Customer Reviews


15 Reviews
5 star:
 (9)
4 star:
 (3)
3 star:
 (1)
2 star:
 (1)
1 star:
 (1)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


36 of 37 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars A beautiful tribute
A tribute and biography of Spike Milligan partly in his own words and a title that I absolutely loved from the first page to the last especially since I remember listening to my radio and enjoying the Goon Shows on repeat on a Sunday Night before bed.

What this title does is bring not only the witty Spike to the fore but allows the reader to delve deeper into...
Published on 16 Oct 2011 by Gareth Wilson - Falcata Times Blog

versus
3.0 out of 5 stars Hmm
This is not to my taste at all but you either love Spike Milligan or don't. The recipient of this gift is ia big Goon Show fan and finds it very funny but it leaves me cold.
Published 2 months ago by anon 337


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

36 of 37 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars A beautiful tribute, 16 Oct 2011
By 
Gareth Wilson - Falcata Times Blog "Falcata T... - See all my reviews
(VINE VOICE)    (TOP 500 REVIEWER)   
A tribute and biography of Spike Milligan partly in his own words and a title that I absolutely loved from the first page to the last especially since I remember listening to my radio and enjoying the Goon Shows on repeat on a Sunday Night before bed.

What this title does is bring not only the witty Spike to the fore but allows the reader to delve deeper into the man behind the character through personal letters and brought together by his manager Norma Farnes who got to see the side of him that was rarely presented. It's touching, it has a wonderful blend of whimsy and also allows the reader to relive some of Spike's funniest moments as well as the ups and downs in his own life.

All in, this is a wonderful tribute to one of the people who changed the face of comedy as the British audience will attest. Magical.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


10 of 10 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Fantastic, 4 Dec 2011
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
I love anything to do with Spike Milligan, and this book is no exception.
It is funny, sad , and heart warming. I love the stories about him and his children.
What a talent he had, the likes of which will never be seen again.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Wonderful and Moving. Milligan gold dust., 16 Jun 2012
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This concentrates some of the best of Spike Milligan's writing into a single book. It is both very funny and at times deeply moving. It is edited with a unique take on Milligan's work and I was very sorry to get to the end. I now want to re-read all Spike Milligan's work. If you are a Milligan fan this is gold dust.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Milligan is magic, 4 Sep 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
I am biased,I freely admit it,being long service ex army and spending time with the Royal Artillery,
I can relate to all of Milligans writings,be it by Spike or about Spike.
Nothing more to be said.Brilliant.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5 of 6 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars The Spike of Life, 25 Nov 2011
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
Spike was an interesting man, with a sense of humour mad s--ds like me instantly connect with. In his lifetime he wrote some very funny books and this story of him serves him well.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars This book was brilliant, 25 Jun 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Milligan's Meaning of Life: An Autobiography of Sorts (Paperback)
This book was brilliant. It made me laugh. It was very good telling you all about his life. Especially when he was little.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3.0 out of 5 stars Hmm, 22 May 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This is not to my taste at all but you either love Spike Milligan or don't. The recipient of this gift is ia big Goon Show fan and finds it very funny but it leaves me cold.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars As funny as it gets, 21 Feb 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
Clips and essays drawn from Milligan's long life by his longtime publisher, this is a book to dip into, showcasing Spike's laugh-out-loud absurdist humour and - less well known - a bit of his poetry and private correspondence.

This man was mad, in a good way. I've never seen the Goons, but will now try and get hold of transcripts. Timeless, classic comedy that shows today's wimpy sitcoms what edgy and daring really are. And barely an f-word in sight.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars very funny, 17 Oct 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
Very funny spike had a terrific career in comedy this book showed his genius for writing and performing enjoyable read
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Excellent, 11 Oct 2012
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
While I am not old enough to remember the goons myself, I bought this book for my dad who loves the goon show. Book arrived undamaged and on predicted time.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Milligan's Meaning of Life: An Autobiography of Sorts
Milligan's Meaning of Life: An Autobiography of Sorts by Spike Milligan (Paperback - 7 Jun 2012)
6.29
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews