Customer Reviews


23 Reviews
5 star:
 (19)
4 star:
 (2)
3 star:
 (1)
2 star:
 (1)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


27 of 27 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Impressive retelling of a rich and exciting tradition
I had always meant to read the Norse myths but had never got around to it until recently. I'm so glad that I chose Kevin Crossley-Holland's retelling of these fascinating myths. He has skilfully drawn on multiple sources from pre-Christian and Christian Iceland and other Nordic countries; however most of all he draws from Snorri Sturluson's 'Prose Edda' (written in approx...
Published on 18 Oct 2012 by Allie B

versus
5 of 8 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars good for a more academic approach than mine
Was looking more for a Nordic story book. This is for the more academically minded - very well researched and produced.
Published 23 months ago by poshdog


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

27 of 27 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Impressive retelling of a rich and exciting tradition, 18 Oct 2012
This review is from: The Penguin Book of Norse Myths: Gods of the Vikings (Paperback)
I had always meant to read the Norse myths but had never got around to it until recently. I'm so glad that I chose Kevin Crossley-Holland's retelling of these fascinating myths. He has skilfully drawn on multiple sources from pre-Christian and Christian Iceland and other Nordic countries; however most of all he draws from Snorri Sturluson's 'Prose Edda' (written in approx 1220). If you're not familiar with the myths, I would advise reading the 'introduction' beforehand; it contains a map of the nine worlds that the Norsemen believed in. At least then you can understand the various references to each realm in the myths. The myths themselves are far more thrilling and entertaining than I thought they would be - many of them portray the ongoing tensions and fights between the Gods and the giants. I kept thinking how much the works of 20th and 21st C fantasy writers - from Tolkien to C. S. Lewis to Neil Gaiman - are influenced by them.

The Gods and Goddesses are intriguing characters and some are multi-faceted in that they are worshipped for more than one reason - e.g. Freya is not just Goddess of love but also of war (she rides to battle in a chariot drawn by two cats!). Loki (the trickster) has to be one of my favourites. It was interesting to read more about the traditions and beliefs of pre-Christian Scandinavia like the boat burials too. I'm going to miss reading about the Gods' various exploits and I can actually see why the old Norse worshipped them - far more exciting than the monotheistic religions. They also seem more relevant to our own British culture than Greek myths, due both to the fact that we were invaded by Vikings and in the wider sense of reflecting a similar northern European outlook. Yet unlike the Greek myths, Norse myths are strangely and sadly overlooked here; they should be on the national curriculum. All in all, I wholeheartedly recommend this version of the beautiful Norse myths; it has instantly become one of my favourite books.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


9 of 9 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Exactly what I was after, 10 Mar 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Penguin Book of Norse Myths: Gods of the Vikings (Paperback)
This book is a perfect beginners guide to Norse mythology. It has Crossley-Holland's retelling of the myths and notes about each one.
Would reccomend to anyone who is interested in Norse myths and wants to find out more.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Norse Myth Madness has hit our home!, 25 Aug 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Penguin Book of Norse Myths: Gods of the Vikings (Paperback)
This is a brilliant book ! I enjoyed the introduction and the way it set the scene explaining the back ground and specific points of interest relating to these age old myths. Really an excellent book and especially so for those with a Northern European background. I am thoroughly enjoying each story. An excellent buy!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Great book, 18 July 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Penguin Book of Norse Myths: Gods of the Vikings (Paperback)
Full of great information, but also easy to read and understand, my knowledge of this subject enhanced by this wonderful.book.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Good Book., 11 April 2014
By 
Fredrick A. Stockdale "fred" (midlands england) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Penguin Book of Norse Myths: Gods of the Vikings (Paperback)
Covers the Norse Myths in a clear and readable fashion. Unlike some other books however there is not too much analysis and history behind the Myths, but this is irrelevant if you just want to read/know the Myths.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Spectacular, 22 Jun 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Penguin Book of Norse Myths: Gods of the Vikings (Paperback)
As always Kevin Crossley-Holland tells a good story without loosing the essence of the original myth. Other retellings sometimes loose the drama but this version never does.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


10 of 13 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Great book, 20 April 2012
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Penguin Book of Norse Myths: Gods of the Vikings (Paperback)
This book is entertaining, easy to read and informative. I would definitely recommend it to anyone, like me who want's an introduction on Norse mythology.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Tales behind Tolkien, 17 Dec 2013
By 
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Penguin Book of Norse Myths: Gods of the Vikings (Paperback)
No, I know that's not really accurate, but Tolkien loved the Norse tales. This is just the book for those of us who can't cope with the original in ON or even in translation! Only criticism is in the notes C-H refers to the Babylonian creation myth as 'Indo-European' and also says the Indo-Europeans, or at least their myths, spread to China and Japan??
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Good introduction, 12 Jun 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Penguin Book of Norse Myths: Gods of the Vikings (Paperback)
The book gives a good introduction into the world of the old gods. The authors comment on each of the myths also helps understanding and mentions contradictions from other texts and what has been excluded. A good read.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Compact and entertaining book, 14 Nov 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Penguin Book of Norse Myths: Gods of the Vikings (Paperback)
Awesome book. As a dane I grew up with many of the norse myths. This book delivers them all in a modern and understadable language. I was very impressed when i disovered that all of the myths have their own section discussing its origin and reliability of its source.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

The Penguin Book of Norse Myths: Gods of the Vikings
The Penguin Book of Norse Myths: Gods of the Vikings by Kevin Crossley-Holland (Paperback - 7 April 2011)
£9.09
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews