Customer Reviews


215 Reviews
5 star:
 (139)
4 star:
 (40)
3 star:
 (8)
2 star:
 (11)
1 star:
 (17)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


71 of 81 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Equality is better than wealth
This is a great book. The fact that many poor outcomes are linked with poverty is well known. What the authors point out is that there is strong evidence showing that the level of poverty is much less important than the level of inequality in a society. Inequality causes health and social problems to people at the bottom but also at the top of the spectrum. So inequality...
Published on 22 Mar 2009 by MB

versus
45 of 58 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Important topic; inadequate treatment
What are the effects of inequality? Is it damaging in itself, or only indirectly through waste of resources? If the former, what are the processes involved, and what can be done about them? What are the forces that have led to growing inequality, in the UK and the US at least, over the past 50 years? How do we justify inequality anyway, since the value of each pound to...
Published on 2 Jun 2010 by P. S. Braterman


‹ Previous | 1 222 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

71 of 81 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Equality is better than wealth, 22 Mar 2009
By 
MB (Liverpool) - See all my reviews
This is a great book. The fact that many poor outcomes are linked with poverty is well known. What the authors point out is that there is strong evidence showing that the level of poverty is much less important than the level of inequality in a society. Inequality causes health and social problems to people at the bottom but also at the top of the spectrum. So inequality is a lose lose situation.
I've read many science books recently. This is the best book I've read in many respects. It is very well written, very well documented, it deals with possibly the most serious political issue of our time, it is never patronising to the reader, and finally I was impressed by its scope: evidence comes from epidemiology, psychology, economics, sociology and more.
We should really send a copy of this book to each and every politician in the country. In recent times politicians have become obsessed with wealth creation. But wealth is a means not an end, and they are missing the forest for the trees.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


179 of 206 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Inequality is the root of all evil., 1 Feb 2010
By 
Moontrack (Hampshire) - See all my reviews
(TOP 500 REVIEWER)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
Richard Wilkinson and Kate Pickett have written a remarkable, meticulously researched book which argues convincingly that inequality is the root cause of many of society's ills. A mass of evidence is marshalled to demonstrate that levels of violent crime, mental illness, drug addiction, illiteracy, obesity etc. are almost always higher in more unequal societies and that even the affluent are adversely affected by inequality.
The UK is near the top of the income gap league with twice as much inequality as Scandinavia & Japan and consequently experiences more social problems. Chosen as a 'Top 10 Book' of the decade by New Statesman magazine, 'The Spirit Level' is an important, thought-provoking book and should be compulsory reading for ministers in the Con-Dem coalition government who profess concern about 'Broken Britain'. The recent riots in England(August 2011) make this an even more essential read.

P.S. The updated paperback edition(November,2010) includes a new chapter giving the authors' well-argued response to strident political attacks on the book from the free-market right.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


14 of 16 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Clear and convincing introduction to evidence-based policy, 27 Aug 2009
By 
...which should be required reading for every politician and policy-maker. Equality works - the evidence is overwhelming. Inequality doesn't work - it doesn't deliver a cohesive society or a sustainable economy or even economic performance as any sensible person would measure it.

At first the book is a bit tiring as it grinds through the evidence for this, but it does make the slightly more analytical section later on seem more grounded.

Fascinating to see that Cuba is literally the only country in the world to deliver high levels of human wellbeing at low levels of environmental impact; whatever we think of its shortcomings, and there are many, the place needs to be nurtured and treasured like a rare plant which contains a precious medicine -- not blockaded and bullied into adopting 'free market' solutions. Interesting to see too how well Japan does on so many indices - why do our politicians spend so much time learning from the US and so little from anywhere else?

Weak on actual remedies and policies that will help us to move in the right direction but still a brilliant read.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


7 of 8 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Inequality- as bad for the rich as for the poor, 23 July 2009
By 
Dr. Nicholas P. G. Davies (Halifax, UK) - See all my reviews
(VINE VOICE)    (TOP 1000 REVIEWER)    (REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
I welcome this book. It is a superb summary of the problems that inequality actually creates. Inequality issues are often presented as being about the poor, but this book shows that we are all poorer for living in more unequal societies. Inequality is as bad for the rich as it is for the poor. Society is poorer as inequality becomes greater.

The impacts of inequality show up in poorer health, lower educational attainment, higher crime rates, lower social capital, lower trust, lower co-operation the more unequal the society becomes. Wilkinson and Pickett give us clear evidence for these statements.

For the last twelve years we have endured in the UK a Labour government that preaches equality (then wonders "equality of what?") whilst actually presiding over increasing inequality and reducing social mobility.

Wilkinson and Pickett present their evidence well, in summary and clearly. I have the benefit of having been reading the research work on inequalities over several years so I recognised their evidence. If you need further evidence then you could follow the references, or read some of Wilkinson's The Impact of Inequality: How to Make Sick Societies Healthierearlier works, or Michael Marmot's useful book, "Status Syndrome." Status Syndrome: How Your Social Standing Directly Affects Your HealthTheir presentation of evidence is strong, and it is difficult after seeing their evidence to argue in favour of greater inequality at all.

Inequality is clearly a bad thing for a society, and its constituent individuals. The question comes about what to do about it, and how best to reduce it. Sadly these questions are usually posed and answered from the political left, usually in terms of state action and redistribution. It is clear after 12 years of a hyperactive state under Gordon brown that state action is a blunt instrument at best, and can often make things worse, and lock inequality in.

Wilkinson and Pickett have written this book well and have made an accurate diagnosis of the problems inequality is causing in unequal societies such as UK and USA. I am less sure about their suggested remedies, but I support their work, and hope that political and economic thinkers both on the left and on the right will come to recognise the problem of inequality, and come up with solutions for it.

Meanwhile as a medical doctor I will continue to try to patch up the casualties of inequality I meet in my consulting room.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


13 of 15 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars The book is an important contribution in urging politicians to see social problems as having social solutions, 10 Dec 2011
By 
Mark Pack (London, UK) - See all my reviews
(TOP 1000 REVIEWER)    (REAL NAME)   
This review is from: The Spirit Level: Why Equality is Better for Everyone (Paperback)
Although first published under a Labour government in 2009, this book is still highly relevant now we have a Conservative / Liberal Democrat coalition. In fact, it is even more relevant because the current political and economic circumstances are forcing politicians to think carefully about how much we are worried about inequality of outcome. Wilkinson and Pickett argue that widespread inequality helps increase a huge range of social ills, with the result that everyone suffers - even the most well off. Inequality in their view isn't just bad for the poor, it's also bad for the rich.

Analysing data primarily from 21 developed countries and also the different American states, they present evidence of a correlation between the level of inequality in each country (or state) and a range of outcomes: levels of trust, mental illness, life expectancy, infant mortality, obesity, children's educational performance, number of teenage births, murders, imprisonment rates and social mobility. More inequality goes with lower trust, more mental illness, higher murder rates and so on.

Within a particular society being richer may go with the problem being smaller for yourself, but across the society as a whole it is the level of inequality that, they say, determines the overall levels of the problem.

The authors therefore argue that rather than securing further economic growth, inequality is now the big challenge facing developed societies: "When the wolf was never far from the door, good times were times of plenty. But for the vast majority of people in affluent countries the difficulties of life are no longer about filling our stomachs, having clear water and keeping warm. Most of us now wish we could eat less rather than more. And, for the first time in history, the poor are - on average - fatter than the rich."

As statisticians everywhere says, correlation does not mean causation - so the authors go on from their presentation of the case that higher inequality goes with worse outcomes across their measures (and there is a debate over how significant a correlation their evidence shows) to present pieces of evidence that it is inequality which is actually causing those worse outcomes.

In particular, they pick from relatively recent medical advances showing how stress brings about chemical changes in the body that then has very tangible effects. Added to this is evidence that a person's sense of self-worth has an important impact on their ability to carry out tasks - so again more inequality leads to a worse outcome for individuals. Moreover, "the evolutionary importance of shame and humiliation provides a plausible explanation of why more unequal societies suffer more violence".

In a way this is very optimistic book, for if all these ills have a common factor - inequality - then in turn doing something about inequality could bring very widespread benefits. That clarity and simplicity of prognosis as to how to improve society makes the book far more optimistic than previous accounts of the ills of modern society such as JK Galbraith's The Culture of Contentment.

However, this optimistic logic highlights one of the book's weaknesses. Not only does it rely overwhelmingly on comparisons across countries at the same point in time, rather than in tracking ailments varying over the years, the limited amount of such evidence deployed is almost all of the `inequality increased and then things got worse' form. There is no automatic reason why, even if increasing inequality makes things worse, then decreasing it will make things better. The world is not always symmetrical. Moreover, even if the effect works strongly `in reverse', is it the most cost-effective route to take? If inequality causes stress which causes social ills, is targeting stress going to be more successful?

Despite these questions left unanswered, the book is an important contribution in urging politicians to see social problems as having social solutions; the focus needs to be on society and not on just individuals.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A compulsory read?, 17 Nov 2009
By 
Mr. Brian Parkinson (Lewes, Sussex, UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This book was recommended to me by a Professor of Sociology. You may therefore think that that it would be too dry and dense a read. This is not the case. Whilst not a Steig Larsson page turner it is well written and makes a well argued and for me rather surprising point.

Initially I was concerned that their statistical analysis was incorrect. Having completed the book I now suspect that they have just not presented the detail in order to make the book more accessible.

That more equal societies treat the poorer members of society better is quite logical and commonly understood. That more equal societies improve the lot of everyone in that society is a quantum change in thinking. The authors of course do not consider that having the second £billion materially improves anyone's happiness, health, longevity etc. You have to decide for yourself if this is true or if you even care. However, from my observations it is true.

I would make this book compulsory reading for all political candidates. For every one else I would suggest that they ask their MP what they intend to do about it.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars OK for an economist, 18 Mar 2010
By 
Pseudonym "Pseudonym" (Niedersachsen /Germany) - See all my reviews
I guess for an economist not knowing about paleontolithic research its a good book. The book is working on new data made available by world bank - I guess only now we have got data to make such a wide comparison over that many countries.

They say that inequality is not good for society as a whole and back it up with a large chunk of data. As far es I am concerned, I would have prefered numbers on the charts - but here you go, probably not good for popular demand.

The analysis itself disregards any evolutionary research there is. Man is not, like any vertebrate living in groups, a completely equal "animal". Rather there is a complex relationship in groups between alphas and betas. You would probably learn more on human group behavior reading Franz de Wall or any the moral Animal by Robert Wright.

But than again - for economists its sufficient. They normally cant handle more than one perspective. Just a bit strange, that the authors themselves are not economists.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Excellent - a shocking read, 5 Jun 2014
By 
Orrery (Bedford, England) - See all my reviews
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Spirit Level: Why Equality is Better for Everyone (Paperback)
This book has re-aligned my views completely. In case the title is misleading, the 'equality' is income equality (or inequality) and correlates to so many factors in our society - health outcomes, childhood literacy, obesity, teenage pregnancy etc.

It shows how very unequal societies have much worse problems, even for the very rich. You just end up with the rich having to live in gated communities for security.

Certainly, this is one of the most influential books I've ever read.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


6 of 7 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars What everyone needs to know, 15 July 2009
By 
J. Jill Gordon (Sydney, Australia) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Ever wondered why many people in Western societies are getting richer and feeling worse? Here is one approach to explaining the phenomenon. Written in clear prose for the non-scientist/non-epidemiologist, the book demonstrates how unequal societies foster problems that affect both rich and poor. They use data from a number of Western countries and from various US states to show where the negative effects of inequality between nations and within nations exert their effects. The book makes a reasoned, unemotive case for making some radical but achievable changes in the way we live - changes that are likely to benefit people at every level of society. Combined with Peter Singer's "The Life You Can Save", the authors provide a raft of ideas about individual, social and political changes that could reshape society in ways that improve the wellbeing of all.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


22 of 26 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars ground-breaking study of inequality, 3 Jan 2011
This review is from: The Spirit Level: Why Equality is Better for Everyone (Paperback)
Unsurprisingly the hard-back copy of this book sold over 100,000 copies. It addresses something we are all aware of: the shocking levels of inequality in our society and the way that this is connected to many ills, from poor mental health to higher prison populations. I was ahamed to see the UK up there with the US as one of the most unequal societies. Perhaps one of the most surprising discoveries was how affected by inequality people at every level of society are, not just the poorest or those at the bottom. It is literally in all our interests to mkae our societies more equal.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 222 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

The Spirit Level: Why Equality is Better for Everyone
The Spirit Level: Why Equality is Better for Everyone by Kate Pickett (Paperback - 4 Nov 2010)
£7.69
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews