Customer Reviews


 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


20 of 21 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Inequality- as bad for the rich as for the poor
I welcome this book. It is a superb summary of the problems that inequality actually creates. Inequality issues are often presented as being about the poor, but this book shows that we are all poorer for living in more unequal societies. Inequality is as bad for the rich as it is for the poor. Society is poorer as inequality becomes greater.

The impacts of...
Published on 23 July 2009 by Dr. Peter Davies

versus
3.0 out of 5 stars Poor diagrams in kindle edition
Like many books in Kindle editions, the diagrams and cartoons are very difficult, in some cases impossible, to read. While you can get a fairly good idea what's going on from the far too small versions that you get in this edition, I would recommend a paper edition in preference. The material itself is interesting, although it feels more like an academic paper that's...
Published 23 months ago by Jenny Barnes


‹ Previous | 119 20 2125 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

5.0 out of 5 stars Five Stars, 18 Sept. 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Spirit Level: Why Equality is Better for Everyone (Paperback)
First class.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


0 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars The Spirit Level, 13 Feb. 2010
By 
Roger T. Pretty (Orillia, Ontario, Canada) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This is the most significant study of its type in the past thirty years and accords well with the Canadian research of Environics of Toronto. It augurs ill for the USA and the chances of reformers there to actually have a significant impact on addressing health care, the environment,education, corporate governance, etc.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 6 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars This book will change the way you look at the world, 10 Dec. 2010
By 
Powerful and evidence driven analysis of the evils of the gross inequalities that we wrongly assume to be an inevitable and integral part of our society.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


0 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Great mind changing, 29 Jan. 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Spirit Level: Why Equality is Better for Everyone (Paperback)
It is an essential book if you are interested in the sociology of health and human psychology , although is very clear and is apt for everyone with a free spirit and free thinking, kinda a new version of new hippieness. Especially good if you live in an unequal country.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


0 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Everyone needs to read this book, 11 May 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This book gets to the bottom of so many of the problems faced by our societies today, I had heard of it a number of years ago and finally got around to ordering it, it is even better than I had expected it to be. It was also in perfect condition and arrived promptly
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 8 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Good premise, a bit drawn out, 3 Dec. 2010
By 
I have no issues with the research or idea - they are sound. I found this a bit repetitive and not particularly engaging. I already agreed with the premise, but didnt find that the text increased my convictions. I'm not sure it would convince a sceptic.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 6 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars COMPULSORY READING, 5 Nov. 2010
This should be compulsory reading in schools in the English speaking world. At least it would upset Glenn Beck.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5 of 10 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Book review, 25 April 2009
By 
M. A. Pell (Denbighshire, Wales, UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This book was mentioned in the Saturday paper and sounded very interesting. Decided to order it and I am pleased that I did. I have not finished it yet, but, I find the subject very interesting and very pertinent to the current state of Western Social structure and behaviours.
If only those in positions of real authority were prepared to open their minds to the important messages contained within - perhaps something could finally be started to try and improve some of the current ills and wrongness that is blighting our lives.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Five Stars, 25 Nov. 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Spirit Level: Why Equality is Better for Everyone (Paperback)
No issues
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Four Stars, 30 Aug. 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
Excellent
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 119 20 2125 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

The Spirit Level: Why Equality is Better for Everyone
The Spirit Level: Why Equality is Better for Everyone by Richard Wilkinson (Paperback - 4 Nov. 2010)
£7.69
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews