground Control is a chilling read that reminds me of the work of Naomi Klein. Here, Minton gets to grips, not with the exploitation of sweat shop workers in the Third World or the rise of Disaster Capitalism reaching us from across the Atlantic, dealt with so admirably by Klein, but the very ground we stand on, the very bricks and mortar and fabric of our society.

While Minton explains how public space is being stolen and colonized by private companies with the collusion of successive British governments, she points out in a convincing way that the changing landscape is one explanation for the increased levels of anxiety and unhappiness in Britain today. When people are obliged to live, work and shop in "secure" environments, when gates and guards mark the urban highway, we feel less safe, not more safe, more anxious and haunted.

The "public good" has been re-branded the "public interest" by governments that believe only the 'monoculture of shopping and spending' is beneficial to the community - putting shopping centres above the need for playing fields, town squares and open spaces.

Minton explains that in the privatized zones with their private police forces and round the clock uniformed cleaners, the "Englishman is allowed to enter as a privilege, not as a right". That crisp, clean, identikit shopping centres are places for nice middle-class spenders, not the old, poor, the hoodies, the teenagers.

Land grabbers are acquiring, often with government grants, land that has since the middle of the 19th century been public land and the grabbers are not only wealthy Englishman, they are foreign comapnies and hedge funds that, like Cyclops, have but one eye that only sees profit.

This is a worrying trend, perfectly documented and I recommend this book as essential reading to anyone who cares about the nation's space - and, more, the nation's health.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


6 of 7 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Excellent expose of housing policy and the privatisation of public space, 18 Nov. 2009
By 
Mr. L. M. Mcivor "Lee McIvor" (St Albans, United Kingdom) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This is an insightful book that illustrates many of the failings of public policy in the UK with regards to housing and urban regeneration. It exposes the myth that new building works will lead to improved lives for the poor, and sheds more light on the disturbing links between public policy and private profit.

This should be required reading for anyone working in housing, or anyone for that matter concerned with the fact that taxpayer's money lines the pockets of private sector interests rather than improving the lot of the poorest in our society.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Read and howl with rage, 4 April 2013
By 
harriet (United Kingdom) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Ground Control: Fear and happiness in the twenty-first-century city (Paperback)
Great book - although I did have to fling it down every few pages and pace about in a rage. If your blood pressure can stand it, highly recommended. grrr.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Good, 8 Oct. 2012
By 
M. Jones "Identity in crisis" (North Staffs, England) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Ground Control: Fear and happiness in the twenty-first-century city (Paperback)
We were recommended this book for my daughter's Uni course so was glad it arrived so quickly and was easy to read and digest
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 5 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars The elephant in the room, 26 July 2010
An excelent attempt to pull together a cohesive picture of the mess that town planning has increasingly become. Public interest confused with corporate profit. Civic responsibility and pride deliberatly confused with Ownership and Investment for political and proffitable expiediency.
Its an exceptionaly complex area and she does well to explain problems with what has happened, ( and is increasingly happening), the forces which have allowed these patterns of corporate colinisation to develope and outlines some possible alternatives.

Its an educating read and as she points out shines a light into a complex area that goes to the heart of our civil liberties (what streets can be walked on, when, and by whom) which has been very largly ignored in the UK compared with near riots over the same issues and prompt government intervention to prevent the worst excesses in other countries.

If you are not familier with the issues she raises - In the worst case scenario its about being forced from your home becasue its redevelopment makes some one else a lot of cash. Its about who owns the streets you walk on and the fact that in some cases you no longer have automatic permission to walk there. I am over stating her complaints perhaps and certainly missing much that is positive in her analysis - but in essence thats what this book is about. If you dont believe it can be so- you should certainly read the book.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Ground Control: Fear and happiness in the twenty-first-century city
£7.49
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews