Customer Reviews


29 Reviews
5 star:
 (17)
4 star:
 (10)
3 star:
 (1)
2 star:
 (1)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


16 of 16 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Puff pastry please
Volume 1 is a must-have for every cook, volume 2 is also a must-have but it contains more complex, sophisticated recipes, some of which will become favourites and some of which will just always require a little bit too much time, too much effort, too many things.
Volume 2 builds on volume 1 and I find the Puff Pastry recipes already on their own worth the book. The...
Published on 22 Aug 2010 by M. Schisano

versus
13 of 18 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Excellent to read; tricky to cook from
This contains many useful techniques supplementing those set out in the first volume of this pair.
A large portion of the book, however, is given over to extremely elaborate recipes requiring copious amounts of time and access to an old-fashioned butcher.
If you don't have a PhD in cuts of meat, then the meat recipes will be tricky.
The actual ingredients...
Published on 9 Aug 2005 by Mr. Timothy F. Morgan


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

16 of 16 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Puff pastry please, 22 Aug 2010
By 
M. Schisano (The Netherlands) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
Volume 1 is a must-have for every cook, volume 2 is also a must-have but it contains more complex, sophisticated recipes, some of which will become favourites and some of which will just always require a little bit too much time, too much effort, too many things.
Volume 2 builds on volume 1 and I find the Puff Pastry recipes already on their own worth the book. The instructions and drawings are, like for volume 1, top of the bill.
Volume 2 contains the following sections: 1) Soups of the Garden - Bisques and Soups from the Sea 2)Baking: Breads, Brioches, Croissants and Pastries 3)Meats: From Country kitchen to Haute Cuisine 4)Chickens, Poached and Sauced - and a Coq en Pate 5)Charcuterie: Sausages, Salted Pork and Goose, Pates and Terrines 6)A Choice of Vegetables 7)Desserts: Extending the Repertoire. Bon Appetit!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


27 of 28 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A classic in the truest sense, 3 Mar 2003
By 
I have owned this book for many years (since 1977) and it still remains as one of the finest books on the method of French cooking. It is thorough and easy to understand as long as you read the recipe very carefully and fully before you begin. The recipes themselves are presented so that the reader is introduced to the basic way of preparing and cooking something with variations following on from the master recipe in question. Volume 1 takes the reader through Soups (onion, garlic, vichyssoise being fine and tasty examples), through a fabulous chapter on sauces (white, brown, hollandaise, stocks etc) and moves on to some of the classic dishes for which the French are known (Coq au Vin, Pot-au-Fue). The only criticism I could think of was a slightly dissappointing chapter on fish - they only really mention sole (unsurprisingly perhaps). The puddings are particularly straightforward to follow and quite delicious (cheery clafoutie being particularly so). Some of the recipes do call for a particularly long time in the kitchen - especially for the traditional French loaf for example - but if you have time on your hands or a long weekend ahead, it is well worth the effort immersing yourself in the delights of making (perhaps) a wonderful choucroute a l'Alsacienne and enjoying the beautiful meaty aroma of a dish that takes at least 5 hours to cook.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


20 of 21 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars An excellent guide for the novice and accomplished chef, 9 Nov 2000
By A Customer
Mastering the Art of French Cooking vol 2 is an natural complement to the first volume.
This excellent book - now regarded as a standard by keen amateurs and professional chefs alike - is not produced in the style of the latest 'glossy photo' format. Instead, it uses clear and succinct descriptions of the key techniques you'll need to undertake basic and more complex classic French recipes.
It's a clear and accessible guide. If you're keen on developing your cooking skills further then you should have it on your kitchen book shelf.
At 768 pages in length, it's certainly a comprehensive book, and good value when compared with 'TV Chef' books
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


20 of 22 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A must have for anyone who takes cooking seriously, 8 Jan 2001
By 
HadjiMurad (Tetbury, Glos United Kingdom) - See all my reviews
I was given volume 1 for my 23rd birthday - I finally found volume 2 5 years later! How did the fact that I wanted it stick in my mind for so long? Buy them and you will instantly understand. These are *the* definitive cook books - they are to other cookery books what the "Complete works of Shakespeare" are to drama. They are sometimes complex but oh, so thorough (for example, about 70 pages on the core of French cuisine - sauces, alone!) The recipes are listed step by step, forcing you to read and understand each one (indeed, I recommend reading them like novels, if only just the sections on kitchen equipment and technique!) but they are fantastic. Try, for example, "Sauce Venaison" - it spans a number of pages and evolves from "Brown Sauce" through "Sauce Ragout" to this delicious game sauce (takes about 4 hours to make, but when I tasted it I couldn't believe I had actually made it...!) Forget all those self help books - these will *really* change your life! (Ok, maybe that's a bit OTT but they are good).
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Julia Childs, 18 Dec 2012
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Mastering the Art of French Cooking, Vol.2 (Paperback)
Both the books are excellent and comprehensive. Number 2 being my favourite as it is more up to date and
user friendly. But both make excellent reading.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Great little book., 17 Dec 2012
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Mastering the Art of French Cooking, Vol.2 (Paperback)
Great book, old fashioned in a brilliant way. Will look forward more to cooking from it when we move to france.
The book is well laid out as easy to follow, it does not have the glossy photos of modern receipy books, but that is what makes it more special.
I have to admit that I looked the books up some months ago after what the film Julie & Julia, which I loved too.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars great reference book, 29 Aug 2011
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
I bought both these books as a gift, very well recieved. Written by Julia Child (Julie & Julia) this is an excellent reference book, including some complex techniques. Part 1&2 complement each other nicely, and if you are thinking abou buying one, consider buying the pair
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars A cookbook that works!, 15 Oct 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
Best cook books I have come across! This and volume 1 ( especially) make a great present for somebody that loves food and cooking. A lot of cookbook writers don't actually test their recipes. These are all guaranteed to work with very clear instructions. The closest I have ever come to replicating great restaurant food, that even amazed me! These are not your 'Jamie Oliver' quick supper ideas though, but for a special occasion, or for learning the basics, eg scrabbled eggs. Enjoy!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars For the serious home cooker, 6 Jun 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
Iconic book as expected from Julia Child. Difficult to follow some recipies while cooking as there printed over leaf on pages
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Great book, 1 Mar 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Mastering the Art of French Cooking, Vol.2 (Paperback)
Recommended by Elizabeth David, a serious book for those of us that started cooking before TV chefs. It will go to live with my Elizabeth David collection. Lots of real French recipes and information.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Mastering the Art of French Cooking, Vol.2
Mastering the Art of French Cooking, Vol.2 by Simone Beck (Paperback - 24 Nov 2011)
£9.09
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews