Customer Reviews


36 Reviews
5 star:
 (21)
4 star:
 (8)
3 star:
 (4)
2 star:
 (3)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


21 of 21 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars A possible masterpiece in the making
This is the last of the Hornblower novels and very slim in comparison to the others in the series. This is because C. S. Forester never had the opportunity to finish `Hornblower and the Crisis' as he sadly passed away whilst he was writing it.

This small book contains:

The unfinished novel `Hornblower and the Crisis', with a half-page of notes at the...
Published on 3 Jun. 2010 by J. Cooper

versus
10 of 10 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars Hornblower and the Crisis
Unless one is intending to read the whole series of C S Forester's books about Hornblower (which I highly recommend), I wouldn't advise the reading of "Hornblower and the Crisis". This was Forester's last book before his death and, as such, is incomplete. This episode of Hornblower's naval career sets out at a cracking pace but unfortunately the reader is left suspended...
Published on 4 April 2011 by Mrs. M. Lud


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 4 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

21 of 21 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars A possible masterpiece in the making, 3 Jun. 2010
By 
J. Cooper (Sheffield, England) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This is the last of the Hornblower novels and very slim in comparison to the others in the series. This is because C. S. Forester never had the opportunity to finish `Hornblower and the Crisis' as he sadly passed away whilst he was writing it.

This small book contains:

The unfinished novel `Hornblower and the Crisis', with a half-page of notes at the end of the ninth chapter which describes how the story would end.

Two short stories - one of which describes Hornblower as a very young junior lieutenant and the second, much shorter story, which gives us a glimpse of the aging 72 year old Admiral at his home.

Whilst this book is very short, only a hundred and fifty so pages, it's a book that Hornblower enthusiasts must have with their collection. `Hornblower and the Crisis' was shaping up to be an excellent book when it was abruptly halted by Forester's tragic death. As Forester was writing this book towards the end of his life when the rest of the series had already been written, he had already had the opportunity to thoroughly develop Hornblower's persona. As a result `Hornblower and the Crisis' could possibly have been one of the most exciting and authentic books in the series. Alas we will never know.

This is a good book on which to end the series. Often, popular authors continue to write books long after they have `peaked' which as a result tends to `water down' their entire works. Whilst I have no doubt that further Hornblower novels would have been of an excellent standard, the fact that the series finished at eleven books has ensured that their quality and reception by new readers has been preserved for many years.

I thoroughly recommend Hornblower to any individual who has a passion for the great ships in the age of sail or alternatively to those interested in the Napoleonic Wars.

Hornblower has given me countless hours of reading pleasure and I hope he can do the same for you.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


10 of 10 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars Hornblower and the Crisis, 4 April 2011
Unless one is intending to read the whole series of C S Forester's books about Hornblower (which I highly recommend), I wouldn't advise the reading of "Hornblower and the Crisis". This was Forester's last book before his death and, as such, is incomplete. This episode of Hornblower's naval career sets out at a cracking pace but unfortunately the reader is left suspended with only a synopsis of the likely middle and ending which I found highly unsatisfactory. Those who are embarking on the whole series, should they be fortunate enough to have all the other ten books, need not worry about "The Crisis" as it doesn't leave any noticeable gaps in the life of this navel hero. Bon voyage!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Napoleonic sea adventures., 29 Jan. 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
I have all the Hornblower books except this one. I first started reading them in my teens and love them. If you like historical adventures try to read this series in the correct order starting with 'Midshipman Hornblower'. I have re-read them all many times and still get enjoyment from them.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars all ok, 12 April 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Hornblower and the Crisis (Paperback)
I needed to replace very old copies-this edition adequate for this
Good price, quick service
also contained two hitherto un seen monograms which was a surprise!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Horn lower in a crisis, 19 Oct. 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
Once again a fantastic. Read around the naval Neopolionic naval and land battles. Historical and naval detail is atomospheric and makes this a highly addictive read.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars C.S.Forister what else is ther to say, 29 July 2013
By 
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
I have read several books by C.S.Forister and all have been good reads, this one is no exception, I look forward to my next C.S.Forister book.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3.0 out of 5 stars Unfinished, 21 Jun. 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
As it is an unfinished book it ends rather abruptly and the two short stories are completely out of chronological sequence.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Father's Choice, 20 Jun. 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
The Hornblower series is a great choice for my father as he loves the character and reading about Hornblower's adventures.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Hornblower - A boyuhood Hero, 15 May 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
I enjoy all of the Hornblower books and have read many of them several times. Hornblower was a boyhood hero with tales of "daring do" and a constant reminder of how tough life was aboard the ships of the time. In many respects Hornblower was a Bond of the time
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars A pity there are no more in the series., 29 April 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
I have not read to the final page but it seemed though still great stuff to be loosing purpose. I think its a pity that the first part of the book was not completed as a complete novel rather than as a reference to the publishers thoughts on a likely outcome on the basis of Forester's notes. It could then have provided a marvelous exciting finish to the "Hornblower" saga. Just think of the potential for a story concerned with bamboozling "Napoleon" and with providing a fitting ending including the death of Nelson at Trafalgar.
Will now need to investigate sources of the remaining C.S.Forester books.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 4 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Hornblower and the Crisis
Hornblower and the Crisis by C.S. Forester (Paperback - 1 Sept. 2011)
£8.99
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews