Customer Reviews


310 Reviews
5 star:
 (162)
4 star:
 (69)
3 star:
 (50)
2 star:
 (17)
1 star:
 (12)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


77 of 81 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Hilarious
Pretty impressed that I've managed to finish a book the day after it was published! But that's down to the fact that it's great. Loved the descriptions of him at school, joining the sea-scouts because it sounded camp, and of his first attempts at stand up in the comic relief assembly at school. But it was also fascinating to see the darker sides of his life. I've always...
Published 22 months ago by AnnaS

versus
12 of 13 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars camp david
David Williams is a very talented comedian, a great entertainer and this book I feel didn't do him justice.I was so looking forward to reading this talented funny man's autobiography Camp David but have to say was very disappointed. I found the book very slow and drawn out, over detailed with other people in his story, not really enough about David, I managed to get half...
Published 21 months ago by bbsan


‹ Previous | 1 2 331 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Let down from the beginning, 13 Mar 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Camp David (Kindle Edition)
I am so let down that the book didn't take you up to the present day it's just a rip off to make you buy sequel some good content but its a book without an end
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Fab, 23 Jan 2013
By 
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Camp David (Kindle Edition)
Shows the darker side of this very talented man and confirms that all talented people have some darkness in their past. Compelling reading and not all dark, there is the funny side too
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Camp David by David Walliams., 19 Jan 2013
By 
BT (Lancashire) - See all my reviews
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Camp David (Kindle Edition)
A heartfelt account of David's life. Nobody would have ever known of the despair he had gone through st the hands of depression.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Not what I was expecting, 13 Jan 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Camp David (Kindle Edition)
One of the most moving autobiographies I have read in some time. A very open and honest account of a life shaped by depression. I really like the style of writing - no sentimentality and the account of periods of depression is described very factually. The author does not try to gain sympathy although I did feel hugely sympathetic. Amazing that he has reached such heights of popularity when he is racked with self doubt.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars BRILLIANT, 13 Jan 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Camp David (Kindle Edition)
What a really touching, honest story about Davids life.
Made me laugh and couldnt put the book down.
Makes you really apprecaite the struggles he has gone through to get to where he is today
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Love him loved the book, 13 Jan 2013
By 
J. Bentley (Leeds, uk) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Camp David (Kindle Edition)
Really enjoyed this book was easy to dip in and out of during the night when feeding my new baby. Kept me awake without disturbing my sleep. I found it funny, sad, moving a whole host of emotions and I like him even more knowing the tough time he's had. Depression is still somewhat taboo and yet it is an illness to be treated like any other - it's especially difficult for men to get help and hats off to David for his honest account of what he went through and on bad days probably still does. I also enjoyed memories of the 80's being the same age I remember it all well. If you like him you'll enjoy it too, if you don't like him you'll probably like him after this or at least have new found respect.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Lovely, easy gossipy read, 10 Jan 2013
By 
This review is from: Camp David (Hardcover)
This was a well -appreciated Christmas present, me being a fan of Little Britain and Come Fly With Me.
David Walliams is his own person in a very refreshing way. He does not conform to any stereotypes, so his views are interesting and unusual as well as being frank and honest.
The gossipy style is sooooo Walliams. Reading the book was not unlike a having a tea-break chat with a colleague who lets you in the stuff you are gagging to know.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars So much respect for David, 7 Jan 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Camp David (Kindle Edition)
This book had me mesmerized! I love little Britain and was intrigued to read about David's life. What a lovely man. Very troubled past, overcoming severe depression and such self hatred to become the much admired man he is today :) a must read AND to be continued - can't wait
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Great read, 5 Jan 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Camp David (Kindle Edition)
What a great read. How brave of David to write such personnel things about his life. Love David even more after reading this book.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Full on!, 4 Jan 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Camp David (Kindle Edition)
Really enjoyed David's book, a perfect balance of comedy and pain, inspirational to anyone going through a difficult time :)
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 331 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Camp David
Camp David by David Walliams (Paperback - 28 Mar 2013)
5.59
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews