Shop now Shop now Shop now  Up to 50% Off Fashion  Shop all Amazon Fashion Cloud Drive Photos Shop now Learn More Shop now Shop now Shop Fire Shop Kindle  Learn more Countdown to Prime Day Shop now Shop now

Customer Reviews

4.1 out of 5 stars101
4.1 out of 5 stars
Format: Paperback|Change
Price:£7.99+ Free shipping with Amazon Prime
Your rating(Clear)Rate this item


There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

on 13 September 2015
It's having sailed myself, that when I read Bernard Cornwall, I feel I am really there, going through each experience with him. Authentic to the core!
John Inglis
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 22 July 2013
A good yarn, moved along at a quick pace,, it has all the ingredients for a good read and the hero gets the girl, good stuff and an excellent read from the master.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 12 December 2014
Not up to Cornwells' usual standards.I pegged the villain in the first chapter and I don't really remember much of the rest of it and I only read it last week.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 10 March 2013
This novel is a deceptive read in that it started off slow and built to a crescendo. This is my first Bernard Cromwell novel and it will not be the last.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 31 May 2013
Generally good, although some parts a little slow. The characters are less memorable than say Sharpe or Utred and perhaps not so credible as real people
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 20 January 2014
i love this type of novel as it keeps coming up with different things all the time and some of the reserch done is knowledge of the area i already have
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 8 August 2013
This is a great book for a Cornwell fan. Particularly if you dont always want to get embroilled in a series of books. A good stand alone offering.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 18 February 2014
Very much up to Bernard Cornwell's high standard even though it is a departure from his more usual historical novels of which I am a great fan
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 3 August 2015
Easy to read, nicely descriptive of sailing a small boat at sea. Enjoyable if not challenging (I had the villain identified immediately).
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 2 September 2013
This was a fast moving story blending descriptions of journeys by sailing craft and intriguing plot. Very enjoyable and very well written.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse

Customers also viewed these items

£6.19
£8.83
£8.99
£7.99

Send us feedback

How can we make Amazon Customer Reviews better for you?
Let us know here.