Customer Reviews


18 Reviews
5 star:
 (11)
4 star:
 (3)
3 star:
 (2)
2 star:
 (1)
1 star:
 (1)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


37 of 38 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars A beautiful tribute
A tribute and biography of Spike Milligan partly in his own words and a title that I absolutely loved from the first page to the last especially since I remember listening to my radio and enjoying the Goon Shows on repeat on a Sunday Night before bed.

What this title does is bring not only the witty Spike to the fore but allows the reader to delve deeper into...
Published on 16 Oct 2011 by Gareth Wilson - Falcata Times Blog

versus
3.0 out of 5 stars Hmm
This is not to my taste at all but you either love Spike Milligan or don't. The recipient of this gift is ia big Goon Show fan and finds it very funny but it leaves me cold.
Published 6 months ago by anon 337


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

5.0 out of 5 stars if you enjoy a good laugh - then read on, but be prepared for a few tears as well!, 24 Nov 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
Many moons ago I read "puccoon." It was one of the funniest books I'd ever read, so when I saw Spike's name on the reading list I had to read it.

I was not disappointed.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3.0 out of 5 stars Its ok but is basically bits and pieces from all ..., 20 Sep 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
Its ok but is basically bits and pieces from all the war memoirs if you have read those don't bother with this.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars great man, true genius, 2 Sep 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
Has me in stitches ... only a quarter of the way through and loving every word ... great man, true genius.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Five Stars, 8 Aug 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
Witty and irreverent..
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Amusing, 3 Aug 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
Amusing
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 3 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars A misleading title, 7 Dec 2012
By 
This review is from: Milligan's Meaning of Life: An Autobiography of Sorts (Paperback)
I thought this book might have new material, but it is simply extracts from some of his works, including novels, letters, poems and Goonshow scripts. Spike Milligan was a very funny man, the leading comic of his time and a huge influence on a generation of subsequent comics. However, his writings don't stand up very well on a second or third reading. He repeats the same themes, especially the war, and the same wordplay. This book is not 'Milligans' meaning of life' by any stretch of the imagination. Any fan of Spike will have already read much, if not all, of the material presented here.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


0 of 2 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars Milligan's Meaning of Life: An Autobiography of Sorts, 2 Oct 2012
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
A poor book making money off the Milligan name, and repeating some known stories and poems.
Very poor reflection on Spike Milligan's exceptional work.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 7 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars very fast service, 22 Dec 2011
As it's a present for someone else, I can't say anything about the content, but the book was received quickly and in good condition. Can't say more.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Milligan's Meaning of Life: An Autobiography of Sorts
Milligan's Meaning of Life: An Autobiography of Sorts by Spike Milligan (Paperback - 7 Jun 2012)
£7.19
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews