Customer Reviews


25 Reviews
5 star:
 (16)
4 star:
 (4)
3 star:
 (2)
2 star:
 (2)
1 star:
 (1)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


10 of 10 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A must for every sixth former
As much world history and geography as you will ever need, and a revealing insight intothe upper layers of British Life....and laugh.....
Published 21 months ago by kit douglas

versus
8 of 9 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars Disappointed
I admire Matthew Parris's writing hugely; he has a rare insight into politics.

This book is just a collection of reports from British ambassadors. They are mildly amusing but don't tell us much we didn't already know. They certainly aren't hilarious. The title refers to a diplomatic junket abroad at which the Spanaish Ambassador lugged a heavy suitcase round...
Published 19 months ago by Nigel O


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

10 of 10 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A must for every sixth former, 20 Nov 2012
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
As much world history and geography as you will ever need, and a revealing insight intothe upper layers of British Life....and laugh.....
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


8 of 9 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars Disappointed, 13 Jan 2013
I admire Matthew Parris's writing hugely; he has a rare insight into politics.

This book is just a collection of reports from British ambassadors. They are mildly amusing but don't tell us much we didn't already know. They certainly aren't hilarious. The title refers to a diplomatic junket abroad at which the Spanaish Ambassador lugged a heavy suitcase round with himn, and the contents were never seen. Maybe it contained his wife. Laugh? No.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars An entertainig and compulsive read, 9 Feb 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This book gives a fascinatingly frank and often very amusing insight into how Her Majesty's ambassadors view the countries to which they are sent to represent the UK. I gave this book to several friends as a Christmas present and each reported back that those they were with on Christmas Day almost fought over the book as they all wanted to read it.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Great book, 13 Dec 2012
By 
Dick Stroud (London, England) - See all my reviews
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
He is such a good author. Love his writing in the Times. This doesn't disappoint. Makes you wonder how the diplomatic service worked
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Hilarious, for those who like straight faced humour, 18 Oct 2013
This review is from: THE SPANISH AMBASSADOR'S SUITCASE: Stories from the Diplomatic Bag (Paperback)
Do not read this book in a public place. As I have just found, it will produce solicitous inquiries for your welfare from people who do not know if you are laughing or crying. Laughing, definitely. For those who like the Jerome K Jerome style of straight faced, this is the way it happened, humour, this is a gold mine. Some wonderfully intelligent people write, in the format of an official report, killing humour. I was literally unable to stop laughing - many strange looks from passers by.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars OK read, 1 April 2013
Some humour, some boring bits, an insight to the FCO. Not sure I would recommend. Still, each to their own.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars A well chosen anthology, 3 Feb 2013
By 
K. Catleugh - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
Matthew Parris can always be relied on to produce a readable, interesting slant on whatever topic he chooses to write about. This collection of Ambassadorial observation is no exception. As someone who was professionally involved with our Diplomatic Service in the past (and actually knew some of the people featured), I was fascinated, amused and sometimes frustrated that many of those included , had to be cut for obvious space reasons. Very enjoyable - and thought provoking too.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A captivating read, 27 Dec 2012
By 
Rodge Slape (Yorkshire, England) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
Mathew Parris is a great writer with an easy turn of wit. In this book he relates the excellent research of his co-author Andrew Bryson who has spent many hours trawling though the diplomatic despatches of various Ambassadors first impressions on arrival at their foreign embassies.
An interesting and informative read. Highly recommended.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 4 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Perfect Christmas gift for Men, 11 Dec 2012
By 
Maxigriff (Winchester, Hampshire) - See all my reviews
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This is great fun, well written , full of anecdotes and highly entertaining. Some of it barely seems credible which makes it all the funnier.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Fascinating Reading, 3 April 2014
By 
Odelew (Melbourne, Australia & Hong Kong) - See all my reviews
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: THE SPANISH AMBASSADOR'S SUITCASE: Stories from the Diplomatic Bag (Paperback)
The pieces are a fascinating mix of insight and error, humour and prejudice and make very interesting reading. Highly recommended
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

THE SPANISH AMBASSADOR'S SUITCASE: Stories from the Diplomatic Bag
THE SPANISH AMBASSADOR'S SUITCASE: Stories from the Diplomatic Bag by Matthew Parris (Paperback - 4 July 2013)
6.99
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews