Customer Reviews


35 Reviews
5 star:
 (15)
4 star:
 (6)
3 star:
 (11)
2 star:
 (2)
1 star:
 (1)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


6 of 6 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars More Proof reading Geoffrey!
I enjoyed this book very much - it was laid out well in quite a good page-turning way .... but oh dear the proof-reading was shocking! The book - particularly the first two thirds - was full of spelling mistakes and missing words and grammatical errors. Countered by an amazingly vast use of the simple comma which also tended to correct itself in the latter part of the...
Published on 26 Oct 2011 by anastasia

versus
9 of 9 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Well researched, poorly written
The quality of writing of this book sorely lets it down. There was so much repetition that in places I could predict the coming sentence. It contains numerous typographical errors, repeated or omitted words and gargantuan sentences in desperate need of breaking. I feel that if the repetition were removed, the book would be half the thickness!

On the plus-side,...
Published on 6 Dec 2011 by Carwash


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 4 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

9 of 9 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Well researched, poorly written, 6 Dec 2011
By 
This review is from: The Bus Stop Killer: Milly Dowler, Her Murder and the Full Story of the Sadistic Serial Killer Levi Bellfield (Paperback)
The quality of writing of this book sorely lets it down. There was so much repetition that in places I could predict the coming sentence. It contains numerous typographical errors, repeated or omitted words and gargantuan sentences in desperate need of breaking. I feel that if the repetition were removed, the book would be half the thickness!

On the plus-side, it seemed factually rich and very detailed. It comes across as well researched, if not well written. If you want to know the facts in the story of Levi Bellfield's criminal career, read this. If you are looking for a good read, this isn't it.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


6 of 6 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars More Proof reading Geoffrey!, 26 Oct 2011
This review is from: The Bus Stop Killer: Milly Dowler, Her Murder and the Full Story of the Sadistic Serial Killer Levi Bellfield (Paperback)
I enjoyed this book very much - it was laid out well in quite a good page-turning way .... but oh dear the proof-reading was shocking! The book - particularly the first two thirds - was full of spelling mistakes and missing words and grammatical errors. Countered by an amazingly vast use of the simple comma which also tended to correct itself in the latter part of the book.

Authors please note - don't just trust a proof reader - be your own!!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Grammar, 5 Oct 2011
By 
D. Wood (UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: The Bus Stop Killer: Milly Dowler, Her Murder and the Full Story of the Sadistic Serial Killer Levi Bellfield (Paperback)
I havent yet finished this book, however the story and facts are very interesting and it is a very good read, there are so many grammar errors and words missing, if you are going to buy this book then you have to think of the next word in some sentences.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars A really interesting read, 15 Jun 2012
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
I have just finished this book and found it very interesting. I, like other reviewers found the constant grammatical errors very frustrating, and I constantly had to reread sentences to get a proper understanding of what the author was trying to say.
Another criticism is that the author uses no set timeline, this means the reader is taken back and forward in time, consequently the sequences of events become blurred.
All that said I would recommend this book as it gives a fascinating insight into one of the most depraved and violent men in recent times.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Frustrating, 28 May 2012
By 
Stracs "Stracs" (Leeds, UK) - See all my reviews
(VINE VOICE)   
This review is from: The Bus Stop Killer: Milly Dowler, Her Murder and the Full Story of the Sadistic Serial Killer Levi Bellfield (Paperback)
I found this book very frustrating, as a regular reader of true crime. I could see that Geoffrey Wansell has clearly done a lot of research, but to me this has been let down by the rushing out of the book after the Milly Dowler trial. It seems to me that this left very little time for proof-reading and further research that would have made the account more credible. As others have pointed out, there are numerous grammatical and spelling errors which are really unforgivable in publishing in this age of electronic media. There are also some minor factual errors e.g. the author calls the 10 Rillington Place killer James Christie - his name was John Reginald Halliday Christie. Such errors could have been easily correctefd by a quick web search for information on this case, so it tends to undermine some of the other research for the book.

That said, this is still an interesting account of one of the most depraved killers in recent history and unfortunately at present there doesn't seem to be a better one out there. The account is quite repetitive, but does give a good outline of the cases concerned and Bellfield's history. For my liking it was not in depth enough - I have seen the evidence against Bellfield presented more convincingly elsewhere than here, and I would have liked more of an examination of the pyschology of Bellfield as a killer than is given here. Is motivation is touched on but not really backed up with an in depth analysis.

All in all, if you are looking for an outline of the case and Bellfield's history then this does the job passably, but if you are looking for an in depth examination of the evidence against Bellfield or his criminal psychology then you will need to look elsewhere. I am firmly convinced of Bellfield's guilt, despite the lack of forensic/DNA evidence, as the list of circumstantial evidence against him is too strong to be considered coincidence and when taken as a whole is compelling proof of his guilt, but saying that I do not feel this account convinced me any further than I aready was when I commenced reading, so to me it does not stand up to the test of a really strong true crime account.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


10 of 12 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars An interesting take on a fairly unknown Murderer, 4 Aug 2011
By 
Gareth Wilson - Falcata Times Blog "Falcata T... - See all my reviews
(VINE VOICE)    (TOP 500 REVIEWER)   
This review is from: The Bus Stop Killer: Milly Dowler, Her Murder and the Full Story of the Sadistic Serial Killer Levi Bellfield (Paperback)
I tend to read quite a few books on Serial Killers and usually they take the case in one of three ways, either they're pro subject, anti-subject or take the middle road presenting the facts of the case to allow the reader to make up their own mind. It's this last option that Geoffrey Wansell takes with this, his new title based on the crimes committed by Levi Bellfield, the man convicted of the murders of a few young women including Milly Dowler.

Whilst this book does contain all the fact pertaining to the case it felt that it had a beginning and middle without reaching a conclusion towards the end due to the fact that Levi Bellfield has never admitted his guilt to any of his crimes.

All in, this book was well written although in part repetitive but this I felt was mainly due to the author having to try to make the extra length due to the subject's non-admittance of these crimes. As such this felt a little flat and that perhaps that the author could have spent his time more productively on a criminal that has admitted their guilt in order to give the reader a more rounded picture. Don't get me wrong it is interesting, it does have a lot of plus points but when the evidence is laid out it does make you wonder exactly how the conviction was obtained purely as a lot of it seemed circumstantial.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars torn, 15 Oct 2012
By 
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
I am torn in giving my review - on the plus side, this book is meticulously researched and does provide a 3D insight into Bellfield, on the other hand it is overly long and quite repetitive. If you like this genre you will probably enjoy it, although saying that I did get a little bored in the middle of the book, which as previously mentioned was probably because a few chapters could have been cut / edited to tighten the story up.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars interesting read, 9 Oct 2012
Very good read. Lots of info. Never slowed down or got boring. Was disappointed when in ended. Although i wish the book didn't ever have to be written, very sad circumstances.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars interesting read, 18 Jun 2012
Having read so many books like this one, yet people still manage to shock me and this one was no different. Levi Bellfield his pure evil make no mistake.

In regards to the writer I feel he should have took much more care with the spellings and grammar has there was so many mistakes.

It was a good read and I read plenty of details that I had not read in press, lets just be pleased that he his now behind bars, woman and children are safe.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars The Bus Stop Killer, 6 Feb 2012
This review is from: The Bus Stop Killer: Milly Dowler, Her Murder and the Full Story of the Sadistic Serial Killer Levi Bellfield (Paperback)
This book is a must for true crime readers. It has been written in a logical way and has been researched well. It is easy to follow even though the crimes were not discovered or investigated in sequence. Well recommended
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 4 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Only search this product's reviews