Shop now Shop now Shop now  Up to 70% Off Fashion  Shop all Amazon Fashion Cloud Drive Photos Shop now Learn More Shop now Shop now Shop Fire Shop Kindle Shop now Shop now Shop now

Customer Reviews

4.2 out of 5 stars
53
4.2 out of 5 stars
Format: Paperback|Change
Price:£8.99+ Free shipping with Amazon Prime
Your rating(Clear)Rate this item


There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

on 21 August 2014
This book by far is my favorite Pakistani book. Humour, dark wit, tragedy wonderfully combined against the political & social backdrop of modern day Pakistan. Mohsin Hamed has outdone himself on this book.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 24 September 2013
This was a good read throughout, with a little care needed to follow the story told from different points of view. The drug culture described may be unfamiliar to many readers, but seems authentic. A glossary of foreign words would help - as understanding of a range of everyday urdu/punjabi terms is assumed. There are many thought provoking issues raised, including the ironic conclusion, which will make this a good choice for many book clubs!
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 14 August 2014
Revealing, insightful and thought provoking. Paints a vivid picture of a society and its hierarchies and complexities. Challenges western preconceptions about modern middle class Pakistan. An important writer.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 29 August 2014
If you've read any of his other books, this is unmistakably Hamid. The protagonist appears to have a self-destruct button that, ultimately, nobody can prevent him from pushing. A tale about relationships and loyalties, politics and corruption that doesn't disappoint.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 21 June 2014
A study in the resenting a man through a set of circumstances that leads him to an inevitable end. Told through several voices, this is an engaging and well-paced novel that lead me to seek out more of the author's work. Recommended.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 2 August 2013
Not as strong as the Reluctant Fundamentalist, Hamid's second book, but still a very interesting read that you should check out. I liked that it used a variety of narrative devices and that the characters were powerful and relatable.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 27 September 2001
Well written , very dark book with little hope little to look forward too. Probably closer to the truth of Pakistans self pitying and hypocritical upper middle classes then the average person would reaslise.I did find it's style of narrative with the flash backs a bit tedious though
0Comment| 4 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 25 December 2010
This is a dark tale about a middle class youth from Pakistan, who falls into a love triangle, and ends up on a twisted journey. If you like sad love stories, or dark tales, then this is a great one. Its the first one Mohsin Hamid, a great writer, and still my favourite, followed by The Vasted Vigil which was more mature reading.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 28 May 2010
Loved this book... was a bit slow at the beginning.. but once i got off the tube (where i normally get a few moments to open a book) i couldn't wait to re-open it...
Each character was defined brilliantly...
Very well done Mohsin! Looking forward to more geat reads...!
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 3 January 2010
I bought this havng read one of Hamid's other books and it did not disappoint. Interesting storyline and makes Pakistan look like a fascinating country to visit. Somewhat tragic story, well written and a book I raced through!
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse

Send us feedback

How can we make Amazon Customer Reviews better for you?
Let us know here.