Customer Reviews


55 Reviews
5 star:
 (21)
4 star:
 (22)
3 star:
 (6)
2 star:
 (4)
1 star:
 (2)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


4 of 4 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Muddled, but imaginative, prescient and breathtaking in scope
First and foremost, 'The Diamond Age' is a fantastic novel and a yardstick of Post-Cyberpunk fiction. The writing is superb, the characters are compelling, and the universe that Stephenson describes is a fascinating extrapolation of our own. It starts off promisingly with the cheeky demise of an archetypal Cyberpunk protagonist, setting the scene for the emotional and...
Published on 20 Feb. 2008 by Richard

versus
8 of 8 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Book great - e-transcription poor
This is one of the best of Neal Stephenson's books - long enough to be interesting but not excessively so as later books become.

BUT the e-book seems to have been scanned and OCR'd rather than taken from the original copy. The subsequent proof-reading is very sketchy and possibly done by someone less literate than NS (or his fans) who does not know all the...
Published on 10 Mar. 2011 by W. J. Stewart


‹ Previous | 1 26 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

8 of 8 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Book great - e-transcription poor, 10 Mar. 2011
By 
W. J. Stewart "WillSt" (Northamptonshire, UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This is one of the best of Neal Stephenson's books - long enough to be interesting but not excessively so as later books become.

BUT the e-book seems to have been scanned and OCR'd rather than taken from the original copy. The subsequent proof-reading is very sketchy and possibly done by someone less literate than NS (or his fans) who does not know all the words. At all events there is a wholly unacceptable number of silly mis-readings that are sometimes hard to guess (so one has to consult the paper copy!).

The publishers should be ashamed of themselves!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 4 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Muddled, but imaginative, prescient and breathtaking in scope, 20 Feb. 2008
First and foremost, 'The Diamond Age' is a fantastic novel and a yardstick of Post-Cyberpunk fiction. The writing is superb, the characters are compelling, and the universe that Stephenson describes is a fascinating extrapolation of our own. It starts off promisingly with the cheeky demise of an archetypal Cyberpunk protagonist, setting the scene for the emotional and intellectual development of his child Nell via an interactive, nanotechnological book - the 'Primer'. The Primer acts as an electronic tutor, storyteller and protector that guides and oversees Nell's education and entry into adolescence.

The scope of the text is astounding, painting a portrait of a world where the ubiquity of nanotechnology has irreversibly altered human society from entertainment to warfare to economic worth. Stephenson's future is a world where nation states have collapsed to be replaced by 'phyles', socio-economic groups that partition cities into the differing communities and which cooperate under a global economic law. Foremost among these are the Neo-Victorians, an atavistic and economically advantaged phyle with a rigid social structure by whom the Primer is developed. After the engineer who covertly created it loses a copy, warfare begins to brew while little Nell is caught in the middle with her illicit Primer.

If the novel suffers from anything it is an overabundance of ideas that leaves the overall image somewhat muddled and susceptible to Occam's razor. The different storylines, gripping as they are, never weave together in a satisfactory conclusion and some characters seem to vanish along the way. Of all the fascinating topics covered, from Confucian justice to the importance of human interaction in childrearing, Stephenson gets rather too sidetracked with a phyle called the 'Drummers', an addition that will leave many readers alternating between scratching their heads and shaking them.

Despite its flaws and disappointingly rushed finale 'The Diamond Age' is a well-paced and highly intelligent read. There is more imagination contained in a chapter than most authors can muster in a whole book. The writing is sophisticated but never florid, the dialogue flawlessly alternating between being thought-provoking and hilarious. Stephenson must be commended for a novel of ambitious scope and astounding creativity, though it may have worked better as a series than as a single volume.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


23 of 25 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Particularly interesting SF, with some flaws, 17 Jun. 2001
By 
Richard (Neuilly, France) - See all my reviews
I'm not a Sci-Fi fan but, after reading Drexler's fascinating Engines of Creation: the coming era of nanotechnology, I was curious to see what future Stephenson had imagined with this revolutionary technology. The author envisions an impressive number of interesting applications, some fairly predictable (e.g. matter compilers fed by water and air purifying stations, "smart" multimedia paper), some a lot less so (e.g. skull guns, lighter-than-air shields, nanotech-enhanced actors). But it becomes clearer and clearer that what the author is most interested in is computer science in general, and artificial intelligence in particular. Given the fact that Stephenson has also written In the beginning... was the command line, this shouldn't be such a surprise, and, far from being regrettable, it is in fact what gives the book its true dimension.
As the subtitle (A Young Lady's Illustrated Primer) suggests, this book is about a very special kind of book, for the Primer is so "intelligent" that it can adapt its fully interactive on-going didactic narrative to the needs and wishes of its owner, gradually developing his or her own ability to adapt and solve problems to the maximum. I found this to be a brilliant theme, because it depicts future technology as a means of improving the minds of people, eventually allowing them to reach their greatest potential. Stephenson appears a little narrow-minded, however, when it turns out that the Primer's tutorial only culminates with lessons on computer science and nanotechology. Although this is instrumental in bringing about the novel's partial dénouement (enough is left open-ended for a possible sequel), I would have liked to see the Primer's narrative branching out into more diversified subjects (possible examples: explaining why we breathe, or why there are seasons).
Nevertheless, the author's imagination can be quite astonishing when applied to his favorite themes, and I would argue that the bizarre society of the Drummers - which first seems incongruous and irrelevant, but gradually comes to the foreground as the plot unfolds - is Stephenson's most impressive invention/extrapolation in The Diamond Age. Just to give you some idea of what the Drummers are about without giving it all away, this secluded society uses nanotechnology to turn its members into ever-satisfied physical components of a huge computing network. You'll have to read the book in order to decide for yourself whether this is a desirable form of existence...
I said in the "title" of my review that the novel has flaws, and it does, as a number of things struck me as odd and unsuccessful in the book. Fortunately, these weak points remain minor, and The Diamond Age is still a great read for anyone interested in its themes.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


14 of 15 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Brilliant, 12 Mar. 2005
Various comments for this run as 'good but not Snow Crash' 'great but flawed' 'good but not Cryptonomicon'. This book is simply superb. I thoroughly enjoyed all of his other books, but for me this is the pinnacle. A world struggling to get to grips with the differences that seperate us, uses a tribal approach to create regions for people to live their chosen lives. This politcal world is imbued with Stephenson's usual array of amazing technology, and extraordinary concepts. The most powerful of these is a book with the ability to adapts its lessons instantaneously to its reader's needs, and a little girl with power to reshape everything. I loved the (for me very real) possiblities D/A opens up, and I want one of those books!!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars A Gem of a Book, 31 Dec. 2004
From the other reviews on this site, much has obviously been made of the fact that this book contains 'racist' themes. I've now read this book three times, and have never got the impression that the author's intent was to cause any offence to any country, race or culture.
In fact, Stephenson pokes as much fun at the 'Neo-Victorians', and their overly pompous pastiche of 19th century British life, as he does at the other 'philes' featured in the book. What he creates is a rich cast of futuristic characters which, to my mind at least, represent caricatures, rather than indictments, of various regional personalities and their inherent traditions. In doing so he fashions something far more feasible among the fantasy genre than many other, more extreme utopian/dystopian, visions.
The range of ideas explored is fantastic, ranging from the moral to the philosophical to the scientific. Although the ending is indeed disappointing and somewhat unbelievable - even for a science fiction book - in the context of the rest of the story, the main body of the tale should keep you more than a little hooked.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Wide eccentricity doesn't make it wholly interesting, 11 Oct. 2011
By 
2theD "2theD" (The Big Mango, Thailand) - See all my reviews
I was largely unimpressed with Diamond Age as it didn't contain passages which struck my imagination, something which I found so abundant in Snow Crash and Anathem, being the only other Stephenson books I've read.

I found the Victorian elements of language and technology to be... quaint and mildly entertaining like a merry-go-round but not very engaging. The Victorian identity in the new world order actually does have a clearly defined place in the social echelons but the whole idea seems rather ridiculous, let's be honest. Victorian quirks belong in steampunk novels, but mashed up with nanotechnology and supercomputers.

Going to and from the tripod-like plot of nanotechnology conspiracy, Victorian lushness and long-winded fairy tales is like a long car ride with co-workers. You like each one individually for short periods of time, but you begin to want to strangle each one after hours of driving- likewise, each plot is nice and familiar but really gets under my skin after hundreds of pages of reading.

With that said, the nanotechnology bits of the plot I found deeply interesting. The Matter Compilers are a thing of wonder and provide much width for the ever broadening plot. When the sporadic glimpses of cross-plot nuances are observed, it's an occasion to become excited about, like when the fairy tales of the Primer begin to reflect the reality Nell finds herself in. I began to question whether the book itself is altering Nell's reality or is simply reflecting it.

Without a doubt, nanotechnology is an important aspect of Diamond Age and it seems to creep up in many science fiction novels today. Stephenson took it to a new depth in 1995 with this book. Later in 1997 Greg Bear had a great nanotech book called Slant. If you like the nanotech in Diamond, take a look at Slant for a more sinister, violent look at the possibilities of the technology. Fairy tales and Victories era eccentricities are best left to novels published during that time period and in Grimm's Tales. Being wildly eccentric doesn't make an interesting novel (the same can be said for Lafferty's Arrive at Easterwine and Pellegrino's Flying to Valhalla.) Only Stephenson makes a decent effort at this oddity of a novel, which I have to say I'll never pick up again.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Superb vision of future of society & technology, marred plot, 30 July 1999
By A Customer
Like snowcrash, Diamond Age is a superb extension of social and technological changes which are already happening. The big theme is nanotechnology, centred on the wonderful device of the "Young Lady's Illustrated Companion". The setting is a similar bleak utterly commercial pacific rim future as in Snowcrash. The plot combines a lovely observation of young people growing up to make sense of the world, and how the best educational ideas, when transformed to be mass produced, can lead to mass produced consciousness. It's also got a nice angle on drummers and various sorts of collective knowledge.
The overarching political view is bleak, possibly cynical, about human nature. The way of the world is simply a backdrop for the action - which seems an amoral stance - given its our world that he's describing being transformed into this survival of the fittest (or "fittest" tribe). Having said that nothing of this is implausable. There is also the casual 'cyberpunk' violence which sits strangely beside the portrayal of the inquisitive minds of young people and the delightful fantasy worlds they create.
The plot begins focussed on individuals, and ends with full blown war between opposing cultures. The final stages feel a bit out of hand - but wouldn't look out of place in sci-fi in far off worlds - it just feels more real when we're based in Shanghai.
Well worth reading - plenty of brilliance, some excellent novel ideas, but frustrating in its plotting and its largely amoral treatment of the future world. The best ideas linger long after the book's been read.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


10 of 11 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Good stuff, 28 July 2005
By 
sam (UK) - See all my reviews
(VINE VOICE)   
An excellent plot-driven, action-packed story. He creates a wonderful world where nanotech has all but destroyed the value of 'things' and increased the value of high-quality knowledge and split the world into a utopia-dystopia. All good SF stuff and references aplenty for those who like to play those games. One of the nice things is that he doesn't bother to over-explain or moralise or erect a big sign saying "dangers of nanotechnology".
What it isn't is a hard-sf book on nanotechnology nor is it a book with a point; if you want the characters problems to be resolved and everything to be tied up neatly at the end then brace yourself, this book sets up more questions than it answers and rather abandons the reader before things have reached a truly satisfying conclusion. Only a writer with the creative depth of Neal Stephenson could afford to throw ideas of this quality away.
Excellent, but falls a little short of genuine read-it-fifty-times perfection.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars In my top 5 Sci-Fi books, easily as good as Snow Crash, 14 Jan. 1999
By A Customer
Stephenson takes the fascinating concept of software teaching children, and exploits it into a glittering fireworks display of the possibilities, loyalties and implications. Those familiar with the seminal "Snow Crash" will not be disappointed by this offering, which in my view is just as good if not better. Those yet to become acquainted with Mr Stephenson will find this an excellent read, even for the non-Sci-Fi familiar.
Highly recommended
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Good and confusing, 29 Aug. 2009
Neal Stephenson is one of the only modern writers I really like. I have enjoyed all of his books and am simply astounded at how much scope he has. At the same time, some of his books are so confusing (read: this one) that I hardly know what's actually going on half the time. He uses plenty of words I've never heard of, and plenty more I've heard but know nothing about. From the first page of the book, you're thrown into a world that is so technologically advanced that you would need to take a six-week "technology: present and future" course just to know what he's talking about. As confusing as it is however, it's also exciting, and it tends to be more enjoyable when you stop trying to figure out what each thing/concept is, and just concentrate on the story, which is very good. I don't understand how he can think up such vast, abstract and revolutionary stories, but he does, and he never fails to impress me. He is intelligent and very unpredictable, which I like, but the ending of this book in particular could have been a bit more thorough. The ending was actually rather disappointing, and I liked Snow Crash and Cryptonomicon much better, but I still thoroughly enjoyed this book, and would recommend it to anyone into technology, science fiction, or just anyone who thinks all the good writers are dead and gone.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 26 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

The Diamond Age
The Diamond Age by Neal Stephenson (Paperback - 2 Jun. 2011)
£8.99
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews