Customer Reviews


48 Reviews
5 star:
 (18)
4 star:
 (17)
3 star:
 (8)
2 star:
 (4)
1 star:
 (1)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


8 of 8 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars A good read
As with some of the other reviewers, I knew who did it very quickly into the story. I have to say that it didn't spoil the experience at all. The plot was by no means predictable, but the first half was a bit slow as the protagonist doesn't really take assertive action against the bad guys until the second half of the book.

Cornwell has a fondness for the...
Published on 4 May 2007 by mun

versus
37 of 41 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Best of Cornwell's Sea Thrillers but no Sharpe!
'Sea Lord' is the last of the Sea based thrillers by Cornwell that I have got around to reading. They have ranged in style from Miami Vice-esque (Crackdown), crazy eco-warriors (Storm Child) and now a more sedate and traditional story of feuding families.

'Sea Lord' is the best of Bernard Cornwell's Sea books because it's the most like his other novels such as...
Published on 4 Aug 2006 by Sam Tyler


Most Helpful First | Newest First

5.0 out of 5 stars Easy Read, 21 Jan 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Sea Lord (Kindle Edition)
Very easy to read although a little predictable but interesting if you are in to sailing although a bit technical if you aren't
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2.0 out of 5 stars Very hard going for me, 1 Jan 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Sea Lord (Kindle Edition)
I bought this on the name of the author. I have enjoyed his books before. I did not enjoy this one.
Rather unkindly I thought he may have wtitten this as a bill was due!

Stephen
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Great book, 26 Nov 2012
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Sea Lord (Kindle Edition)
I got used to Sharpe so this book was bought with a little trepidation, no worries though it was an extremely good read.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


19 of 26 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars Sea Lord, 11 July 2002
By A Customer
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Sea Lord (Paperback)
The weakest Cornwell book I have read yet. It seemed to have been written in haste and not well proof-read. I lost count of the times a torch or searchlight "slashed" through the darkness. You ought to guess who did it in the first 10-15 pages, which kind of takes the fun out of the book and there are countless plot weaknesses that made this a regrettable read for me. There is an art to a who-dunnit, and it is not displayed here.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3.0 out of 5 stars enjoyed it, 2 Aug 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Sea Lord (Kindle Edition)
Took a while to get into this one and guessed the culprit before the revealing of who done it!!!! enjoyed it though
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Five Stars, 4 Sep 2014
This review is from: Sea Lord (Paperback)
A good book, up to Cornwalls usual standard, well packed and promptly delivered.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3.0 out of 5 stars mediorce in parts, 18 Sep 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Sea Lord (Kindle Edition)
Well written generally but storyline is variable and is stoggy in parts
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 2 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars An easy enjoyable read, not taxing, good holiday stuff!, 3 Aug 2011
By 
This review is from: SEA LORD (Hardcover)
SEA LORD Bernard Cornwell

I have for a long time, personally believed, that Cornwell's sailing adventures are some of his best writing. Historical novels are my main interest in fiction and I am not normally that keen on modern period thrillers, I am happy to make an exception to the rule for Cornwell's five sailing tales, (and those of Sam Llewellyn), particularly as they are set in the decades of my own serious yachting days and therefore have a very familiar nostalgia. I must admit that I was genuinely disappointed when no further novels of the same ilk were forthcoming after the five were published.

Sea Lord's hero, Rossendale, 28th Earl of Stowey has been in voluntary exile after leaving Britain under something of a cloud. He returns for his mother's funeral and meets an Italian Countess, has an attempt made on his life and finds that his past has returned to haunt him. This novel is an easy read which cracks along at a good pace with likeable characters even if the story is a little lightweight and unusually transparent for Cornwell.

Never the less, an enjoyable read, particularly if you like boats.

Every couple of years I take down my spare, battered, paperback copies of these five novels and they accompany me on holiday. I am not sure how many times I have re-read them in the past twenty years but despite knowing the stories intimately I never tire of them.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2.0 out of 5 stars Two Stars, 28 July 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Sea Lord (Kindle Edition)
Love the sea, love B Cornwel, didnt love this book
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3.0 out of 5 stars Three Stars, 6 Aug 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Sea Lord (Kindle Edition)
A really enjoyable "who dunnit"
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Sea Lord
Sea Lord by Bernard Cornwell (Paperback - 7 July 2011)
£5.59
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews