Customer Reviews


49 Reviews
5 star:
 (34)
4 star:
 (10)
3 star:
 (2)
2 star:
 (3)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


26 of 26 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Fantastic book
I first bought this book in hardback many years ago and loved it. I lent it to someone and didn't get it back, so I bought it in paperback, read it again, and loved it again. I have now bought it for my Kindle and it was like meeting an old friend, I loved it all over again, and can now hardly wait until all of her other books have been made for the Kindle. She writes...
Published on 29 April 2012 by Teach

versus
3.0 out of 5 stars Good story
Overall I liked this book but found the Scottish phrases a little difficult to understand. Delivery was really quick which was great.
Published 11 months ago by shirley kilroe


Most Helpful First | Newest First

4.0 out of 5 stars Excellent for the genre, 1 Jan 2014
By 
K. Sutton (UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
Not over sentimental, loved the detail. Made me wish my nan was alive to compare tales. Great way to preserve history.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars lovely book, 22 Dec 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Shoes Were For Sunday (Paperback)
Some of the speaking in the book is quite hard to understand, but found it didnt matter as its such a lovely real story to read
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Shoes Were For Sunday, 29 Nov 2013
By 
Marlene Fleming "Marlene" (Scotland) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Shoes Were For Sunday (Paperback)
A brilliant book by Molly Weir written with warmth and humour but also highlighting the hard conditions at that time in the Glasgow tenements. She also explains how this formed her character and spurred her on to become a famous, much loved actress.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Brings back memories:), 4 Nov 2013
By 
Ms. Ruth Rothery (Scotland) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Shoes Were For Sunday (Paperback)
I felt this story was really portraying the close relationship between Molly Weir and her beloved Granny, as well as bringing to mind things I (and my 90 year old mum) had forgotten. Like a piece with sugar and, of course, how any number of friends and relatives could be squeezed in to a wee space and somehow everyone was fed and a good time was had by all. Although not the kind book that keeps you on edge so you cant stop reading, It's a book you can pick up easily and leaves you recalling many happy memories
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars great read, 17 Oct 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
As usual Robert Doulgas transports you back in time and provides a fabulous nostalgic look back at Glasgow, this time in the early 70's.

Some familiar characters and some new ones brought to life with some great Glasgow humour.

Another winner from Mr Douglas
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars wonderfully written, 11 Oct 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
Non sentimental view of life in the Glasgow tenements after the first war.
Molly Weir is a fabulous narrator and this book is full of the simple pleasures lost to today's children.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars remenber, 1 Oct 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
great story made me laugh and remember my own childhood ,thinking of my nana and granddad and the care free times we had
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars ENJOYED, 19 Sep 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Shoes Were For Sunday (Paperback)
BOUGHT THIS ON REVIEWS OF OTHERS. VERY EASY READ AND INTERESTING.
VERY WELL WRITTEN AND INSIGHTFUL. WILL READ MORE OF THIS GENRE
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2.0 out of 5 stars Shoes Were For Sunday, 6 Sep 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
I have been wading through this book for ages and find it hard going as I really am very disappointing and have to say that I don't like it and for me was a complete waste of money. This one does not reach my expectations of Molly Weir writings and I have read many of this ilk that I have enjoyed but this one lands on the heap of 'not to recommend' to friends.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Really good read, 10 Aug 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
Thoroughly enjoyed this and couldn't put it down, loved all the places described and life in the tenements. One of those book that you are sorry to finish.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Shoes Were For Sunday
Shoes Were For Sunday by Molly Weir (Paperback - 29 Mar 2012)
£5.99
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews