Customer Reviews


13 Reviews
5 star:
 (7)
4 star:
 (6)
3 star:    (0)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 
‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

5.0 out of 5 stars Very Good!, 29 April 2014
By 
Mr. R. J. E. Biden (United Kingdom) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Hornblower and the Atropos (Paperback)
What can one say about Hornblower that has not already been said... Very much of it's time and outclassed by Patrick O'Brian's, Jack Aubrey novels but the feeling for the Royal Navy in the Napoleonic wars is there in spades.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars A very enjoyable read, 23 Dec. 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This was my first Hornblower novel, although I have read many books about more modern sailing (I sail small boats). The plot was more of a gripping yarn or two, none the less enjoyable for that. Hornblower himself is a more complex character than he at first appears - he has different persona for different situations. The book is interesting as a study in leadership - Hornblower is full of self -doubt and fear of failure and disgrace, but would never admit this to anyone. Despite this he is seen by others as a dynamic leader and a hard man. I particularly liked this aspect of the book. Another highlight was the chase and sea battle towards the end of the book - very absorbing.
I have bought the next book in the chronology and I can see in the first pages that it builds and develops Hornblower's character. I am sure I will buy more from the series.
Definitely worth reading.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Adventure on the High seas, 27 Oct. 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
A very well written tale of daring with lots of detail on the difficulties of just sailing a ship let alone any fighting. Could not put it down until the end.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars books, 21 Oct. 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Hornblower and the Atropos (Paperback)
Bought at the request of my boss whose husband loves to read the Hornblower books. I think he has nearly all of them now.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Fantastic, 5 Feb. 2013
By 
Chrissie (Liverpool, UK) - See all my reviews
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Hornblower and the Atropos (Paperback)
Another rip-roaringly brilliant read by Forester. I would always recommend that one should read a series in chronological order but if you are at a loss for books to buy for yourself or another person, then this is a terrific place to start in the Hornblower canon. Enjoyment and understanding will not be precluded by not having read the preceding books. Exciting, tense and jubilant, this book will provide many hours of enjoyment and, if like me, you are already a devotee of the Hornblower series then you will regard it as a triumphal volume filled with stirring deeds culminating in a cathartic finale.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars The original and best., 22 Sept. 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
The very first Hornblower I ever read. The historical detail is amazing. As a girl I took little notice, wanting just to get on with the story, but rereading in maturity and knowing something about canals, it's superb.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Four Stars, 17 Jan. 2015
By 
J. M. Beazley - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
One or two printing errors . Otherwise good
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Four Stars, 4 Nov. 2014
By 
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
as always a good read on holiday
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Good, 23 Sept. 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
Good as usual
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


0 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Swashbuckling story, 24 Dec. 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Hornblower and the Atropos (Paperback)
Bought as a present at the request of the recipient as he has enjoyed the other books in the series
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Hornblower and the Atropos
Hornblower and the Atropos by Forester C.S. (Paperback - 1 Sept. 2011)
£6.79
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews